Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

V:TES Complete Rules Reference 4.0

13 views
Skip to first unread message

LSJ

unread,
Jun 25, 2007, 9:26:01 AM6/25/07
to
The Rules Outline (aka Complete Rules Reference) is being revived after an
8-year hiatus.

Take a look at the new version at

http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/?line=outline

(which can also reached through VTES -> Rulebook -> Outline).

tobiasopdenbr...@notsocoldmail.com

unread,
Jun 25, 2007, 9:28:46 AM6/25/07
to

Something's wrong with the text layout - the first bit of each line
seems chopped.

Using IE7 at 1280x1024.

Will have a look later.

Thanks
Tobias

tobiasopdenbr...@notsocoldmail.com

unread,
Jun 25, 2007, 1:10:45 PM6/25/07
to
On 25 jun, 15:28, "tobiasopdenbr...@notsocoldmail.com"

Interestingly, it looks fine at home (IE 7 on a broadscreen laptop).

Tobias

paladin_brand

unread,
Jun 25, 2007, 1:11:57 PM6/25/07
to

Rules in outline form are a thing of beauty. I <heart> the Rules
Outline.

/applause

-Jason

LSJ

unread,
Jun 25, 2007, 1:42:29 PM6/25/07
to

I adjusted one of the margin settings, based on your initial feedback.

Tetragrammaton

unread,
Jun 25, 2007, 11:59:54 PM6/25/07
to

Good job - i'm browsing with firefox and everything seems OK :-)

thanks

Emiliano


Slytherin

unread,
Jun 26, 2007, 3:31:56 AM6/26/07
to


This is great. Any chance it could be provided in a pdf format for
download?

Andy
VEKN Setite Ruler of Cambridge

James Coupe

unread,
Jun 26, 2007, 4:44:25 AM6/26/07
to
In message <1182843116.8...@p77g2000hsh.googlegroups.com>,

Slytherin <an...@operamail.com> writes:
>This is great. Any chance it could be provided in a pdf format for
>download?

Just hit "File" -> "Save" from your web browser? Works in IE, Opera,
Safari, and Firefox.

--
James Coupe
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D YOU ARE IN ERROR.
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 NO-ONE IS SCREAMING.
13D7E668C3695D623D5D THANK YOU FOR YOUR COOPERATION.

Hardy Range

unread,
Jun 26, 2007, 6:32:12 AM6/26/07
to

Very nice work, indeed.

I noted some minor issues with spelling, which I refrain from
nitpicking upon in detail here, and this:

- In V. B. 2. b., the kholo title is omitted.

- Should there be a mention of the Golden Rule for cards? That is, if
a card text overrides something in the rules, and, therefore, the
Rules Reference, the card takes precedence? I noted this while reading
the last in the introduction to VI., because there _are_ combat cards
which may be played by minions not involved in the combat.

Regards,

Hardy Range

LSJ

unread,
Jun 26, 2007, 7:43:04 AM6/26/07
to

http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/HTML/outline.html

Print -> PDF Printer

(Works similarly for other similar pages, but note the HTML/ pages' links and
images will be broken.)

LSJ

unread,
Jun 26, 2007, 7:45:34 AM6/26/07
to
Hardy Range wrote:
> On Jun 25, 3:26 pm, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
>> The Rules Outline (aka Complete Rules Reference) is being revived after an
>> 8-year hiatus.
>>
>> Take a look at the new version at
>>
>> http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/?line=outline
>>
>> (which can also reached through VTES -> Rulebook -> Outline).
>
> Very nice work, indeed.
>
> I noted some minor issues with spelling, which I refrain from
> nitpicking upon in detail here, and this:
>
> - In V. B. 2. b., the kholo title is omitted.

Fixed.

> - Should there be a mention of the Golden Rule for cards?

I don't think it's needed.

Jeroen

unread,
Jun 26, 2007, 7:48:01 AM6/26/07
to

That's not an option everyone has, IIRC.

Alf

unread,
Jun 26, 2007, 7:55:59 AM6/26/07
to

oh, there are enough free tools to get this stuff done
if one cares enough.

just "froogle" for stuff like "FreePdfXP" or "ghostscript" or
"pdfcreator"

Alf
- they work, and they are free

LSJ

unread,
Jun 26, 2007, 8:01:54 AM6/26/07
to

Uh. Right.

So Just Use the link given, then (And save the HTML).

dvorax

unread,
Jun 27, 2007, 5:45:34 AM6/27/07
to
On Jun 25, 3:26 pm, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:

Hi, I have some questions:

a) II - PLAYING CARDS AND OTHER EFFECTS - C Pay cost and resolve
effect (unless canceled in step B).
I suppose, the unless canceled clause is valid for both paying and
resolving. If so, doesn't it contradict with "paying the cost is
default"? (
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/browse_thread/thread/b26bcf72df5fa151/a426e3a82881654f?lnk=gst&q=cancel+cost+author%3ALSJ&rnum=7#a426e3a82881654f
)

b) IV - HOW TO PERFORM ACTIONS - D Complete action. - 1 If the action
is one that cannot be repeated (bleed, political action, action card,
or card in play), the acting minion now becomes unable to perform this
action again this turn. [6.1.1][6.1.6][6.1.7]
According to this (in combination with IV.C.3), it is valid to bleed
with minion A -> block attempt -> tangle atropos' hand [pot] -> bleed
again with A, but bleed with A ->block -> FoM (sup) -> another block
attempt -> tangle atropos' hand [pot] -> bleed again with A is not.
Or another situation: bleed with A -> Mask to B -> block -> FoM ->
successful bleed (B cannot bleed again this turn, A can) vs. bleed
with A -> block -> FoM -> Mask to B -> successful bleed (both A and B
can't bleed this turn)
Should these situations have these different results, or am I just
misunderstanding the way "continue the action as if unblocked"
interacts with the whole sequence?
BTW: is a FoM continued action "blocked, but continuing as IF
unblocked" or is just "unblocked (but was blocked some time ago)"?

c) IV.D.3 If action was blocked, the action is unsuccessful and
blocked. [6.2.3]
Are the steps (a - pay cost, b - tap blocking minion, c- combat)
performed sequentially? If so, does playing Obedience with the
blocking minion (somewhere in step c) retroactivelly cancel the "b -
tap blocking minion" step?

Thanks,
dvorax.

LSJ

unread,
Jun 27, 2007, 9:01:10 AM6/27/07
to
dvorax wrote:
> On Jun 25, 3:26 pm, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
>> The Rules Outline (aka Complete Rules Reference) is being revived after an
>> 8-year hiatus.
>>
>> Take a look at the new version at
>>
>> http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/?line=outline
>>
>> (which can also reached through VTES -> Rulebook -> Outline).
>
> Hi, I have some questions:
>
> a) II - PLAYING CARDS AND OTHER EFFECTS - C Pay cost and resolve
> effect (unless canceled in step B).
> I suppose, the unless canceled clause is valid for both paying and
> resolving. If so, doesn't it contradict with "paying the cost is
> default"?

Yeah. I'll fix that.
The default is that cost is paid.

(
> http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/browse_thread/thread/b26bcf72df5fa151/a426e3a82881654f?lnk=gst&q=cancel+cost+author%3ALSJ&rnum=7#a426e3a82881654f
> )

When linking specific posts, use the "more options" -> "individual message" link:
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/a426e3a82881654f


> b) IV - HOW TO PERFORM ACTIONS - D Complete action. - 1 If the action
> is one that cannot be repeated (bleed, political action, action card,
> or card in play), the acting minion now becomes unable to perform this
> action again this turn. [6.1.1][6.1.6][6.1.7]
> According to this (in combination with IV.C.3), it is valid to bleed
> with minion A -> block attempt -> tangle atropos' hand [pot] -> bleed
> again with A, but bleed with A ->block -> FoM (sup) -> another block
> attempt -> tangle atropos' hand [pot] -> bleed again with A is not.

Correct.

> Or another situation: bleed with A -> Mask to B -> block -> FoM ->
> successful bleed (B cannot bleed again this turn, A can) vs. bleed
> with A -> block -> FoM -> Mask to B -> successful bleed (both A and B
> can't bleed this turn)

Correct.
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/b5e9fb73baf47cee
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/22b1441bff958fda

> Should these situations have these different results, or am I just
> misunderstanding the way "continue the action as if unblocked"
> interacts with the whole sequence?

They "should" have these different results, yes, since FoM doesn't erase the taint.

> BTW: is a FoM continued action "blocked, but continuing as IF
> unblocked" or is just "unblocked (but was blocked some time ago)"?

The block succeeded.
The action continues as if unblocked.

> c) IV.D.3 If action was blocked, the action is unsuccessful and
> blocked. [6.2.3]
> Are the steps (a - pay cost, b - tap blocking minion, c- combat)
> performed sequentially? If so, does playing Obedience with the
> blocking minion (somewhere in step c) retroactivelly cancel the "b -
> tap blocking minion" step?

Will fix. It is simultaneous.

Thanks.

v.ri...@gmail.com

unread,
Aug 20, 2007, 5:10:47 AM8/20/07
to
On 27 juin, 15:01, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
> > a) II - PLAYING CARDS AND OTHER EFFECTS - C Pay cost and resolve
> > effect (unless canceled in step B).
> > I suppose, the unless canceled clause is valid for both paying and
> > resolving. If so, doesn't it contradict with "paying the cost is
> > default"?
>
> Yeah. I'll fix that.
> The default is that cost is paid.

BTW, I ever wondered if the text in brackets on Direct Intervention
and the like was a remainder or not : "(No cost is paid)". Apparently
not since the default is that the cost should be paid , but the
brackets confuses me. Any reason to put those brackets?

LSJ

unread,
Aug 20, 2007, 8:22:44 AM8/20/07
to

Same as "(round up)" or "(round down)". Neither of those is the default.
The brackets are used because of the relation of the clause to the main clause
-- separating them with a period or semicolon would be somewhat "less" good.

0 new messages