Fake vibe-coded Tesseract OCR website

39 views
Skip to first unread message

Daniel Sun

unread,
Jun 4, 2026, 11:20:11 PM (6 days ago) Jun 4
to tesseract-ocr
The website tesseractocr.org shows up as the second result when I Google the query "Tesseract OCR". A quick whois lookup shows this domain was registered on April 11, 2026, by a registrant based out of Gujarat, India.

The website is carelessly vibe-coded. The first visible blurb ends with the sentence "Fully offline and secure, it is the foundation of global document analysis, text extraction, and tesseract ocr download." [bolding sic], which is clearly designed solely for the purpose of matching common search queries.

Although I didn't immediately see anything malicious on the site right now, this could easily change in the future. In any case, the community should be aware that this website is unofficial. Is there a way to get it deindexed from major search engines, or to get the domain itself terminated?

Jean-Marc Spaggiari

unread,
Jun 5, 2026, 3:41:00 AM (6 days ago) Jun 5
to tesser...@googlegroups.com
There is a disclaimer at the bottom:
"Disclaimer: TesseractOCR.org is an independent, community-driven documentation project and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to the official Tesseract OCR project or its maintainers."

Maybe just a Terreract fan?

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "tesseract-ocr" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to tesseract-oc...@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/tesseract-ocr/6a80c564-95af-411d-aa6f-cc763d8a712fn%40googlegroups.com.

Daniel Sun

unread,
Jun 7, 2026, 12:33:35 AM (4 days ago) Jun 7
to tesseract-ocr
FWIW, here's a similar website for Python-tesseract https://pytesseract.com/
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages