> Political Card -- Worth 1 Vote. Called by any vampire at +1 stealth.
>
> If this referendum is successful, put this card in play.
>
> Any Methuselah who has exhausted his or her library and begins his or
> her untap phase with less than a full hand must attempt to withdraw.
> On that Methuselah's next untap phase, if the withdrawal fails, that
> Methuselah is ousted. If any Methuselah successfully withdraws, you are
> ousted.
The question is, is the "if the withdrawl fails" clause an effect of the
card being in play, or a long-term component of the "must attempt to
withdraw" effect?
For example, suppose the play order is:
Anna -> Betty -> Carla -> Diana
On turn 11, Betty plays Briknksmanship.
On turn 12, Carla is forced to attempt to withdraw, but then she
invalidates her attempt (such as by entering combat.)
On turn 14, Anna ousts Betty, burning the Brinksmanship.
The next turn is Carla's, and during her untap phase it is apparent she
failed to withdraw. Would Carla be ousted at this point?
Brinksmanship is a minion card ... it is played by a particular minion
... and thus it is controlled by the playing Methuselah. If that
Methuselah (Betty in your example) is ousted, then that card and its
effects are removed from the game.
See section 9.1 in the rulebook.
A lingering effect of the "must attempt to withdraw" effect (setting up
a conditional effect that will occur "on that Methuselah's next untap
phase", if the condition is met).
The "must attempt to withdraw" clause is an effect of the card being in
play, of course.
The classic example of the card-in-play's "next phase" template is
Leandro.
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/8e36e4de3e365294
Similarly Flash Grenade, Mummy's Tongue, and Qufur (obviously).
And also Highway Haven, Chill of Oblivion (if the vampire Freaks and
then gets into combat and burns the Chill, the Chill still untaps him
in the discard phase), clan-based Crusades (will untap the vampire even
if contested), and Blessing of the Name, Command, and Concert Tour
(interesting only in very odd corner cases), maybe others.
> For example, suppose the play order is:
>
> Anna -> Betty -> Carla -> Diana
>
> On turn 11, Betty plays Briknksmanship.
>
> On turn 12, Carla is forced to attempt to withdraw, but then she
> invalidates her attempt (such as by entering combat.)
>
> On turn 14, Anna ousts Betty, burning the Brinksmanship.
>
> The next turn is Carla's, and during her untap phase it is apparent she
> failed to withdraw. Would Carla be ousted at this point?
Yes.