Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Several Q's for mister LSJ - Definition of "Rescue from Torpor" and "Alastor + Helicopter"

15 views
Skip to first unread message

Brum

unread,
Jul 10, 2008, 12:32:14 PM7/10/08
to
Q # 1:

I have 2 vamps in torpor (X and Y) and 1 in ready region.
I declare an action to rescue vamp X. Get blocked and my acting minion
uses Change of Target.
What is true to the rules?
A. - I can try to rescue vamp Y.
B. - I cannot try to rescue vamp Y.


Q # 2:

Inner Circle Arika calls Alastor on a buddy. Brings up Helicopter
paying 1 pool (sweet). Whar happens?

A. - (even sweeter) Helicopter text says "When a minion equips with
the Helicopter, tap it." AND Alastor text says "...search your library
for an equipment card and place this card and the equipment on the
chosen vampire.". Since the only minion playing card here is Arika,
the Helicopter does not tap.

B. - Inner Circle decks are already strong enough. Helicopter
taps. :)


I would realy like the reasons for your answers since these simple
examples can help out in many others.

Thanks in advance,
Tiago Brum

PS: sorry guys, no nicks here. That's really my name.
BTW all input on these Q's is helpfull.

LSJ

unread,
Jul 10, 2008, 1:12:51 PM7/10/08
to
Brum wrote:
> Q # 1:
>
> I have 2 vamps in torpor (X and Y) and 1 in ready region.
> I declare an action to rescue vamp X. Get blocked and my acting minion
> uses Change of Target.
> What is true to the rules?
> A. - I can try to rescue vamp Y.
> B. - I cannot try to rescue vamp Y.

A.

Rescuing Y is not the same action as rescuing X.

> Q # 2:
>
> Inner Circle Arika calls Alastor on a buddy. Brings up Helicopter
> paying 1 pool (sweet). Whar happens?
>
> A. - (even sweeter) Helicopter text says "When a minion equips with
> the Helicopter, tap it." AND Alastor text says "...search your library
> for an equipment card and place this card and the equipment on the
> chosen vampire.". Since the only minion playing card here is Arika,
> the Helicopter does not tap.
>
> B. - Inner Circle decks are already strong enough. Helicopter
> taps. :)

A. Alastor moves the card (rather than having the minion equip it).

Brum

unread,
Jul 10, 2008, 1:37:54 PM7/10/08
to

Thanks allot,

It might be off topic, but... :

Q # 3:

Can an ally that comes into play via the Summoning act in the same
minion fase?

A. That ally cannot act, but if the vampire has the chance, he can
recruit normally (from hand) another ally with the same name, not
falling under NRA.

B. That ally cannot act and no other copy of that ally may be brought
into play by that vampire, regardless if it is not with the Summoning

C. He can act and NRA does not apply on a copy played normally from
hand.

D. As B (above), but "summoned" ally can act.

This might end a dispute with my girlfriend about Summoned Shambling
Hordes.
For the record she thinks its door A. I think its C.

Tiago

witness1

unread,
Jul 10, 2008, 1:46:10 PM7/10/08
to

A is correct. Any ally that is recruited goes to the uncontrolled
region (where it is controlled but not ready) until your influence
phase by default. NRA applies to the action card you used (The
Summoning) not the result of the action (recruiting Shambling Hordes).

-witness1

Izaak

unread,
Jul 10, 2008, 4:31:01 PM7/10/08
to

"
It might be off topic, but... :

Q # 3:

Can an ally that comes into play via the Summoning act in the same
minion fase?

> A . That ally cannot act, but if the vampire has the chance, he can


>recruit normally (from hand) another ally with the same name, not
> falling under NRA.

Your girlfriend is right.

NRA refers to the card played. The Summoning is a different action card than
Shambling Hordes is.

Technically, when Allies enter play, they do so in your uncontrolled region
and are moved to the ready region during the influence phase. Compare it to
magic's "summoning sickness" if you want.


witness1

unread,
Jul 10, 2008, 5:06:34 PM7/10/08
to
On Jul 10, 4:31 pm, "Izaak" <m...@nospam.com> wrote:
> Technically, when Allies enter play, they do so in your uncontrolled region
> and are moved to the ready region during the influence phase. Compare it to
> magic's "summoning sickness" if you want.

Not quite:

Allies that are recruited are put into the uncontrolled region. (The
Summoning says to recruit the chosen ally, so this is what happens
with The Summoning.).

Cards that put allies into play without using the "recruit" text put
them directly into your ready region. (Khazar's Diary does this).

http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/4fb031650c0e833b

witness1

Brum

unread,
Jul 10, 2008, 6:36:15 PM7/10/08
to
> http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/4fb0...
>
> witness1

That is why one cannot use Breath of Thanatos whyle doing the action
to put a wraith into play via Khazar's Diary... unfortunately :)

Thanks guys
Tiago

0 new messages