Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Question about Gather

20 views
Skip to first unread message

ThE_OnLy_VipeR

unread,
Oct 24, 2004, 11:22:24 AM10/24/04
to
Hello

My question about gather is if i can tap gather to move multiple
vampires form my uncontrolled region to my ready region.

the card says: "put this card in play tapped and select a younger
gangrel in your uncotrolled region, during your influence pahse you
can tap this card to move that vampire to your ready region whatever
counter he or she has".

now my interpretation is the next: i play gather and move a vampire
from my uncontrolled region to my ready region, the card remains in
possetion of the vampire who played it, so that would mean that in my
next turn i can tap gather again and select another younger vampire in
my uncontrolled region.

so i can move as many younger vampires as i got in my uncontrolled
region to my ready region while the vampire who owns gather remains
ready and gather reamins in play.

is my interpretation right, or i minundesrtanded the card?

thanks :)

henrik isaksson

unread,
Oct 24, 2004, 11:39:18 AM10/24/04
to
"ThE_OnLy_VipeR" <fina...@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:576ea13a.04102...@posting.google.com...
> Hello

Hi.

> My question about gather is if i can tap gather to move multiple
> vampires form my uncontrolled region to my ready region.
>
> the card says: "put this card in play tapped and select a younger
> gangrel in your uncotrolled region, during your influence pahse you
> can tap this card to move that vampire to your ready region whatever
> counter he or she has".

You have to choose the vampire when you play the card. Nothing in card text
gives you oppurtunity to change vampire later.

> now my interpretation is the next: i play gather and move a vampire
> from my uncontrolled region to my ready region, the card remains in
> possetion of the vampire who played it, so that would mean that in my
> next turn i can tap gather again and select another younger vampire in
> my uncontrolled region.

Nope. However, you can use the same Gather to move the same vampire to the
ready region later, if it has for instance been banished.

> so i can move as many younger vampires as i got in my uncontrolled
> region to my ready region while the vampire who owns gather remains
> ready and gather reamins in play.
>
> is my interpretation right, or i minundesrtanded the card?

The latter.

> thanks :)

np

/henrik isaksson


LSJ

unread,
Oct 24, 2004, 2:34:27 PM10/24/04
to
henrik isaksson wrote:
> "ThE_OnLy_VipeR" <fina...@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>>My question about gather is if i can tap gather to move multiple
>>vampires form my uncontrolled region to my ready region.
>>
>>the card says: "put this card in play tapped and select a younger
>>gangrel in your uncotrolled region, during your influence pahse you
>>can tap this card to move that vampire to your ready region whatever
>>counter he or she has".
>
> You have to choose the vampire when you play the card. Nothing in card text
> gives you oppurtunity to change vampire later.

Correct.

>>now my interpretation is the next: i play gather and move a vampire
>>from my uncontrolled region to my ready region, the card remains in
>>possetion of the vampire who played it, so that would mean that in my

Trivia:
The card is never in the possession of the vampire who played it.
It is simply "put into play" not "put on the acting vampire".

>>next turn i can tap gather again and select another younger vampire in
>>my uncontrolled region.
>
> Nope. However, you can use the same Gather to move the same vampire to the
> ready region later, if it has for instance been banished.

Correct.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Peter D Bakija

unread,
Oct 24, 2004, 3:42:36 PM10/24/04
to
ThE_OnLy_VipeR wrote:

> My question about gather is if i can tap gather to move multiple
> vampires form my uncontrolled region to my ready region.

Only one.

>
> the card says: "put this card in play tapped and select a younger
> gangrel in your uncotrolled region, during your influence pahse you
> can tap this card to move that vampire to your ready region whatever
> counter he or she has".

When you put the card into play, you select the vampire. It doesn't allow
you to change the vampire you have selected. Also note that the card doesn't
leave play after the vampire in question is in play, so if you want to get
another vampire out with another Gather, you'll need to take an action to
remove the first one.

>
> now my interpretation is the next: i play gather and move a vampire
> from my uncontrolled region to my ready region, the card remains in
> possetion of the vampire who played it, so that would mean that in my
> next turn i can tap gather again and select another younger vampire in
> my uncontrolled region.

Incorrect.

>
> so i can move as many younger vampires as i got in my uncontrolled
> region to my ready region while the vampire who owns gather remains
> ready and gather reamins in play.

Nope. Gather chooses one vampire. When that vampire is in play, Gather is
mostly useless.

>
> is my interpretation right, or i minundesrtanded the card?

It looks like you have misunderstood the card. But that happens.


Peter D Bakija
pd...@lightlink.com
http://www.lightlink.com/pdb6

"Mr. President, ask not what your rest home can do for you.
Ask what you can do for your rest home."
-Elvis


Gregory Stuart Pettigrew

unread,
Nov 11, 2004, 7:00:24 PM11/11/04
to
> > > My question about gather is if i can tap gather to move multiple
> > > vampires form my uncontrolled region to my ready region.
> >
> > Only one.
> >
> > >
> > > the card says: "put this card in play tapped and select a younger
> > > gangrel in your uncotrolled region, during your influence pahse you
> > > can tap this card to move that vampire to your ready region whatever
> > > counter he or she has".
> >
>
> last question, let's say i have gathered Nadima, now nadima enters
> combat and is burned by means of amranth let's say, now i had another
> copy of nadima in my uncontrolled region, can i gather nadima again??
> i think that yes because gather has been asigned to nadima, i'm
> correct?
>

Nope. Gather targets *that particular card*, not the Vampire by name.

LSJ

unread,
Nov 11, 2004, 9:40:02 PM11/11/04
to
Gregory Stuart Pettigrew wrote:
>>last question, let's say i have gathered Nadima, now nadima enters
>>combat and is burned by means of amranth let's say, now i had another
>>copy of nadima in my uncontrolled region, can i gather nadima again??
>>i think that yes because gather has been asigned to nadima, i'm
>>correct?
>>
> Nope. Gather targets *that particular card*, not the Vampire by name.

Correct.

LSJ

unread,
Nov 12, 2004, 9:32:20 AM11/12/04
to
"ThE_OnLy_VipeR" <fina...@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:576ea13a.04111...@posting.google.com...
> Gregory Stuart Pettigrew <ethe...@sidehack.sat.gweep.net> wrote in
message

> > Nope. Gather targets *that particular card*, not the Vampire by name.
>
> what?? but the card says select a younger gangrel in your uncontrolled
> region, and after that says, move THAT gangrel to your ready region,
> so if i gather nadima again i would be moving THAT gangrel, not
> another one

No. THAT gangrel was burned. The copy of Nadima in your uncontrolled
region is not THAT vampire. It is a different one (with the same name).

See also Contracts, etc.
http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=94hh29%24ikt%241%40nnrp1.deja.com


--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.

V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu

0 new messages