TIME BOUNDARIES MOVED WESTWARD

Complying with Daylight Saving Act, Commission Announces Official Zone Limits.

EFFECTIVE WITH NEW YEAR

Eastern Time Extended to Michigan Boundary - Towns Marking the Three Dividing Lines.

WASHINGTON, Nov. 18 .- New and official boundaries for time zones in the United States, unifying existing lines and moving them slightly westward, were announced today by the Interstate Commerce Commission, to become fective at 2 A. M. Jan. 1 next. This order is pursuant to the Daylight Saving act, which, in addition to authorizing advance of the clock during the Summer, provided for permanent United States standard time and required the commission to define the limits of the standardtime zones, which previously had been fixed only by custom of cross-continent railroads or by local law.

The line fixed by the commission sep-

arating the Eastern and Central time beginning at the Great Lakes, follows the boundary of Michigan through Toledo, Fremont, Clyde, Bellevue, Monroeville, Willard, Shelby Junction, Mansfield, Galion, Marion, Golumbus, Lancaster, Dundas, and Gallipolis, Ohio; Huntington, Kenova, and Williamson, W. Va.; Dungannon, Va.; Bristol, Va.-Tenn.; Telford, Tenn.; Asheville and Franklin, N. C.; Atlanta, McDonough, Macon, Perry, Americus, Albany, and Thomasville, Ga.; the north boundary of Florida to River Junction, and the Apalachicola River to the Gulf of Mexico. Between Central and Mountain time the line begins at the Canadian boundary, Portal, N. D., running through Minot and Goodall, N. D., and following

the Missouri River to Pierre, S. D.; then through Murdo Mackenzie, S. D.; Long Pine, North Platte, McCook, and Repubcican Junction, Neb.; Phillipsburg, Plainville, Ellis, Dodge City, and Liberal, Kan.; Waynoka, Clinton, and Sayre, Okla.; Sweet Water, Big Springs, and San Angelo, Texas, and the 100th meridian to the Rio Grande River meridian to the Rio Grande River.

Between Mountain and Pacific time zones the line is fixed following the eastern boundary of the Blackfeet Indian Reservation in Montana and the Continental Divide to Helena, Butte and

Dillon, Mont.; Pocatello, Idaho, and the Oregon Short Line to Ogden and Salt Lake City, Utah; thence the Los Angeles & Salt Lake Railroad and the west and south boundaries of Utah to the 113th meridian, thence to Seligman and Parker, Ariz., and along the Colorado River to the Mexican boundary. All of Alaska is left within a single time zone, the commission holding that

it cannot deal with this matter, nor with the omission of the Hawaiian Islands from the terms of the Daylight Municipalities along the line separating the Eastern and Central zones are to be governed by central time, except Fremont, Clyde, Bellevue, Monroeville, Willard, Shelby Junction, Galion, Lancaster, Dundas and Gallipolis, Ohio; Dungannon, Va.; Bristol, Va.-Tenn.; Asheville and Franklin, N. C.; McDonough, Macon, Perry and Thomasville, Ga., which will take Eastern time.

Between the Central and Mountain time zones, cities on the line will take Mountain time. except Portal, Flaxton Saving act.

Mountain time, except Portal, Flaxton

and Minot, N. D.; Murdo Mackenzie, S. D.; Phillipsburg, Stockton, Plainville, Ellis and Liberal, Kan.; Way-noka, Ralph and Sayre, Okla.; Sweetwater, Big Spring and San Angelo, Texas. municipalities on the boundary

The New York Times

between Mountain and Pacific zones will use Mountain time.

> Published: November 19, 1918 Copyright © The New York Times