



Date: 21-11-2014

## **Press Release**

## <u>United in defiance – Political Parties boycott transparency</u>

Following Central Information Commission's (CIC) notice (F .No.CIC/SM/C/2011/001386) of 3<sup>rd</sup> November 2014, wherein notice was sent to 6 Political Parties viz. INC, BJP, BSP, NCP, CPI & CPM for the non-compliance of CIC's 3<sup>rd</sup> June 2013 decision (where these 6 parties were declared "public-authorities" and hence brought under RTI), the hearing was held today.

All 6 political parties were conspicuously absent from the hearing. This defiance was very much in-line as how 3 earlier CIC notices, that had already been sent to these parties in relation to the implementation of the 3<sup>rd</sup> June 2013 order, were treated by these parties. <u>(The details of these 3 notices in attachment no. 2)</u>

The co-petitioners in the case Mr. Subhash Aggarwal and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) requested the Commission for penalties to be imposed on these parties (under section 20 of the RTI Act). Both the petitioners also held in their respective prayers before the bench of CIC that they should be provided exemplary compensations (under section 19 of RTI Act). <u>(Please find the detailed submission attached with email)</u>

The CIC bench hearing the matter reserved its judgement.





## **Contact Details**

Media and Journalist Helpline

+91 80103 94248 Email: adr@adrindia.org Head National Election Watch and Association for Democratic

Mr Anil Verma

Reforms

+91 8826479910 anilverma@adrindia.org Prof Jagdeep Chhokar IIM Ahmedabad (Retd) Founder Member National Election Watch, Association for Democratic Reforms +919999620944 jchhokar@gmail.com Prof Trilochan Sastry IIM Bangalore Founder Member, National Election Watch, Association for Democratic Reforms +919448353285, trilochans@iimb.ernet.in