



I Ith ANNUAL NATIONAL CONFERENCE on

'ELECTORAL & POLITICAL REFORMS'

Organized by West Bengal Election Watch (WBEW) & Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR)

$\underline{\textbf{Date:}}\ 21^{\,\text{st}}$ and $22^{\text{nd}}\ March\ 2015$

Venue: Ramakrishna Institute of Culture, Golpark, Kolkata, West Bengal

<u>AGENDA</u>

21st March 2015 (Vivekananda Hall)

9:00 - 10:00	Registration
10:00 - 10:30	National Anthem and Lamp lighting
	(Chief Guest: Shri H. S. Brahma, Chief Election Commissioner)
	Inauguration & Welcome Address: Prof Trilochan Sastry (ADR/NEW), Shri Biplab Halim (WBEW), Shri Chittotosh Mukherjee, President, WBEW & Ex-Chief Justice, Kolkata & Mumbai High Court and Swami Suparnananda Maharaj, Secretary, RKM, Golpark
10:30 - 11:00	Address by Shri H. S. Brahma, Chief Election Commissioner, Election Commission of India
	Chairperson – Dr. Ajit Ranade
	Book release – Report on the Lok Sabha elections, 2014
	Making flow of money in politics transparent: a case for good governance
11:00 – 12:15	Chairperson: Prof. Trilochan Sastry
	Panelists: Shri Shailesh Gandhi (Former Information Commissioner), Shri P. K. Dash (Director General – Expenditure, ECI), Shri Paranjoy Guha Thakurta (Journalist and political commentator), Shri Subhash Chandra Agrawal (RTI Activist)
12:15 – 13:00	Open Session
13:00 - 14:00	Lunch*
14:00 – 15:00	Time to build a functional democracy: Empowering local body institutions
	Chairperson – Shri M.N.Roy
	Panelists: Shri Subrata Mukherjee (AITC, Minister, Panchayati Raj and Rural Development), Dr. Gouri P. Dutta (WBEW, former member, State Planning Board, former MLA), Shri Nikhil Dey (NCPRI/MKSS), Dr. R. Balasubramaniam (Swami Vivekananda Youth Movement), Ms. Pankti Jog (MAGP), Shri Chandan Dutta (WBEW)
15:00 – 15:30	Open discussion
15:30 – 16:30	Need to enhance transparency and accountability in political parties





	Chairperson – Prof. Jagdeep Chhokar
	Panelists: Shri T. S. Krishnamurthy (Former CEC), Shri Vinay Sahasrabuddhe (BJP), Shri Sukhvilas Verma (INC), Shri Manoj Bhattacharya (RSP), Shri Prabodh Chandra Panda (State Secretary, CPI), representative from CPI (M), Ms. Kamini Jaiswal (Senior Advocate, Supreme Court), Shri Ravindra Kumar (M.D. & Editor – in – Chief, The Statesman)
16:30 - 16:50	Open discussion
16:50 - 17:00	Vote of thanks : Prof. Satyabrata Chowdhury, WBEW
20:00 onwards	Dinner (at the place of stay)

22nd March 2015 (Turyananda Hall)

09:00 - 09:30	Registration
07.00 07.00	
	2014 Lok Sabha and Assembly elections: Lessons learnt and future course of action
09:30 - 10:45	Chairperson: Maj. Gen. Anil Verma (Retd.) Panelists – Shri Sudhir Pal (Jharkhand Election Watch), Shri Ranjan Mohanty (Odisha Election
	Watch), Shri Anil Sharma (Uttar Pradesh Election Watch), Shri Sharad Kumar (Maharashtra Election Watch), Shri Rakesh Dubuddu (Andhra Pradesh Election Watch), Shri Balvinder Singh/Shri Ghulam Shaikh, (Jammu & Kashmir Election Watch), Dr. Amiya Samanta (West Bengal Election Watch)
10:45 – 11:00	Tea
11:00 – 12:00	Media Neutrality and its Significance in democracy Chairperson: Dr. Vipul Mudgal Panelists: Shri Siddharth Varadarajan (Senior Journalist, Editor & Academician), Ms. Monideepa Banerjee (NDTV Bureau Chief, Kolkata), Shri Sharad Gupta (Dainik Bhaskar, Editor, Political Affairs), Shri Suvojit Bagchi (The Hindu, Bureau Chief, Kolkata), Ms. Madhuparna Das (The Indian Express, Special Correspondent), Shri Snehashish Sur (Senior Journalist, Doordarshan Kendra, Kolkata)
12:00 - 12:30	Open Session
12.20 12.00	Resolutions and 'Next Steps for NEW'
12:30 - 13:00	Chairpersons – Prof. Trilochan Sastry and Shri Biplab Halim
13:00	Lunch* & Dispersal

* For resident participants, lunch will be served at the Ramakrishna Mission Dining Hall. For all other participants, lunch to be served on the ground floor in the Hall below Turyananda Hall.