Firefox Help 1.0 - en to zh translation catalogue (122 entries)

en: Glossary
zh: 术语表

en: authentication
zh: 认证

en: The use of a password, certificate, personal identification number
      (PIN), or other information to validate an identity over a computer
      network.
zh: 使用密码，
    证书，个人识别码(PIN)，或其他信息来
    验证一个人在计算机网络上的身份。参见

en: bookmark
zh: 书签

en: A stored web page address (
zh: 存储起来的网页地址（

en: )
      that you can go to easily by clicking a bookmark icon in the Bookmarks Toolbar
      or choosing the bookmark's name from the Bookmarks menu.
zh: ），
    有了它您就可以在书签工具栏上点击一个书签图标，
    或者在书签菜单中选择一个书签名，即可方便地打开这一页。

en: Bookmarks Toolbar
zh: 书签工具栏

en: The customizable toolbar that appears just below the Location Bar by
      default in &brandShortName;. It contains buttons for your favorite bookmarks
      (or folders containing groups of bookmarks) that you can add or remove.
zh: &brandShortName;中可定制的工具栏，缺省情况下它显示在地址栏
    的下面。它显示的是您最喜欢的一组书签（或者包含一组书签的文件夹），
    这些书签您可以增加或删除。

en: cache
zh: 缓存

en: to fetch a particular web page for
      which the cache already contains a copy, &brandShortName; compares the cached copy
      to the original. If there have been no changes, &brandShortName; uses the cached
      copy rather than refetching the original, saving processing and download time.
zh: 来请求一个网页时，如果缓存中已经有
    该页的拷贝，&brandShortName;就会对缓存页面和原始页面进行比较。
    如果页面相同，&brandShortName;就会使用缓存中的页面，而不是
    再去下载网站上的。这样可以节省下载和处理的时间。

en: certificate
zh: 证书

en: The digital equivalent of an ID card. A certificate specifies the name of an
      individual, company, or other entity and certifies that a public key, which
      is included in the certificate, belongs to that entity. When you digitally
      sign a message or other data, the digital signature for that message is
      created with the aid of the private key that corresponds to the public key
      in your certificate.
zh: 可认为是身份证的数字化。
    证书标明了个人或公司或其他实体的名字，
    并对其中包括的属于这些实体的公钥提供了证明。
    当您对一条消息或其他数据进行数字签名时，
    要用到您的私钥，它和证书中的公钥是配对的。

en: client
zh: 客户端

en: Software (such as an Internet browser) that sends requests to and receives
      information from a
zh: 一种软件，就像互联网浏览器一样，它可以向

en: server
zh: 服务器

en: , which is usually running
      on a different computer. A computer on which client software runs is also
      described as a client.
zh: 发送请求或接收信息。服务器通常运行在不同的计算机上。
    运行客户端软件的计算机通常也被
    称作客户机。

en: A small bit of information stored on your computer by some web sites. When
      you visit such a site, the site asks &brandShortName; to place one or more cookies
      on your hard disk. Later, when you return to the site, &brandShortName; sends the
      site the cookies that belong to it. Cookies help web sites keep track of
      information about you, such as the contents of your shopping cart. You can set
      your cookies options to control how cookies are used and how much information
      you are willing to let web sites store on them.
zh: 由一些网站存储在您计算机上的一小段信息。
    当您访问这些网站时，网站会请求&brandShortName;在
    您的硬盘上放一个或几个Cookie，这样当您再次访问该站时，
    &brandShortName;会把属于这个网站的Cookie发送给它。这个网站
    就能获取一些关于您的信息，比如您购物车里的物品等。您可以
    对Cookie选项进行设置，以决定如何使用它们、以及您想让
    网站在里面存储多少信息。

en: Cookie Manager
zh: Cookie管理器

en: The part of &brandShortName; that you can use to control
zh: &brandShortName;的一个元件，用它您可以控制

en: cookies
zh: Cookie

en: .
zh: 。

en: cryptography
zh: 加密

en: The art and practice of scrambling (encrypting) and unscrambling (decrypting)
      information. For example, cryptographic techniques are used to scramble and unscramble
      information flowing between commercial web sites and &brandShortName;.
zh: 打乱数据（加密）和重整数据（解密）的技术与实践。
    比如，在商业网站和&brandShortName;之间就可以用加密
    技术来对信息进行加密和解密。

en: decryption
zh: 解密

en: The process of unscrambling data that has been encrypted. See also
zh: 把加密数据重新整理好的过程。参见

en: encryption
zh: 加密

en: digital ID
zh: 数字ID

en: The process of scrambling information in a way that disguises its meaning.
      For example, encrypted connections between computers make it very difficult
      for third-parties to unscramble, or
zh: 一种打乱信息的处理方法，它可以伪装其本来意义。
    比如，在计算机之间使用加密的连接，就可以让第三方
    很难把信息复原，或者叫做

en: decrypt,
zh: 解密，

en: information flowing
      over the connection. Encrypted information can be decrypted only by someone
      who possesses the appropriate key.
zh: 这个连接上的信息流。
    加密之后的信息就只能被拥有适当钥匙的人
    解密。

en: Extensible Markup Language (XML)
zh: 可扩展标记语言（XML）

en: An open standard for describing data. Unlike HTML, XML allows the
      developer of a web page to define special tags. For more information,
      see the online W3C document
zh: 一种描述数据的开放标准。和HTML不同，XML允许
    网页开发者定义特别标签。想获取更多信息，
    请参考网上的W3C文档

en: Extensible
      Markup Language (XML)
zh: 可扩展
    标记语言（XML）

en: feed
zh: 新闻种子（Feed）

en: An
zh: 一个

en: web page that contains a list of links to
      other web pages.  Special programs can read feeds to create a list
      of headlines from the links, automatically updating the list as it changes.
      News web sites use feeds to quickly publish the latest headlines, and
      personal online journals often use feeds to quickly notify visitors about
      new entries.  See also
zh: 网页，其中包含了一系列指向其他网页的链接。
    一些特殊的程序可以读取这个新闻源，并从链接中
    生成一个新闻头条的清单。这个清单会根据其来源变化。
    新闻网站使用这种技术也快速地发布最新消息，个人
    网络日志也经常使用它，以便在有新文章时通知其读者。
    参见

en: live bookmark
zh: 活动书签

en: File Transfer Protocol (FTP)
zh: 文件传输协议（FTP）

en: A standard that allows users to transfer files from one computer to
      another over a network. You can use &brandShortName; to fetch files
      using FTP.
zh: 一种网络标准，用它可以让用户在网络上把文件从一台电脑
    传到另一台。您可以在&brandShortName;中使用FTP来
    获取文件。

en: FIPS PUBS 140-1
zh: 美国联邦信息处理标准出版物（FIPS PUBS）140-1

en: Federal Information Processing Standards Publications (FIPS PUBS) 140-1 is
      a US government standard for implementations of cryptographic modules &mdash;
      hardware or software that encrypts and decrypts data or performs other
      cryptographic operations (such as creating or verifying digital signatures).
      Many products sold to the US government must comply with one or more of the
      FIPS standards.
zh: 美国联邦信息处理标准出版物140-1是一个美国政府标准，它规定了
    实现加密模块的标准&mdash;不论软件或硬件，只要是对数据进行加解密
    操作或其他保密操作（比如生成或验证数字签名）。出售给美国政府的
    许多产品都必须满足FIPS标准的一项或多项。

en: helper application
zh: 辅助程序

en: Any application that is used to open or view a file downloaded by &brandShortName;.
      A
zh: 一种应用，用来打开或查看&brandShortName;下载的文件。

en: plug-in
zh: 插件

en: is a special kind of helper application that
      installs itself into the Plugins directory of the main &brandShortName; installation
      directory and can typically be opened within &brandShortName; itself. Microsoft Word,
      Adobe Photoshop, and other external applications are considered helper applications
      but not plug-ins, because they don't install themselves into the browser directory
      but can be opened from the download dialog box.
zh: 是一种特殊的辅助程序，它要装在
    &brandShortName;安装主目录的插件(plugins)目录内，
    并且可以在&brandShortName;内打开。浏览器自己，微软Word，
    Adobe Photoshop以及其他外部程序也都被看作是辅助程序而
    不是插件，因为它们并不安装在浏览器目录下，但又可以在下载
    管理器窗口内打开。

en: home page
zh: 主页

en: The page &brandShortName; is set to display every time you launch it or when you
      click the
zh: &brandShortName;在每次启动时都会显示的一个页面，
    或者当您点击

en: Home
zh: 主页

en: button. Also used to refer to the main page for a
      web site from which you can explore the rest of the site.
zh: 按钮时，也会显示此页面。这个词也指一个网站的主页面，
    通过它您可以找到网站的其他页面。

en: Hypertext Markup Language (HTML)
zh: 超文本标记语言（HTML）

en: The document format used for web pages. The HTML standard defines tags, or
      codes, used to define the text layout, fonts, style, images, and other
      elements that make up a web page.
zh: 网页所用的文档格式。HTML标准定义了标签，或代码，
    用它们可以定义文字布局、字体、样式、图片以及其他
    构成一个页面的元素。

en: Internet
zh: 互联网

en: A worldwide network of millions of computers that communicate with each
      other using standard protocols such as
zh: 一个世界范围的网络，它连接了成百上千万台电脑，
    这些电脑通过标准的协议进行通信，比如

en: .
      Originally developed for the US military in 1969, the Internet grew to include
      educational and research institutions and, in the late 1990s, millions of
      businesses, organizations, and individuals. Today the Internet is used for email,
      browsing the
zh: 
    互联网最初是由美国军事部门在1969年开发的，随后有许多
    教育及研究机构加入，在1990年代晚期，成百上千万的商业
    机构，各种组织及个人连入互联网。今天，互联网被用于电子
    邮件，浏览

en: World Wide Web
zh: 万维网（WWW）

en: , instant messaging,
      mailing lists and usegroups, and many other purposes.
zh: ，即时通讯，
    邮件列表和用户组，以及许多其他目的的服务。

en: Internet protocol address (IP address)
zh: 互联网协议地址（IP地址）

en: The address of a computer on a
zh: 计算机用在

en: network.
      Every computer on the Internet has an IP address.
zh: 网络上的地址。
    互联网上的每一台计算机都有一个IP地址。

en: Clients
zh: 客户机

en: have either a permanent IP address or one that is dynamically assigned to them
      each time they connect with the network.
zh: 有一个永久性的IP，或是一个当它们连接到网络时
    动态分配的IP地址。

en: A programming language developed by Sun Microsystems. A single Java program
      can run on many different kinds of computers, thus avoiding the need for
      programmers to create a separate version of each program for each kind of
      computer. After Java is installed, &brandShortName; can automatically download
      and run Java programs (also called applets).
zh: Sun微系统公司开发的一种编程语言。Java程序可以在
    多咱不同种类的计算机上运行，这就可以避免让程序员
    为每一种计算机都开发一个单独版本的程序。
    Java安装后，&brandShortName;会自动下载并运行
    Java程序（也称为Java小应用程序）。

en: A scripting language commonly used to construct web pages. Programmers use
      JavaScript to make web pages more interactive; JavaScript is often used to
      dynamically validate forms and select buttons. JavaScript can be used with
      Java, but it is technically a separate language. Java is not required for
      JavaScript to work correctly.
zh: 一种通常用于构建网页的脚本语言。程序员
    用JavaScript来让网页更具交互性。JavaScript常用于
    对表单输入或选择按钮进行动态验证。JavaScript可以和Java一起
    使用，但准确地说它们是不同的语言。运行JavaScript也不需要安装Java。

en: A special type of bookmark that acts as a folder to contain the links in a
zh: 一种特殊的书签，它就像一个文件夹，其中包含有

en: .  You can create a live bookmark by visiting a site
      with a feed, clicking on the live bookmark icon in the Status Bar, and
      selecting the feed format you wish to use.
zh: 所指向的链接。访问带有新闻种子的网站时，点击状态栏
    上的活动书签按钮，然后选择您想使用的种子格式，就可
    以创建一个活动书签。

en: Location Bar
zh: 地址栏

en: The field (and associated buttons) near the top of a &brandShortName; window
      where you can type a
zh: 靠近&brandShortName;顶端的一个区域，它带有
    输入框和相关按钮，其中您可以输入

en: or search terms.
zh: 或搜索关键词。

en: master password
zh: 主密码

en: A password used to protect saved passwords and other private data.
      &brandShortName; will prompt you for your master password when you wish to
      access this data. If you have multiple security devices, each security device
      will require a separate master password.
zh: 一个专门用来保护已经保存的密码和其他个人数据的密码。
    当您要查看这些数据的时候，&brandShortName;会提示输入
    这个主密码。如果您有多个密使设备，每个设备都会需要一个
    不同的主密码。

en: Navigation Toolbar
zh: 导航工具栏

en: The toolbar near the top of the &brandShortName; window that includes
      the
zh: 位于&brandShortName;顶端的工具栏，其中包含
    有

en: Back
zh: 返回

en: and
zh: 以及

en: Forward
zh: 前进

en: buttons.
zh: 按钮。

en: Password Manager
zh: 密码管理器

en: The part of &brandShortName; that can help you remember some or all of
      your names and passwords by storing them on your computer's hard disk and
      entering them for you automatically when you visit such sites.
zh: &brandShortName;的一个组件，它可以把您访问网站时
    输入的部分或全部密码存储在硬盘上，当您再次访问这个网站时，
    它就会帮您自动输入这些密码。

en: The public-key cryptography standard that governs security devices such
      as smart cards.
zh: 公钥加密标准，它可以管理安全设备，
    比如智能卡。

en: A type of
zh: 一种

en: that
      adds new capabilities to &brandShortName;, such as the ability to play audio
      or video clips. Unlike other kinds of helper applications, a plug-in
      application installs itself into the Plugins directory within the main
      &brandShortName; installation directory and typically can be opened within
      &brandShortName; itself (internally). For example, an audio plug-in lets you
      listen to audio files on a web page or in an e-mail message. Macromedia
      Flash Player and Java are both examples of plug-in applications.
zh: 它
    可以为&brandShortName;增加新的功能，比如播放音频或
    视频片段。与其他辅助程序不同，插件会安装在
    &brandShortName;主安装目录下的插件目录内。
    并且通常可以在&brandShortName;内部启动。比如，
    音频插放插件可以播放网页或Email里面的音频文件。Macromedia Flash
    播放器和Java都是插件。

en: private key
zh: 私钥

en: One of a pair of keys used in public-key cryptography. The private key is 
    kept secret and is used to decrypt data that has been encrypted with the 
    corresponding public key.
zh: 公钥加密技术中所用钥匙对中的一个。
    私钥必须保护好，它是用来对用相应公钥加密的
    数据进行解密的。

en: proxy
zh: 代理

en: An intermediary or &quot;go-between&quot; program that acts as both a
zh: 一种中介或&quot;掮客&quot;程序，它同时作为

en: and a
zh: 和

en: for
      the purpose of making requests on behalf of other clients.
zh: ，
    它会根据其他客户程序的要求发出网络请求。

en: search engine
zh: 搜索引擎

en: A web-based program that allows users to search for and retrieve
      specific information from the World Wide Web. The search engine may
      search the full text of web documents or a list of keywords; it may
      also use librarians who review web documents and index them manually
      for retrieval. Typically, the user types a word or phrase into a
      search box, and the search engine displays links to relevant web
      pages.
zh: 一种基于万维网的程序，用户通过它可以从WWW上搜索并
    取得特定的信息。搜索引擎可以对网页文档进行全文搜索，
    也可以搜索一系列的关键词。它同样也会使用专业人员进行手工
    索引的文档。通常，用户在搜索框内输入一个词或短语，
    搜索引擎就会显示出与之相关的一系列
    网页链接。

en: secure site
zh: 安全站点

en: A site that uses
zh: 一种站点，它通过&brandShortName;在连接中使用

en: in connections
      with &brandShortName; to prevent other malicious Internet users from
      viewing transmitted data.  When you visit secure sites, &brandShortName;
      displays a lock icon in the
zh: 技术，
    以防止其他恶意网络用户查看
    传输的数据。当您访问安全站点时，&brandShortName;
    会在

en: Status Bar
zh: 状态栏

en: and the
zh: 和

en: .  &brandShortName; also
      displays the site's domain name in the Status Bar (to prevent malicious
      sites from stealing your data) and turns the background of the Location
      Bar to yellow.
zh: 显示一个锁的图标。&brandShortName;还会在
    状态栏上显示网站的域名，同时会把地址栏的背景
    变成黄色。

en: Some sites may consist of both secure and insecure data; the insecure data
      usually is non-private, although it isn't guaranteed to be so.  For such
      sites &brandShortName; will display a lock icon with a slash through it in
      the Status Bar and Location Bar and will
zh: 某些网站会同时包含有安全与非安全数据；非安全
    数据通常是非私人性质的，尽管并不保证如此。
    对于这类站点，&brandShortName;会在状态栏
    以及地址栏上显示一个带有斜杠的锁，同时在状态栏上

en: not
zh: 将不会

en: display the site's
      domain name in the Status Bar so that you know that the current web page
      isn't completely secure.
zh: 显示站点的
    域名。这样，您就可以知道当前这个网页
    并不是完全安全的。

en: Secure Sockets Layer (SSL)
zh: 安全套接字层（SSL）

en: A protocol that allows mutual authentication between a
zh: 一种协议，它可以在

en: for the purpose of establishing an authenticated and encrypted
      connection. SSL runs above TCP/IP and below HTTP, LDAP, IMAP, NNTP,
      and other high-level network protocols. The new Internet Engineering
      Task Force (IETF) standard called Transport Layer Security (TLS) is
      based on SSL. See also
zh: 进行双向认证，以建立起一个经过认证和加密的连接。
    SSL运行在TCP/IP之上，而在HTTP，LDAP，IMAP，NNTP
    等高级网络协议之下。新的IETF标准被称作传输层安全（TLS），
    它是基于SSL的。参见

en: ,
zh: ，

en: Software (such as software that serves up web pages) that receives
      requests from and sends information to a
zh: 一种软件（比如提供网页服务的这种），它
    可以从

en: ,
      which is usually running on a different computer. A computer on which
      server software runs is also described as a server.
zh: 接受请求并发送信息，
    服务器软件通常运行在和客户端不同的计算机上。而运行有
    服务器软件的计算机也被称为服务器。

en: The toolbar that appears at the bottom of any &brandShortName; window. It
      shows status icons on the right.
zh: &brandShortName;窗口底部的工具栏。它
    右端会显示一些状态图标。

en: Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
zh: 传输控制协议/互联网协议（TCP/IP）

en: A Unix protocol used to connect computers running a variety of operating systems.
      TCP/IP is an essential Internet protocol and has become a global standard.
zh: 一种UNIX协议，它可以把运行不同操作系统的计算机连接起来。
    TCP/IP是互联网的一种基本协议，并已成为全球标准。

en: Uniform Resource Locator (URL)
zh: 统一资源定位（URL）

en: The standardized address that tells &brandShortName; how to locate a file or
      other resource on the Web (for example,
zh: 可以告诉&brandShortName;如何找到一个文件或
    其他WEB资源的标准地址，（比如，

en: ).
      Type URLs into &brandShortName;'s Location Bar to access web pages. URLs
      are also used in the links on web pages go to other web pages. Also known
      as an Internet or Web address.
zh: ）。
    在&brandShortName;的地址栏中输入URL，就可以找到网页。URL
    也用在网页上的链接中，它指向其他网页。它也被称为
    互联网或Web地址。

en: web page
zh: 网页

en: A single document on the World Wide Web that is specified by a unique
      address or URL.  A web page may contain text, hyperlinks, and graphics.
zh: WWW的一个单独的网页，由一个地址或URL指定。
    网页可以含有文字，超链接，以及图片。

en: web site
zh: 网站

en: A group of related web pages linked by hyperlinks and managed by a single
      company, organization, or individual. A web site may include text, graphics,
      audio and video files, and links to other web sites.
zh: 由一个公司、组织或个人管理的一组由超链接组织起来的网页
    就构成网站。一个网站可以包含文字，图片，声音及视频文件
    以及指向其他网站的链接。

en: Also known as the Web. A portion of the Internet that is made up of web
      pages stored by web
zh: 也被称为Web，它是互联网的一部分，由一组网页组成，
    并存在Web

en: servers
zh: 服务器上

en: and displayed by
zh: ，而由

en: clients
zh: 客户端程序

en: called web browsers (such as
      &brandShortName;).
zh: ，也就是Web浏览器（如
    &brandShortName;）来显示。

en: Return to beginning of Glossary
zh: 返回术语表起始处

en: 08 October 2004
zh: 2004 年 10 月 8 日

en: Copyright &copy; 2003-2004 Contributors to the Mozilla Help Viewer Project.
zh: &copy; 2003-2004，版权由 Mozilla Help Viewer Project 的贡献者所有。
