Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

OT:Have I got a Virous or have they?

2 views
Skip to first unread message

David

unread,
Apr 2, 2012, 10:56:37 AM4/2/12
to
www.seddondirect.co.uk

I get this when I go to their Website.


WebKnight Application Firewall Alert


Your request triggered an alert! If you feel that you have received this
page in error, please contact the administrator of this web site.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What is WebKnight?
AQTRONIX WebKnight is an application firewall for web servers and is
released under the GNU General Public License. It is an ISAPI filter for
securing web servers by blocking certain requests. If an alert is triggered
WebKnight will take over and protect the web server.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For more information on WebKnight: http://www.aqtronix.com/WebKnight/

AQTRONIX WebKnight



Regards
David

R. Mark Clayton

unread,
Apr 2, 2012, 2:10:06 PM4/2/12
to
I got a shed load of these yesterday - might have been a glitch in Norton.

"David" <david...@tesco.net> wrote in message
news:jlceqb$v2b$1...@dont-email.me...

David

unread,
Apr 2, 2012, 2:43:45 PM4/2/12
to
Hi
Only Website I have got it on , and I'm on AVG not Nortons.
Regards
David





"R. Mark Clayton" wrote in message
news:juCdnd22iJXvduTS...@bt.com...

Peter Boulding

unread,
Apr 2, 2012, 4:03:26 PM4/2/12
to

[top posting re-ordered]


On Mon, 2 Apr 2012 19:43:45 +0100, "David" <david...@tesco.net> wrote in
<jlcs4b$gp0$1...@dont-email.me>:

>>I got a shed load of these yesterday - might have been a glitch in Norton.

>Hi
>Only Website I have got it on , and I'm on AVG not Nortons.
>Regards

The software in question (the WebKnight Firewall) sits on the web server and
is designed to protect it from attacks from *your* PC.

It auto-updates itself very frequently; maybe there was a buggy update
providing false positives yesterday.

Are you still getting the same problem with www.seddondirect.co.uk ? (I'm
not.) If you are, I'd (a) download, update, and then scan your PC with,
Malwarebytes. If it gives you a clean bill of health, (b) raise the problem
with your ISP, telling them that AVG and Malwarebytes reckon your PC is
clean, and see what they say.


[Malwarebytes: <http://www.malwarebytes.org/>]


--
Regards, Peter Boulding
pjbn...@UNSPAMpboulding.co.uk (to e-mail, remove "UNSPAM")
Fractal Images and Music: http://www.pboulding.co.uk/
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=794240&content=music

David

unread,
Apr 4, 2012, 4:25:36 AM4/4/12
to
Hi
Solved.
Did tell my ISP he said not them but me.
I have done IE clean up including Cookies. I now am ok on the troublesome
website.
Think when I did my ordering/enquires they must have done a Cookie and that
messed me up, anyway all is ok now.
Thanks for your responses.
Regards
David

Peter Boulding

unread,
Apr 4, 2012, 5:46:42 AM4/4/12
to
On Wed, 4 Apr 2012 09:25:36 +0100, "David" <david...@tesco.net> wrote in
<jlh0ji$8rs$1...@dont-email.me>:
An IE cache/cookie clean up prevented a web server's firewall from locking
you out? Sounds a bit odd, but not worth troubling about unless it recurs.

--
Regards, Peter Boulding
pjbn...@UNSPAMpboulding.co.uk (to e-mail, remove "UNSPAM")

"IE does have one valid use: it allows you to download a web browser."

Angus Robertson - Magenta Systems Ltd

unread,
Apr 4, 2012, 9:08:00 AM4/4/12
to
In article <jlh0ji$8rs$1...@dont-email.me>, david...@tesco.net (David)
wrote:

> WebKnight Application Firewall Alert
> Did tell my ISP he said not them but me.

Your ISP probably has no idea, the WebKnight application is protecting the
www.seddondirect.co.uk web site, which will have a detailed log of what
offending behaviour it has detected.

I've just installed WebKnight on one of my web sites. It can be programmed
to detect and stop lots of web server hacker abuse, which all web servers
suffer, such as SQL injection attacks, access to MySQL admin tools and 100
other things, some trivial like directories such as /test/ which failed one
of my applications, and prevent common passwords and user names being used.


It seems a very useful tool, but the default blocking message you saw is
not very helpful. You should email Seddon with the time you got the error,
and ask why you were blocked, they should care, because they are losing
business from blocked customers.

Angus

David

unread,
Apr 4, 2012, 12:18:45 PM4/4/12
to
Thanks Peter and Angus.
Well what ever I cleaned up Cookie or otherwise it cleared, of course Seddan
might have read my e-mail and put things right with their system at that
moment. (They have not acknowledged my e-mail if that the case).
Good to hear it was a genuine program that was causing it, I had wondered if
it was one of those naughty ones that blocks your computer telling you you
have an infection and wanting money to clear up.
Hope your application of the program gives out a better message, maybe you
might like to find out what message yours will give out to people if it
thinks a genuine person can't get to your website.
thanks again
Regards
David

The Natural Philosopher

unread,
Apr 4, 2012, 2:13:41 PM4/4/12
to
Its probably worth saying that this is a good first place to ask all
such questions.

Better safe than sorry, and there are a few people here who know things
in more depth than average



--
To people who know nothing, anything is possible.
To people who know too much, it is a sad fact
that they know how little is really possible -
and how hard it is to achieve it.
0 new messages