Dear Sir,
I got wind of your website and i'm interested in
getting a web site designed for my Client.
My Client are stock brokers and would require a web
site that has a database of available stock at any
point in time. It should be interactive to allow
cusomers indicate their interest to buy such stocks.
It should also have email facility and a search
engine.
I'd really appreaciate it if you can get back to me as
soon as possible with a proposal and the cost on how
you can achieve this for us. This should include
Domain Name registration and Web hosting. And of
course the proposal should have sample websites you've
created for clear presentation to my client.
Looking forward to doing business with you.
Thanks,
Yours Truly,
Victor Ameh
-----------------------------------------
This came from a hotmail address. Wonder what they're after? Didn't
bother replying obviously
<http://www.craftvilledesign.com>
<http://www.craftcalendar.com>
<http://www.craftlinks.co.uk>
I can't even begin to guess... wierd isn't it? Judging by the job
specification, they are asking you to be single handedly responsible for a
fairly substantial online project... I wonder if this is a variation on the
"Nigerian National Bank Caper" ?
--
Bluefoot
http://www.bluefootproject.com
"...but check the foreign policy,
South America -ahh- we f*cked 'em like a hooker,
avoid the Middle East 'cause Bush is in a Stukka......."
- The Goats(during the last Bush administration)
BoB
"Splatcat" <spla...@nospambtinternet.com> wrote in message
news:hjfpkt4t0010fmk48...@4ax.com...
>
> It could be that he wants to get a price from you so that he can pitch it
> to his client at a cheaper rate than you quote. It is a typical business
> "trick" from starter companies who do not know how to price themselves in
> the market. The easiest way is to send out a spoof RFQ and ask people to
> give you a price on it.
Could be although I did once get a person doing this for real. Some
companies just leave all their marketing/branding to an other company who
act on their behalf.
I think in this case though I would just quote them 100,000 ukp to do the
job and see what they come back with ;-)
--
Richard Watson
<snip>
> This came from a hotmail address. Wonder what they're after? Didn't
> bother replying obviously
Very strange
While we are on the subject, anyone else getting :
"£5000 FINE!!! Data Protection Act 1998"
with an attached file called "bulk.doc".
???
Allan
--
=================================
Newbee's FP2000 FAQ available at
http://newbee.hostroute.co.uk
Now with NEW discussion Group !!
=================================
NOOOOOOOO! don't tell me that guy is not dead afterall ? I was about to get
some of the money he left behind :)
David
Daivd
--
David
Total ASP
http://www.asp4webmasters.com
"Splatcat" <spla...@nospambtinternet.com> wrote in message
news:hjfpkt4t0010fmk48...@4ax.com...
>
Can't hurt to find out what's going on. I'd be asking for details of
projected usage and what volume of data will be displayed. You'll
generally be able to tell from the answers that they give you whether
they're genuine. It is a strange one, but I've seen weirder ones that
have turned out to be bona fide.
--
Chris Weston
> While we are on the subject, anyone else getting :
>
> "£5000 FINE!!! Data Protection Act 1998"
> with an attached file called "bulk.doc".
Yes I got that one. Went straight in the bit bucket...
--
Richard Watson
[asking on behalf of client]
> I did once get a person doing this for real. Some companies just leave
> all their marketing/branding to an other company who act on their
> behalf.
>
Indeed. A company I worked for used to have a lot of their marketing
done outside.
The oddest thing I've had sent to me was being asked by a firm of
Accountants locally to quote to design a site <rummages> "for a new
local web design and multimedia company that is going to specialise in
high end graphics and Flash presentations .... creation of the site is
to be fully credited to <deleted> as an example of their own expertise
.... There is no expectation that further work will ensue as everything
will be done thereafter by the company themselves .... the maximum
budget is set at 50 Pounds Sterling and quotations should include a
list of all the work that can be achieved within the budget."
I said no once I picked myself up off the floor.
--
Pedt
I'd be tempted to follow it up with a list of questions that you'd need
answered before you could give a meaningful quotation - like usage
level, amount of data on site etc etc. Answers should tell you pretty
well if they are genuine, though odd, or just plain odd.
--
Pedt
I'm obviously missing something here, but It seems to me like he's after
someone to design a website for him and that he thought of you - a website
designer.
>Didn't
>bother replying obviously
Obviously not. You may end up getting work if you start replying to requests
for quotes.
It's that hotmail address I would say. Why would someone asking for a
job to be done for a client who brokers stock be using a hotmail address
instead of their company one and also not give their own company name if
it is a legitimate business enquiry from one business to another ?
--
Pedt
Yes he is dead, but before he died, he said that you could send the money to
me. ;-)
BoB
>
> David
>
>
>
David
--
David
Total ASP
http://www.asp4webmasters.com
"BoB" <bob_nosp...@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
news:9ik2il$8op$1...@reader-00.news.insnet.cw.net...
Why do you think it got co much publicity?
BoB
"David Cleland" <ne...@davidcleland.com> wrote in message
news:CMPL28...@compulsive.co.uk...
David
--
David
Total ASP
http://www.asp4webmasters.com
"BoB" <bob_nosp...@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
news:9ikfe9$c2v$1...@reader-00.news.insnet.cw.net...
BoB
"David Cleland" <ne...@davidcleland.com> wrote in message
news:CMPL32...@compulsive.co.uk...
>Hmm. On second thoughts just put the money in the wastebin at Hounslow West
>tube station, post a message here when it's done, I'll pick it up in a
>couple of days and everything will be Hunky Dory.
I remember there being a shortage of bins at Hounslow West Tube, (I've
spent a few times there, it's on my (old) route to Heathrow (I have a
direct Bus now I think.)
Erm. what was my Web Authoring point here??? No, didn't have one, oh
well...
Jim.
this alone should tell you everything.
notice how its 'my client' and not 'we', its either a newbie, or design
company out of there depth (hence the hotmail)
--
Rick
Kitty5 WebDesign - http://Kitty5.com
Hi-Impact database driven web site design & e-commerce
TEL : +44 (01625) 266358 - FAX : +44 (01625) 611913 - ICQ : 15776037
POV-Ray News & Resources - http://Povray.co.uk
PGP Public Key
http://pgpkeys.mit.edu:11371/pks/lookup?op=get&search=0x231E1CEA
>It's that hotmail address I would say. Why would someone asking for a
>job to be done for a client who brokers stock be using a hotmail address
>instead of their company one and also not give their own company name if
>it is a legitimate business enquiry from one business to another ?
Oh I'm used to approaches for work but never like this.
1. The hotmail address
2. No other contact details at all
3. No request for a dialog just a quote. No one could possiblely
believe you could quote from that bit of information.
I have now replyed and said, if you would like to open a discussion
please send me a real email address and telephone number :-)
I didn't want to waste any more time on it.
I also got the Data Protection email Ł5,000. Has anyone actually
opened it? What did it say? (Not that I am suggesting anyone does
unless they already have if you get what I mean)
> I also got the Data Protection email £5,000. Has
> anyone actually opened it? What did it say? (Not
> that I am suggesting anyone does unless they
> already have if you get what I mean)
If you're talking about the .doc file attachment
which comes with it, its complete contents are:
--------8<--------
{\rtf1\ansi\deff0\deftab720{\fonttbl{\f0\fswiss MS Sans
Serif;}{\f1\froman\fcharset2 Symbol;}{\f2\fswiss\fcharset1 MS
Sans Serif;}{\f3\fswiss\fcharset1 MS Sans Serif;}}
{\colortbl\red0\green0\blue0;}
\deflang2057\pard\plain\f3\fs16 \'a35000 FINE!!! Data Protection
Act
\par
\par }
--------8<--------
So the only "meaningful" text is pretty much as
the subject line.
VinceH
--
* How many people can honestly say they've been *there* ?
WebChange 2 for RISC OS: 15ukp - see http://www.softrock.co.uk/webchange/ros/
>I wonder did anyone ever actually fall for that one ?
Sudden shortage of Stupid Web Users ?
It could destroy the whole e-com business !
>While we are on the subject, anyone else getting :
>
>"£5000 FINE!!! Data Protection Act 1998"
>with an attached file called "bulk.doc".
1 copy so far. Very short, but I presumed it was a virus. The mailer
only opens .doc attachments woith WordPad, not Word, to avoid such
problems.
Spamcopped anyway
regards
Pauleen
Get your FREE Professional Remote Control Selling System
http://www.netmarkpro.net/startafresh/index.html
"VinceH" <vin...@softrock.co.uk> wrote in message
news:4a9907ab...@softrock.co.uk...
<snip>
> Spamcopped anyway
8 Copies today, some with the actual text in there.
Reported to Spamcop, came back with
"ISP has already taken action against....." sometime today
Also there's a reference to an "GOV" abuse department now too.
Looks like the police may be banging on this guy's door any minute.
regards
Things must be tough if they cannot even move sixty dollars ;-)
Sounds like the same sort of scam though.
regards
Allan
--