Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

junk email

0 views
Skip to first unread message

Bobbo the Atarian

unread,
Jul 23, 1996, 3:00:00 AM7/23/96
to

Andrew Chan (acc...@hawk.ece.ucdavis.edu) wrote:
: I'm getting unwanted junk mail from ch...@moneyworld.com .. I've sent
: "unsubscribe" (I never subscribed either) messages according to their
: protocol but that didn't work. As they paid for their address, I don't
: think I can find out who their ISP is and make a complaint. So I'm
: wondering if UCD offers some kind of filter for email or something to
: stop receiving mail from certain addresses.

: Yes, I've tried the "other" method :) and it didn't work.

I've been getting these as well... from the chag source. And they have
a list of all the machines in the labs, so I've gotten 20 of the same
letter on my CS account... Apparently, their mail server is conveniently
down whenever I try and mail them with 'remove' as the subjecct. I even
called their number (from work) and the guys phone-mail box is also full,
and won't accept any more messages. What a jerk.

procmail can filter out mail and also is used for auto-reply purposes.
Check the man pages, as crappy as they are... Good luck figuring it
out -- I think it's installed on the IT accounts, ece accounts, and
engr accounts.

-Bob.
--
/-+=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+=-=+\
\ \|/ ____ \|/ "Time is an | /
/ @'/ ,. \`@ illusion; | Bobbo the Atarian \
\ /_| \__/ |_\ at lunchtime | E-mail: schw...@cs.ucdavis.edu /
/ \__U_/ doubly so." | http://wwwcsif.cs.ucdavis.edu/~schwarzm \
\ -- Ford Prefect | /
\+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-=-+-/

Adam Spragg

unread,
Jul 23, 1996, 3:00:00 AM7/23/96
to

Bobbo the Atarian (schw...@cs.ucdavis.edu) wrote:
:
: : Yes, I've tried the "other" method :) and it didn't work.
:

On a similar subject... I got some commercial mail recently... I wrote
to the contact (not the listserver/whatever), and explained that I don't
do business using that email account (like I have some other account
purely for business :), and I'd appreciate it if they'd not send me any
more stuff and remove me from their list... I actually got a letter back
saying they were sorry and they'd remove me from their list... haven't
hear from them since...

For one moment in my feeble life... I had POWER!!! ;)

Adam Spragg
atsp...@ucdavis.edu
Got some time? Why not visit <http://wwwcsif.cs.ucdavis.edu/~spragg>?

Andrew Chan

unread,
Jul 23, 1996, 3:00:00 AM7/23/96
to

I'm getting unwanted junk mail from ch...@moneyworld.com .. I've sent
"unsubscribe" (I never subscribed either) messages according to their
protocol but that didn't work. As they paid for their address, I don't
think I can find out who their ISP is and make a complaint. So I'm
wondering if UCD offers some kind of filter for email or something to
stop receiving mail from certain addresses.

Yes, I've tried the "other" method :) and it didn't work.


Jonathan Fox

unread,
Jul 25, 1996, 3:00:00 AM7/25/96
to

Andrew Chan (acc...@hawk.ece.ucdavis.edu) wrote:
: I'm getting unwanted junk mail from ch...@moneyworld.com .. I've sent

: "unsubscribe" (I never subscribed either) messages according to their
: protocol but that didn't work. As they paid for their address, I don't
: think I can find out who their ISP is and make a complaint. So I'm
: wondering if UCD offers some kind of filter for email or something to
: stop receiving mail from certain addresses.

I noticed that my mail was addressed to 'ez04...@chumley.ucdavis.edu', and
when I had tried to 'remove' myself from the mailing list, Eudora was
putting 'jr...@ucdavis.edu' as my e-mail address. I believe the Sun
systems also put your mailID in place of your ez# on outgoing mail. This
may be why your name was not removed.

--
Jonathan R. Fox School of Medicine
jr...@ucdavis.edu University of California, Davis

"What's this? Now there is something we can learn from."
-- W.A. Mozart, upon hearing the music of J.S. Bach

Michael White

unread,
Jul 28, 1996, 3:00:00 AM7/28/96
to

Andrew Chan wrote:
>
> I'm getting unwanted junk mail from ch...@moneyworld.com .. I've sent
> "unsubscribe" (I never subscribed either) messages according to their
> protocol but that didn't work. As they paid for their address, I don't
> think I can find out who their ISP is and make a complaint. So I'm
> wondering if UCD offers some kind of filter for email or something to
> stop receiving mail from certain addresses.
>
> Yes, I've tried the "other" method :) and it didn't work.

The guy doing this is a spammer. Someone who has gotten this stuff (I
have not) should post to news.admin.net-abuse.misc (there are people
watching for what one Fred Stirling is doing). I did a Yahoo search
on moneyworld.com to find out what I could. If possible everyone who
got the e-mail (or any ad. e-mail) should at e-mail the service provider
(I think mailing to root@..... usually works) and complain. Some people
like to spam the folks back. I am including one of the things on
moneyworld I found with the search.
- Mike

========================================================================
This is part of the infamous "moneyworld" series of mailings, with
completely forged headers. These folks are
well-known mail forgers; see the appended netnews article. At this
point, we are rejecting anything that has
passed through "moneyworld.com".

The following netnews article, which was retrieved from the Dejanews
search service, explains the problem.

Subject: Info for "Willie watchers"
From: jfei...@krypton.sdsmt.edu (Jim Feiszli)
Date: 1996/04/19
Message-Id: <4l9541$8...@news.sdsmt.edu>
Distribution: world
Organization: spam watchers central
Keywords: William Newell, moneyworld.com, fincon.com, Fred Sterling,
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-Abuse.misc


The latest on the "Slick Willie" of the Internet:

If I were a system administrator, I'd probably want to filter/block all
incoming items from selfhelp.net, selfhelpnet.com, and netamerica1.com,
because it looks like William Newell, sender of zillions of unwanted
commercial messages, might be gearing up for more activities. After
getting the plug pulled on moneyworld.com and fincon.com, he seems
to have abandoned those domain names for the others mentioned above.
My evidence is in a series of "whois" results, below. (It's a long
trail, but follow it to the end!)

"whois moneyworld.com" -- almost unchanged since ELI pulled the plug,
but
check out the new address on "Bob Williams" (alias "Willie Newell"?):

Financial Connections, Inc (MONEYWORLD-DOM)
2508 5th Ave, #104
Seattle, WA 98121
USA

Domain Name: MONEYWORLD.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Williams, Bob (BW747) jem...@NWLINK.COM
812-0808

Record last updated on 14-Mar-96.
Record created on 26-Oct-95.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.MONEYWORLD.COM 206.79.196.15
NS2.MONEYWORLD.COM 207.0.56.16

================

"whois bw747" (funny--I can't "ping" or "finger" nwlink.com at all...)

Williams, Bob (BW747) jem...@NWLINK.COM
NetAmerica USA1
2508 5th Ave, #104
Seattle, WA 98121
812-0808

Record last updated on 16-Apr-96.

====================

"whois netamerica1.com"

NetAmerica USA1 (NETAMERICA2-DOM)
2508 5th Ave, #104
Seattle, WA 98121
USA

Domain Name: NETAMERICA1.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Williams, Bob (BW747) jem...@NWLINK.COM
812-0808

Record last updated on 16-Apr-96.
Record created on 22-Jan-96.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.HELPNET.NET 38.243.232.5
NSH.HELPNET.NET 206.81.217.16

================

"whois helpnet.net" (check the subtle difference in the "Contact")

Self Help Institute (HELPNET3-DOM)
2508 5th Ave, #104
Seattle, WA 98121
USA

Domain Name: HELPNET.NET

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Williams, Bob (BW746) wil...@SELFHELPNET.COM
812-0808

Record last updated on 16-Apr-96.
Record created on 23-Mar-96.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.HELPNET.NET 38.243.232.5
NSH.HELPNET.NET 206.81.217.16

=====================

"whois bw746"

Williams, Bob (BW746) wil...@SELFHELPNET.COM
Self Help Institute
2508 5th Ave, #104
Seattle, WA 98121
812-0808

Record last updated on 23-Mar-96.

====================

"whois selfhelpnet.com" (here's the big "AHA!!!"-- remember
"fincon.com"?)

Financial Connections, Inc (SELFHELPNET-DOM)
2508 5th Ave, #104
Seattle, WA 98121
USA

Domain Name: SELFHELPNET.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Williams, Bob (BW747) jem...@NWLINK.COM
812-0808

Record last updated on 16-Apr-96.
Record created on 04-Mar-96.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.HELPNET.NET 38.243.232.5
NSH.HELPNET.NET 206.81.217.16

=================

"whois 206.81.217"

U S WEST Internet Services (NETBLK-USW-INTERACT6)
3rd Avenue Building
1133 3rd Ave
Seattle, WA 98101

Netname: USW-INTERACT6
Netblock: 206.81.192.0 - 206.81.223.0

Coordinator:
Lundgren, Paul (PL84) pa...@USWEST.NET
(612) 672-8532 (FAX) (612) 672-8537 (FAX) (612) 672-8537

Domain System inverse mapping provided by:

NS3.MN.USWEST.NET 204.147.80.1
BULLWINKLE.NE.INTERACT.NET 204.26.64.1

Record last updated on 16-Jan-96.

====================

USWest Internet has been called and warned--they'll be watching closely!


a concerned netizen

(don't bother with direct replies--the news server here is
mis-configured,
producing an invalid return address)
========================================================================

0 new messages