If I'm posting copyrighted material (photo) on my facebook that I do not own the copyright to and facebook shares/uses that material, can the original copyright owner file suit against facebook that they did not grant the use of the photo to facebook, that essentially facebook is using a pirated image?
When the outside services prompt Facebook to ask whether we should authorize the app and tell they have access to basic information, should to decline and not use the service?
Instant personalization (sometimes also referred to as "Start now") is a way for Facebook to help partners (such as Bing and Rotten Tomatoes) on and off Facebook to create a more personalized and social experience for logged in users than a social plugin can offer. When you visit a site or app using instant personalization, it will know some information about you and your friends the moment you arrive. This is because sites and apps using instant personalization can access your User ID, your friend list, and your public information.
The first time you visit a site or app using instant personalization, you will see a notification letting you know that the site or app has partnered with Facebook to provide a personalized experience.
The notification will give you the ability to disable or turn off instant personalization for that site or app. If you do that, that site or app is required to delete all of the information about you it received from Facebook as part of the instant personalization program. In addition, we will prevent that site from accessing your information in the future, even when your friends use that site.
If you decide that you do not want to experience instant personalization for all partner sites and apps, you can disable instant personalization from the “Apps” settings page.
If you turn off instant personalization, these partner third party sites and apps will not be able to access your public information, even when your friends visit those sites.
If you turn off an instant personalization site or app after you have been using it or visited it a few times (or after you have given it specific permission to access your data), it will not automatically delete information about you it received through Facebook. Like all other apps, the site is required by our policies to delete information about you if you ask it to do so.
Instant personalization partners sometimes use an email hash process to see if any of their users are on Facebook and get those users' User IDs. This process is similar to searching for someone on Facebook using an email address, except in this case, the email addresses are hashed so no actual email addresses are exchanged. The partner is also contractually required not to use your User ID for any purpose (other than associating it with your account) until you or your friends visit the site.