[CfP] DLS 2019 - 15th Dynamic Languages Symposium, Submission Deadline June 5th

Skip to first unread message

Stefan Marr

Apr 21, 2019, 4:26:13 PM4/21/19
to smalltalk...@googlegroups.com
Call for Papers

DLS 2019 - 15th Dynamic Languages Symposium

Co-located with SPLASH 2019, October 22, Athens, Greece

Follow us @dynlangsym

Dynamic Languages play a fundamental role in today’s world of software,
from the perspective of research and practice. Languages such as
JavaScript, R, and Python are vehicles for cutting edge research as well
as building widely used products and computational tools.

The 15th Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS) at SPLASH 2019 is the
premier forum for researchers and practitioners to share research and
experience on all aspects on dynamic languages.

DLS 2019 invites high quality papers reporting original research and
experience related to the design, implementation, and applications of
dynamic languages.

Areas of interest are generally empirical studies, language design,
implementation, and runtimes, which includes but is not limited to:

- innovative language features
- innovative implementation techniques
- innovative applications
- development environments and tools
- experience reports and case studies
- domain-oriented programming
- late binding, dynamic composition, and run-time adaptation
- reflection and meta-programming
- software evolution
- language symbiosis and multi-paradigm languages
- dynamic optimization
- interpretation, just-in-time and ahead-of-time compilation
- soft/optional/gradual typing
- hardware support
- educational approaches and perspectives
- semantics of dynamic languages
- frameworks and languages for the Cloud and the IoT

Submission Details

Submissions must neither be previously published nor under review at
other events. DLS 2019 uses a single-blind, two-phase reviewing process.

Papers are assumed to be in one of the following categories:

Research Papers:
describe work that advances the current state of the art

Experience Papers:
describe insights gained from substantive practical
applications that should be of a broad interest

Dynamic Pearls:
describe a known idea in an appealing way to remind the
community and capture a reader’s interest

The program committee will evaluate each paper based on its
relevance, significance, clarity, and originality.
The paper category needs to be indicated during submission,
and papers are judged accordingly.

Papers are to be submitted electronically at https://dls19.hotcrp.com/
in PDF format. Submissions must be in the ACM SIGPLAN conference acmart
format, 10 point font, and should not exceed 12 pages. Please see full
details in the instructions for authors available at:


DLS 2019 will run a two-phase reviewing process to help authors make
their final papers the best that they can be. Accepted papers will be
published in the ACM Digital Library and will be freely available for
one month, starting two weeks before the event.

Important Deadlines

Abstract Submission: May 29, 2019
Paper Submission: June 5, 2019
First Phase Notification: July 3, 2019
Final Notifications: August 14, 2019
Camera Ready: August 28, 2019

All deadlines are 23:59 AoE (UTC-12h).

AUTHORS TAKE NOTE: The official publication date is the date the
proceedings are made available in the ACM Digital Library. This date
may be up to two weeks prior to the first day of your conference.
The official publication date affects the deadline for any patent
filings related to published work.

Program Committee

Alexandre Bergel, University of Chile
Carl Friedrich Bolz-Tereick, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
Chris Seaton, Oracle Labs
David Chisnall, Microsoft Research
Elisa Gonzalez Boix, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Gregor Richards, University of Waterloo
Guido Chari, Czech Technical University
Hannes Payer, Google
James Noble, Victoria University of Wellington
Jeremy Singer, University of Glasgow
Joe Gibbs Politz, University of California San Diego
Juan Fumero, The University of Manchester
Julien Ponge, Red Hat
Mandana Vaziri, IBM Research
Manuel Serrano, Inria
Marc Feeley, Université de Montréal
Mark Marron, Microsoft Research
Na Meng, Virginia Tech
Nick Papoulias, Université Grenoble Alpes
Richard Roberts, Victoria University of Wellington
Sam Tobin-Hochstadt, Indiana University
Sarah Mount, Aston University
Sébastien Doeraene, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
William Cook, University of Texas at Austin

Program Chair

Stefan Marr, University of Kent, United Kingdom
Stefan Marr
School of Computing, University of Kent

Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages