Invitation to Webinar Series

7 views
Skip to first unread message

Sujith Raman Pillai Indusekharan Nair

unread,
Sep 16, 2021, 10:52:45 AM9/16/21
to
Dear Colleagues,

As a part of a joint initiative between IIT Madras, India, and Potsdam Institute for Climate Research (PIK) Germany, Prof. Jürgen Kurths and I are organizing an online seminar series. The website is ctcs-iitm.com
The aim of the Seminar Series is to disseminate the state-of-the-art in complex systems theory. We intend to bring together experts ranging from a wide variety of fields such as physics, ecology, climate science, engineering, who have bridged scientific disciplines and led the way in developing and applying aspects of complex systems theory to real-life problems. This Series will present an opportunity to foster collaborations and promote interactions among young researchers and experts. The series will feature plenary lectures by eminent researchers from different areas of nonlinear dynamics and complex systems theory.

The following is the schedule of the lecture series:

1. Prof. Jürgen Kurths (PIK Germany) - September 27, 2021

2. Prof. Kazuyuki Aihara (University of Tokyo) - October 25, 2021

3. Prof. Edward Ott (University of Maryland) - November 29, 2021

4. Prof. Steve Brunton (University of Washington) - January 31, 2022

5. Dr. Louis Pecora (Naval Research Laboratory, Washington DC) - February 28, 2022.

6. Prof. Katharina Krischer (TU Munich) – March 28, 2022

7. Dr. Viola Priesemann (Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization, Göttingen, Germany) - May 30, 2022


The first talk by Prof. Kurths will be about exploring the predictability of extreme climate events via a complex network approach. The talk will be at 7 am in California, 10 am Eastern Time (New York), 4 pm in Germany, 7:30 pm in India, and 11 pm in Japan. More details can be found at www.ctcs-iitm.com.


The seminars are free for everyone. You can register for the seminar series through this form -

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSegH_dMH2IYufNC2-MMW8Oo4Uflih3AR4vM6F-_K0qdUCwjCA/viewform?usp=send_form

We also request you to kindly circulate the information regarding this webinar series among your colleagues and students at your institute.

We look forward to seeing you at the talks!



Thanks, and with warm regards,

Kurths and Sujith



Jürgen Kurths
Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK), Potsdam, Germany

R. I. Sujith
Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai, India​




Dr. R. I. Sujith
D. Srinivasan Chair Professor, Dept. of Aerospace Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Madras
Chennai 600036, India
http://www.ae.iitm.ac.in/~sujith
https://twitter.com/SujithRI
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages