CALL D2
Rule 10 On Opposite Tacks
Rule 16.2 Changing Course, Opposite Tacks
Question
On a windward leg in light winds, X on starboard and A on port are on converging
courses. At approximately three lengths from X, A bears away to avoid X. X then
bears away, so that the boats remain on a collision course. Both A and X continue
to bear away, until they finally pass one another with the wind approximately
abeam. A protests. What should the call be?
Answer
Penalize X. After the start rule 16.2 prohibits a starboard tack boat from changing
course if that requires a port tack boat, that is keeping clear by sailing to pass
astern of her, to have to change course immediately to continue to keep clear.
When X alters course between position 1 and 2, A does not have to make an
immediate change of course, so no rule is broken.
When X alters course between positions 2 and 3, she breaks rule 16.2. Boat A was
keeping clear by sailing to pass astern of X, but after X’s latest change of course A
has to change course immediately to continue to keep clear.
When the wind is stronger or the boats are moving faster, if X performs a similar
manoeuvre she will break rule 16.2 when further from A.
CALL L3
Rule 10 On Opposite Tacks
Rule 14 Avoiding Contact
Rule 16.2 Changing Course
Rule D1.2(a) Rules Between Team-Mates
Question 1
On a beat to windward, X is ahead of A on port tack. Y is on starboard tack on a
collision course with X. A is keeping clear by sailing to pass astern of Y. When 3
lengths from X, Y bears away to a collision course with A. A tacks and protests.
What should the call be?
Answer 1
When Y changes course A does not immediately need to change course, so Y does
not break rule 16.2. No penalty.
Question 2
When Y passes astern of X, there is contact. A protests. What should the call be?
Answer 2
When there is contact between team-mates, the one that has broken a rule is
penalized (rule D1.2(a) does not apply because there is contact). In this case X
breaks rule 10. Penalize X.
CALL C1
Rule 11 Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1 Changing Course
Rule 17 On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Part 2 Section C, Preamble, When Rules do not Apply
Question
Before the starting signal A establishes an overlap from clear astern to leeward of
X and Y. After the start A luffs above close-hauled to pass the leeward starting
mark. X immediately luffs to try to keep clear, but makes contact with team-mate
Y who is also trying to keep clear. Y protests. What should the call be?
Answer
Rule 18 does not apply at a starting mark when boats are approaching it to start
(Section C Preamble). Because A establishes the overlap from clear astern within
two of her hull lengths, she may not sail above her proper course after the starting
signal. (A boat has no proper course before the starting signal.) In this case A’s
proper course is to luff to pass the mark. Provided A complies with rule 16.1 when
she luffs, A does not break a rule.
Rule 16.1 requires that, when A changes course, she must give X and Y room to
keep clear. If Y was keeping clear of X, but is now unable to do so because of X’s
luff to keep clear of A, then A's alteration of course breaks rule 16.1. Penalize A.
However if Y is so close to X that she is not keeping clear when A starts to luff, or
if Y responds late or not enough when X changes course to keep clear of A, then Y
fails to keep clear and breaks rule 11. Penalize Y.
When a right-of-way boat subject to rule 16 changes course, she must give any
keep clear boat affected by this change of course room to keep clear.
--
Sarah Deeds ~ Architect
deedsdesign
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
1502 Walnut Street Suite C
Berkeley, CA 94709 USA
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
510 407 0416- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
www.deedsdesign.com