Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Rule-Inquiry

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Alexander J. Chien

unread,
Dec 23, 1994, 6:26:55 PM12/23/94
to
In article <gyroD18...@netcom.com> gy...@netcom.com (Scott L. Burson) writes:
>So yes, absolutely, the ball may go off the side of the table. I used this to
>good effect when playing a left-hander in Las Vegas -- I was serving from my
>backhand corner, and he was positioning himself near his backhand corner,
>leaving his forehand side of the table quite open. I served a number of
>sidespin/backspin balls very short to his forehand -- between the angle and
>the spin, that serve goes almost straight off the side of the table. He had
>real trouble getting to them. (A lefty did this to me once too -- it seems to
>be a good serve when playing an opposite-handed player.)
>
>-- Scott
>

Hi Scott -
And dont forget to mix in fast topspin/no-spin serves into a lefty's
backhand to complement the wide forehand serves. Lefty's will do it to us
right handers - it's only right we do it back. :)

-Alex

Scott D. Yelich

unread,
Dec 23, 1994, 11:29:24 PM12/23/94
to

Damn! Just when I think I've learned the rules ...

>>>>> "Scott" == Scott L Burson <gy...@netcom.com> writes:

Scott> The ONLY rule in singles governing the path of the ball once
Scott> served is that the ball must touch first the server's side of
Scott> the table and then the receiver's side, without touching the
Scott> net or its supports (if it does touch the net or its supports,
Scott> it's a let).

Wait!? You mean if the ball hits the net it's a let no matter what?
or does it have to hit the net/support and THEN the opponents side.

I assume it has to hit the opponents side. Please clarify and verify.

Scott

GIANT chinese

unread,
Dec 24, 1994, 1:06:38 PM12/24/94
to
In <SCOTT.94D...@sfi.santafe.edu> sc...@santafe.edu writes:

The rules are very clear in that point. The serve is a let if the serve
is correct in every way (i.e. first touching your side of the table, then
the opponent's, the ball has to be tossed correctly, and hit correctly,
etc.) and the ball touches in the proces the net.
It's definetely(?) not enough for a let if the ball touches the net.

I hope this helps.


> Scott

Scott L. Burson

unread,
Dec 24, 1994, 2:26:41 PM12/24/94
to

Sorry, I was a little too cryptic there. You are correct: in order to be a
let it has to hit the opponent's side as well.

-- Scott

0 new messages