Songwriters Showcase Next Week At Bluebird Cafe, hosted by USA Songwriting Competition

Skip to first unread message


May 14, 2011, 11:59:08 AM5/14/11
Winners of the 15th annual USA Songwriting Competition will perform at
the world famous "Bluebird Café" in Nashville, TN on 6.00pm, May 5,
2011, featuring Ken Hirsch, who won first prize in the Pop category of
the competition as well as the Overall Second Prize Winner. Ken Hirsch
and co-writers Rosie Casey, Peter Roberts & Hillary Podell of Los
Angeles, CA won first prize in the Pop category as well as Overall
second Prize with their song "Is that So Bad". Ken Hirsch is a
prolific songwriter with several hits on the charts and is well known
for his number one hit "I've Never Been To Me". "I've Never Been To
Me" has also become a classic hit and is a mainstay on Classic Pop,
Soft Rock and easy listening radio stations worldwide. Ken has also
written hits such as "Two Less Lonely People In The World", a top 40
hit for Air Supply which he wrote with late legendary songwriter
Howard Greenfield. Ken Hirsch has his songs recorded by music legends
such as: Barbra Streisand, Celine Dion, Stevie Wonder, Dolly Parton.
Ray Charles and Mary J. Blige. Ken will be performing a medley of hios
hits and co-writer Rosie Casey will be doing a cameo performance on
their winning song and the song that was placed in the finals.

Other songwriters performing include Nashville residents:
Sherri Gough (1st Prize - Lyrics, 15th USA Songwriting Competition)
Chaise Flanders (1st Prize - Country, 15th USA Songwriting
Chris Volpe (Honorable Mention Winner, 11th USA Songwriting
Tom Schreck (Double Finalist, 15th USA Songwriting Competition)
Jenn Bostic (Honorable Mention Winner, 15th USA Songwriting
Katie Miner (Finalist, 15th USA Songwriting Competition)

Other performers are from out of town: Liz Longley (Honorable Mention
Winner, 15th USA Songwriting Competition) from Boston, MA. This event
is hosted by Brian Austin Jones, a Nashville representative of USA
Songwriting Competition.

Entries for the 16th Annual USA Songwriting Competition are currently
being accepted. The USA Songwriting Competition has a long history of
having winners getting success, recording and publishing contracts,
have their songs placed on the charts as well as having their songs
placed on film and television. The 2010 winner won 2 Grammy Awards
this year, 2009 First Prize winner was signed to Universal Records.
2005 First Prize winner was signed to Interscope Records the year
after she won and had her winning song hit top 40 on the Billboard
Charts, her latest album hit Top 10 on the Billboard 200 Album charts
this summer. 2007 Overall Grand Prize Winner had his winning song hit
#10 on the Billboard Dance Charts. Judges include A&R managers from
the "big 4" record companies: Universal, Warner, EMI and SONY Music.
Past year's winner include Grammy winner Alannah Myles, mega-hit
songwriter Ken Hirsch and up-and-coming songwriter ASON.

Sponsors of the 16th Annual Competition are: New Music Weekly, Sony,
Recording Magazine, Premier Guitar Magazine, Audio-Technica, Ableton,
D'Addario Strings, Presonus, Imageline Software, Acoustica, Sonoma
Wireworks, Intellitouch Tuners, SongFrame Software, Rockstar Texting,
Acoustic Café Radio Program,,,
Loggins Promotion, Reverbnation, Broadjam, Sirius XM Radio and
Sonicbids. Entries are accepted from now through May 31, 2011.

For more information, visit:

Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages