MECCG Rules Digest 550 >From:
Ho...@aol.com >Subject: Squatter Decks >Actually I rather like the idea of being able to tap out >characters that exceed the permissible level, also requiring them >not to participate in the site phase. I did notice that you can >play Mouth and exceed the limit but be forced to return it to your >hand at the end of the org. phase, however if you play a long >event that prevents the discard or removal of any card then the >illegal move stands I assume and the Mouth even stays in play. Is >this interpretation correct? Returning The Mouth to your hand is a game rule, not a discard effect. It cannot be prevented. >I noticed that there is a ruling that protected wizard havens are >only surface sites if deep mines is actually played. I would >assume that would also be true of the dwarf holds, when the Balrog >actually plays the associated under deeps site, but it is only an >assumption. Can we get a ruling on this please Van. I'm getting the official ruling from ICE. In the meantime, remember The Balrog rules suppliment says that "for the purpose of playing hazards, a Free-hold is never considered to be the surface site of an Under-deeps site." ------------------------------ >From:
Ho...@aol.com >Subject: Irresistable force? >I noticed there are attacks which state they cannot be cancelled. >What happens if they are played on a site which states that all >attacks against a company are cancelled? Which takes priority? Can you give me an example? I can not think of where this would happen. ------------------------------ >From: Julian Wilson <
Micha...@xtra.co.nz> >Subject: Trolls who are trolls and trolls who are not >Why does Great Troll have the keyword "Troll", but Cave Troll does >not? Well you see, the Great Troll is great so he _earned_ the Troll keyword, whereas the Cave Troll isn't so great... In other words, I don't have a clue. ------------------------------ >From: "Andy Fredricksen \(ECA\)" <
a-an...@microsoft.com> >Subject: [VAN / Ick] - Peril Returned >Ok: Doors of Night is in play. I play Will of Sauron, and later >Peril Returned. Then my opponent Twilights DoN. Do WoS & PR keep >each other in play, or are both discarded along with DoN? >WoS: "Discard this card when Doors of Night leaves play, or when >any play deck is exhausted. When this card is discarded, all >hazard long-events are discarded." >PR: "If GoM is not in play, DoN is considered to be in play." >Since DoN was not removed via GoM, I'd imagine WoS is preserved, >but I'd like the Official Word.. Apologies if this has been >covered, like 2 years ago. Peril Returned will keep the Will of Sauron in play. The Will of Sauron will keep Peril Returned in play. ------------------------------ >From: "Kenneth Switzer" <
stken...@hotmail.com> >Subject: A Game Q's [Van/Ick] >A question for you all. >If I defeat the Balrog of Moria, does that eliminate the Balrog >Auto's at the Under-Gates? I thought I remembered that being >ruled somewhere, but I rather ask to get a ruling instead of >relying on my memory (who am I again??) Yes, from the Under-Gates Card, "If Balrog of Moria is in play or if it or Durin's Bane has been defeated, the first automatic attack is canceled." ------------------------------ Van Norton MECCG NetRep