Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[MECCG] Ruling Digest 585

116 views
Skip to first unread message

Van Norton

unread,
Jul 20, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/20/99
to
Ruling Digest 585

>From: <pall...@bigfoot.de>
>Subject: Fallen Wizard Questions
>
>I have a lot of questions regarding playing a Fallen Wizard
>
>May I use Secrets Books (Minion Minor Item) to untap a Hero free-
>or borderhold ?

No, hero resources cannot target a minion site.

>May I play as a Minor Item Secrets Books at a Hero free- or
>borderhold and a Fallen Wizard Haven ?

Hero site, no. Fallen Wizard Haven, yes.

>May I play Cup of Farewell at a site which is now a Fallen Wizard
>Haven (because of playing Hidden Haven, Mischief in a Mean Way,
>Chambers of the Royal Court ...) ?

Yes.

>May I use Fireworks to untap a Hero free- or borderhold and also
>for Minnion free- or borderhold ?

Fireworks can only target hero sites.

>I played Arwen and Gandalfs friend. This means I need only 1
>point of influence to control Arwen. Then I play Luthiens Choice
>and Arwen now has a +2 mind. How many points of influence do I
>need to control Arwen now ?

1 Influence. Gandalfs Friend reduces the influence needed to
control the character to 1.

>May I use Focus Palantir to use a Hero Palantir and align Palantir
>to use a Minion Palantir ?

No. Hero resources may not target minion items and vice versa.

>May I use A Chance Meeting to bring a Minnion or Agent Character
>into play ?

All except Orcs and Trolls. Minion characters are considered heros
for Fallen Wizards.

>May I use Old Prejudice to triple all standard modifications for
>influence checks against hero factions ?

Yes. It targets the influence check.

>I played Hidden Haven and Guarded Haven to change a site to a
>Protected Fallen Wizard Haven. Now I have to discard a Stage card,
>because of playing Echoes of the Songs. When I removed Hidden
>Haven, is the site still a Protected Fallen Wizard Haven ?

The site is protected, but it is no longer a Wizard Haven. Guarded
Haven only provides protection. Hidden Haven only provides the
Wizard Haven. You can remove either card but you lose it's effect.

------------------------------
>From: Kham...@aol.com
>Subject: Re: Fallen Wizard Questions
>
>I also have a question on the technicalities. Here they are
>1) Can you play "Gandalf's Friend" on ANY character (regardless of
>mind) or do they still have to have a mind of 5?

Any character. However, it still does not allow you to play
characters with mind greater than 5.

>2) If I play a guarded haven on a hidden haven, does that mean the
>site is never discarded or returned to the location deck?

No. It is still discarded normally.

>3) Can minions play hero allies and vice versa?

Yes, if they belong to a Fallen Wizard. The requirement is that
hero items be played at hero sites and minion items at minion sites.

>4)Am I correct when I believe a minion can't play a hero faction,
>and vice versa?

Fallen Wizard minions can play hero factions. Ringwriath/Balrog
Minions cannot.

>5) Can an overt orc fallen-wizard company have more than one
>leader?

Not normally.

>6) Can I play "Fellowship" on a FW covert company? Can I play
>"Host of Bats" on a FW overt company?

Yes on both if the other requirements of the cards are met.

------------------------------
>From: <pall...@bigfoot.de>
>Subject: Questions, Questions, Questions
>
>today I have a lot of questions.
>
>1.) Great Secrets Buried There
>
>May I choise a minor item to to place of to the side under this
>card ? Can I use Marvels Told/Voices of Malice/Ancient Secrets to
>destroy GSBT? What will then happen to the item ?

Yes, you can place a minor item under Great Secrets. If you discard
the Great Secrets the item under it will be discarded.

>2.) A Chance Meeting
>
>May I use this card to bring my wizard in play ? And what will be
>the amount of his mind ? May I use ACM at any time during my turn
>(during movement hazard phase to assign the new character a
>strike; will this increase the number of hazards) ? May I play a
>second character with ACM during organisation phase ?

No, you can't use A Chance Meeting to bring in Wizards. You can
only play A Chance Meeting when you are _at_ a site, normally, the
Untap, Organization, Site and End of Turn phases.

>3.) We have come to kill
>
>May I use this card to bring my ringwraith in play ? And what will
>be the amount of his mind ? May I use ACM at any time during my
>turn (during movement hazard phase to assign the new character a
>strike; will this increase the number of hazards) ? May I play a
>character (during organisaton phase) at any shadow-, borderhold
>and ruin & lairs also if the site is not in play ?

No, We have Come to Kill can't be used to bring in a Ringwraith.
The same restriction applies that you must be at the site.

>May I discard an item during my turn (to decrease the coruption
>points) ?

No.

------------------------------
>From: "Gary Devouges" <gary.d...@sympatico.ca>
>Subject: Question about Awaken Defenders

> If awaken defenders is in play and I play a "whole villages
>roused", is the attack normal or detainment: one card says it
>becomes normal, the othersays it is detainment.

The attack is normal.

> Does it matter if one is played before the other ?

No.

------------------------------
>From: "Jean-Paul Keulen" <keu...@phys.leidenuniv.nl>
>Subject: [Van] A question or two (The Hunt + Pilfer)
>
>Two questions:
>
>If Alatar has a Noble Hound, does this affect The Hunt in any way?
>Is the Hound part of Alatar's one character company because he's
>not a character but an ally? Does it has to face a strike from the
>hazard creature Alatar is hunting down?

Noble Hound does not affect 'The Hunt.' Alatar is alone against the
creature.

>Can an agent use Pilfer Anything Unwatched the turn he/she came
>into play?

Yes.

------------------------------
>From: <pall...@bigfoot.de>
>Subject: Ringwraith Follower
>
>Today I have the following questions:
>
>1.) I have The Witch King at a Darkhaven. When may I now play
>another Ringwraith as a Ringwraith Follower ? Only during the
>organization phase ?

Yes to both questions.

>2.) During my site phase I give The Witch King a Black Horse. May
>I now play another Ringwraith follower during the site phase
>(because the card text says Each Black Horse in your Ringwraith's
>Company allows you to play one Ringwraith Follower) and give these
>Follower also a Black Horse ?

No, you may only play the followers during the org. phase.

>3.) May I duplicate a Black Horse to a Ringwraith Follower or a
>Ringwraith ?

Yes.

>4.) May I play Black Horse at an already tapped site ?

Yes. Since tapping the site is not a cost, the site may already be
tapped.

>5.) Does every Ringwraith Follower and Ringwraith need a Black
>Horse to move in Black Rider mode (because the card says every
>Ringwraith and not Ringwraith Follower )?

Yes, every wraith must have at least one Black Horse.

>6.) May a Ringwraith Follower use his or her direct influence to
>influence a character, a faction or an item ?

Yes.

>7.) Do the rules for Ringwraiths at MELE page 59 apply also for
>Ringwraith Follower ?

Yes.
>8.) Does a Ringwraith Follower lose his or her skills ?

No.

>9.) May a Ringwraith Follower use his or her unleashed cards ?

No.

------------------------------
>From: "Andy Fredricksen \(ECA\)" <a-an...@microsoft.com>
>Subject: [Van] Q: LDR
>
>Long Dark Reach, a favorite of mine since I first saw it (when
>Randy Kintner used it to beat the living shit out of me a year or
>so ago), says:
>
>"...One revealed Nazgul, Dragon, or a non-unique creature of your
>choice immediately attacks the company (regardless of its
>playability requirements). The creature must be playable in some
>region besides Coastal Sea."
>
>Since Earcaraxe can be keyed to Andrast--with DoN in play, a
>requirement the first quoted sentence above leads me to believe I
>can ignore for these purposes--can she be played using LDR?

If Doors of Night was in play, Earcaraxe could be used with Long
Dark Reach.

------------------------------
>From: Robert Warren <RNRW...@worldnet.att.net>
>Subject: Q about Unhappy Blows
>
>Does the player pull back all the applicable Characters with a
>mind 'equals or exceeds' the (roll -5(7)) in the company, or does
>the player only have to pull back one of the Characters?

The player selects character or characters whose total mind meets
the discard requirement.

------------------------------

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep

0 new messages