Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[MECCG] Rules Digest 559

16 views
Skip to first unread message

Van Norton

unread,
Mar 5, 1999, 3:00:00 AM3/5/99
to
Rules Digest 559

>From: Chrisu Jaehnl <chri...@sbox.tu-graz.ac.at>
>Subject: hi there
>
>The question was:
>When I play No escape from my magic, what happens:
>- Do I have to roll dice to do anything (to get to the site)?
>- do I have to roll dice to move from the site (the next turn)

Yes, you have to roll to do anything at the site. You do not have
to return to your site of origin. You will arrive at your
destination site, you just may not be able to do anything
during the site phase.

You have to make the roll any time you move through one
of the affected regions. You do not have to make the roll if
you don't move.

>- when it is played on a faction: how long does it stay there?
>- this turn?
>- this and the next turn?
>- the whole game?

It is a permanent event. It stays until either it or the faction goes
out-of-play.

------------------------------
>From: Joe Walker <jwa...@dsorkin.wcc.lucent.com>
>Subject: [VAN/ICH] River
>
>Hmmm I thought you had to tap a ranger for each river played (regardless
>of the target of the card).. can we get a ruling on this?

I think at one time or another River has been ruled both ways. My ruling is
that one ranger can tap to satisfy any number of rivers currently played on
the same site. Ichabod, have I messed up three times in one week? ;-)

------------------------------
>From: Stephan Schroeder <ste...@li.net>
>Subject: half-orcs question
>
>This question is related to the Fallen Saruman deck I posted. Can I use
>Half-Orc character skills to fulfill Hero Resources in a covert company?
>For example, can Sly Southerner use Concealment or Stealth? From a reading
>of the rules it seems like no, but on an intuitive level this seems like
>something that you should be able to do.

No, you can't use a half-orc for hero resources.

>Could a Half-Orc in such a company use Elven Rope or Elven Cloak? Again,
>it seems like no from the Orc and Troll rules in White Hand, but I want to
>be sure.

No again.

------------------------------
>From: Gndlf...@aol.com
>Subject: DRAGONS!!!!
>
>an example of my question: can i play daelomin ahunt on someone at the
>windthrone? the card doesnt say "and sites in those regions" but i thought
>maybe that was a useless clarification thats been dumped since
METW...thanks

OK, you can play Daelomin ahunt on any company at anytime during their
movement/hazard phase. It is a long event so its effects are global.
However,
the hunting dragon will only attack moving companies. So even it a company
is in the effected regions, but doesn't move, it is safe.

------------------------------
>From: Celed...@aol.com
>Subject: Rebal Talk...
>
>I had a company that consisted of Galadriel and Elrond. Galadriel
controlled
>Haldir, and rebal talk was played on Haldir. Haldir has a mind of 4, so he
>could not be controlled by Direct Influence. But I have already used up my
>pool of 20 Direct influenece, So now do i discard Haldir, or what?

Nothing happens until your next organization phase. If you can't control all
Your characters by the end of your next organization phase, you have to
discard
The follower so that your general influence covers all your remaining
characters.

------------------------------

CORRECTION:
Two in one week, I'm on a roll. ;-)
After much study of the Dark Minions rules insert and previous rulings, I
must reverse my ruling on creatures made playable by tapping an agent.
These creatures are clearly 'played at' the site which is the same as being
keyed to the site. I am sorry for the confusion this ruling caused.

If anyone played games using my previous ruling, I would be interested to
here whether you believe it had a positive or negative impact on the
game. Private emails are prefered.

Good gaming,
Van Norton


Van Norton

unread,
Mar 6, 1999, 3:00:00 AM3/6/99
to
CORRECTION

>>From: Joe Walker <jwa...@dsorkin.wcc.lucent.com>
>>Subject: [VAN/ICH] River
>>
>>Hmmm I thought you had to tap a ranger for each river played (regardless
>>of the target of the card).. can we get a ruling on this?
>
>I think at one time or another River has been ruled both ways. My ruling is
>that one ranger can tap to satisfy any number of rivers currently played on
>the same site. Ichabod, have I messed up three times in one week? ;-)

Ah . . . yes. You must tap a ranger for each river. You can't do one
action to pay two costs.

[Some days it just doesn't pay to log on to the computer <sigh>]

Van Norton
NetDummy

0 new messages