>From: Eric Silverman <sil...@saber.towson.edu>
>Subject: Couple of rules questions:
>
>1. Timing question: Someone plays an assassin on me, I respond
>with REady to his will, he wants to respond with rank upon rank so
>that the assassin will have 2 strikes and RthW will not work to
>stop the assassin. Does this play work?
Rank upon Rank is passive. It will never make an Assassin immune to
Ready to His Will.
>2. Easy Balrog question: Does the Balrog give -2 to all
>corruption rolls that Characters in his company have to make like
>a ringwraith does.
Characters in the same company as the Balrog get +2 on corruption
rolls, just the same as Ringwraiths.
------------------------------
>From: Eljar Haugen <elj...@geocities.com>
>Subject: Card interpetaion problem.
>
> Does <Rolled down to the sea> force the discard of
>any Ring? Any Gold Ring Item or a Special Item that
>says "zzz ring" in the cardtext (i.e. The One Ring)?
Any card with the keyword 'Ring' can be affected by rolled down to
the sea.
------------------------------
>From: Ian.S.W...@Dartmouth.EDU (Ian S. Williams)
>Subject: one more under-deeps question
>
>So, at an underdeeps site, you can (assuming greater items are
>playable at the site) play two black maces in one turn, or a black
>mace and a high helm, for example. However, could you play two
>noldo lanterns in the same turn? My guess would be no, but i w
>asn't really sure how special items would work in this case...
Any item playable at the Underdeeps site may be played when you tap
the site playing a resource. Yes, you could play two Noldo
Lanterns.
------------------------------
>From: Eljar Haugen <elj...@geocities.com>
>Subject: FW starting company problem?
>
>If I reveal <Thrall of the Voice> as a starting stage card
>does it enable me to start with a number of characthers that
>normally would have a total of more than 20 mind?
You can never start with more than twenty unmodified mind in a
starting company regardless of other cards.
------------------------------
>From: Ian.S.W...@Dartmouth.EDU (Ian S. Williams)
>Subject: yet another question or three
>
>Is Shelob's brood playable at the Wind Throne (or Iron-hill Dwarf
>hold, etc.) against a hero or non-Balrog minion company? The Wind
>Deeps are adjacent to the Wind Throne, but there is no way for
>heroes and non-Balrog minions to go there...
Wind Throne is always a surface site for underdeeps now. Iron Hill
Dwarf Hold is never considered a surface site for playing of
hazards because it is a Freehold.
>Also, the same question about fallen wizards who don't use the
>Deep Mines: can you play Shelob's brood at their protected
>wizardhaven even if they never use the Deep Mines? I understand
>the attack would normally be cancelled anyway, but is it even
>playable in this case?
A Wizardhaven is only a surface site when Deep Mines is in play.
>Another thing I have been wondering about is regarding cards like
>old/new friendship... can a lone diplomat play old/new friendship
>for a corruption bonus? along the same vein, if a company contains
>a diplomat and other characters, can the diplomat play the card if
>he himself is making the corruption check, or only if another
>character in the company is?
He can play the Friendship cards even if he is by himself. The
diplomat can use the card even if he is making the corruption
check.
------------------------------
Van Norton
MECCG NetRep
Thought for today: "The secret to getting ahead is getting started.
The secret to getting started is breaking complex overwhelming
tasks into small manageable tasks, and then starting on the first
one." Mark Twain