From: "Gary Devouges" <gary.d...@sympatico.ca>
Subject: Starter/Standard rules questions.
> In the MELE rules book,starter rules, nothing is said about the
>sideboard: is the sideboard only used in standard rules ?.
Sideboards are only used if you are playing the game with the
standard rules.
> The rule about orc scoutc only counting as half a character is
>shown only in the standard rules: if a company is using starter
>movement, do the orc scouts still count as half ?
When you start the game, you decide whether you will be using
standard rules or starter rules. If you are using standard rules,
the orc scouts count 1/2 character for computing company size. If
you are using starter rules, orc scouts count as 1 character for
computing company size. The type of movement a company is using
within the game does not change the company size rules.
>Bringing characters in play requires that the Ringwraith be there
>but not the starter rules. Can a player use starter rules for a
>turn, just like he can use starter movement for a turn ?
No. You must use standard rules if you being the game using
standard rules.
------------------------------
From: David Cook <dc...@ubisoft.qc.ca>
Subject: RE: Rules Digest 561
>> Rules Digest 561
>>
>> >From: Ilkka Launonen <do...@nemesis.muhos.fi>
>> >Subject: Question
>> >
>> >This situation has occured in our games:
>> >
>> >In three-player-game, two are ringwraiths and one a wizard.
>> >One RW plays hazards to the wizard-player.
>> >Then that RW plays Sauron.
>>
>> You may not play Sauron unless ALL your opponents are wizard
>> players.
>>
> Question:
> What if one of your opponent is Balrog, and the rest wizard,
>can you play Sauron?
Officially, all your opponents must be wizards to play Sauron.
------------------------------
>From: "Gary Devouges" <gary.d...@sympatico.ca>
>Subject: Question about "We have come to kill"
>
> Card says a character can be brought into play under general or
>direct influence. Does this mean that during my site phase, I can
>bring a character in play at any site, with general influence,
>even if I do not have a company at that site ?
No, you must explore the site to do anything at that site during
the site phase.
------------------------------
>From: "Oskar" <os...@netreach.net>
>Subject: [Rules] - Balrog vs Balrog (and others)
>
>So I have some questions that has been bugging me. Can anybody
>help?
>
>1. So, if me and my opponent both plays Balrog, what cards are
>unplayable for me if my opponet reveals the Balrog first and what
>happens to the balrog specific cards I already have in play?
You are still a Balrog player. You can no longer use cards like
"Challenge the Power" since they require "The Balrog" to be in play
on your side. Balrog specific cards like "Gangways over the Fire"
can still be used normally.
>2. Can I bring one rw deck and one balrog deck to a general
>opponent tournement?
Sure. They are both of the same alignment.
>3. Craig/ Van? Any solutions to the "fw-squatter problem"?
Not yet.
------------------------------
>From: Ra...@sen.com
>Subject: Confused Newbie Questions:
>
>I just recently started trying to use the rules that came with the
>Challenge decks, so that I could play a minion, but I have run
>into a few confusing points.
>1) Wizard/Ring Wraith deaths. Do most people use the tournament
>rules concering this, where you have -5 MP if your wizard is
>killed? Or during social games, do you usually force an automatic
>loss?
Personally, I prefer the automatic loss. Just be certain to decide
before you start playing.
>2) The extra 5 general influence that minion players get... Is
>that used mainly for cards like the Call of the Sea or does it
>have another purpose?
It is mainly a defense against hazards and influence attempts.
>3) One line on the Fell Rider card is a bit confusing. 'Your
>ringwraith may move to a non-Darkhaven site.' Whats that supposed
>to mean? Are they usually restricted to moving to just Darkhavens,
>or does the Ringwraith get to teleport automatically to any site
>when you play Fell Rider?
To summarize Ringwraith movement effects:
A Ringwraith may only be in a company with non-Ringwraith
characters at a Darkhaven.
A Ringwraith may only move to a non-Darkhaven site through the use
of a mode card. (Black Rider, Fell Rider, etc.)
A Ringwraith may not use a site path that contains Coastal Sea
regions.
A Ringwraith's company may not use region movement or move from a
non-Darkhaven site to another non-Darkhaven site without the use of
Dwar Unleashed.
To return to your original question, a Ringwraith in Fell Rider
mode can use starter movement with no coastal seas in the site path
to move to a non-darkhaven site.
>4) For some reason, I thought minion characters could only be
>tapped by corruption checks.. Is that correct, or are they only
>tapped when they roll a tie or one less then their corruption
>total, and then discarded if its 2 less or more?
They are tapped if the tie or miss their corruption check by 1.
They are eliminated if they fail their corruption check by more
than one.
>5) Detainment. I understand the concept of detainment, but one
>part is a bit confusing. 'Any Orc, Troll, Undead, or Man attack
>keyed to Shadow-land' is considered detainment. Is that just for
>Minions or for Heroes too?
Just minions.
>I'm sure some of these are pretty dumb questions, but the minion
>rules in the challenge deck rulebooks are pretty vauge. I dont
>have a Lidless Eye rulebook. Thanks in advance for all the
>assistance :)
They look like good questions to me.
------------------------------
>From: Ra...@sen.com
>Subject: Records Unread Question
>
>Does the character with Records Unread have to be at the Shadow
>Hold that he wishes to untap or can he discard the item to untap
>any Shadow Hold?
According to the CRF, you must be at the site you wish to untap.
------------------------------
Van Norton
MECCG NetRep
Moving on, here's a few questions:
1) Is it possible to tap a site, leave the site, and return to it again
before you have exhausted your play deck? (For instance, to use the Moria
site as a 'stopping point' as you travel from say, Bree, to Buhr Widu -- if
I've already tapped Moria on a previous turn). I'm not asking if I can play
anything there, just use it as a 'waypoint'.
2) Related question: I enter an untapped Moria and proceed to tap it during
the site phase. Next turn, I head down to the under-deeps beneath Moria, and
take care of deep dark business. In the /following/ turn, I'm ready to leave
the deeps. Is Moria now off-limits to me since I tapped it before I went
down, or can I travel through it to return to the surface?
3) Same question as 2, but add "What if I've played 'Ancient Stairs'?"
Now, on to some stuff that's related to MECCG, but not in the 'game' sense.
1) I've been looking for the Third Age CotD archives, but they seem to have
vanished? Is anyone archiving them somewhere?
2) I've also been trying to locate the MECCG mailing list, but can't seem to
find it's new home, assuming it has one.
3) What is the most recent version of the CRF? (I want to make sure I've
found the most up to date version.)
That's most of the stuff I can think of off the top of my head. Thanks!
--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
be...@bears-cave.com {} -= Doyce =- {} www.bears-cave.com
...it's a rare and fickle thing.
> 1) Is it possible to tap a site, leave the site, and return to it again
> before you have exhausted your play deck? (For instance, to use the Moria
> site as a 'stopping point' as you travel from say, Bree, to Buhr Widu -- if
> I've already tapped Moria on a previous turn). I'm not asking if I can play
> anything there, just use it as a 'waypoint'.
Nope. Technically, when you leave a tapped site, it goes to your
discard pile. When you play sites you are moving to, those can only
come from your Location deck. Since you can't have a second Moria in
your location deck, you can't go back once you've taped and discarded
it. (Until you cycle you deck, that is).
> 2) Related question: I enter an untapped Moria and proceed to tap it during
> the site phase. Next turn, I head down to the under-deeps beneath Moria, and
> take care of deep dark business. In the /following/ turn, I'm ready to leave
> the deeps. Is Moria now off-limits to me since I tapped it before I went
> down, or can I travel through it to return to the surface?
You cannot return to Moria. The reason is exactly the same as it was
for 1). It doesn't matter how you're attempting to move, if you don't
have the site in your location deck, you can't go there.
> 3) Same question as 2, but add "What if I've played 'Ancient Stairs'?"
I *think* this is legal. Basically, the site simply isn't discarded
until you decide whether or not to return to it.
> Now, on to some stuff that's related to MECCG, but not in the 'game' sense.
>
> 1) I've been looking for the Third Age CotD archives, but they seem to have
> vanished? Is anyone archiving them somewhere?
Hm. Hwtaddya know. I had it bookmarked, but it's gone now. No clue
where it went.
> 2) I've also been trying to locate the MECCG mailing list, but can't seem to
> find it's new home, assuming it has one.
People ask that a lot...and I don't know the answer. VanNorton (The
netrep) should be by soon with the answer to that one.
> 3) What is the most recent version of the CRF? (I want to make sure I've
> found the most up to date version.)
14.
That brings up a question I've been meaning to ask. If you enter a
site, get an item, faction, whatever and tap the site, can you go in again
next turn(without leaving it) and play one of those 'play at a tapped or
untapped' things? Or did you have to do it the same turn you went in for
the item, faction, etc.? Thanks.
--
-Billy
ve...@usit.net
As long as you're at a site where it's legal to play something, you can
do so. (during the site phase after facing auto-attacks, of course)
So if I'm a minion, and I have tapped Moria by playing a Greater Item
there, I can stick around for another turn and play any of a whole bunch
of items/factions/allies playable at a tapped shadowhold. (Blasting
Fire, Snaga-Hai, Black Bats, etc)
So, the quick answer to your question; you do not need to play
everything "playable at the site" on the same turn.
This is how "Squatter Decks" work.. sitting still at a relatively low
number of sites and picking resources off the ground.
Billy wrote:
> That brings up a question I've been meaning to ask. If you enter a
> site, get an item, faction, whatever and tap the site, can you go in again
> next turn(without leaving it) and play one of those 'play at a tapped or
> untapped' things? Or did you have to do it the same turn you went in for
> the item, faction, etc.? Thanks.
> --
> -Billy
> ve...@usit.net
You can play a card(s) that are playable at Tapped or Untapped sites only. You
must also face any auto-attacks again before you can play a card.
Kenny Switzer (aka Dolmant)
Doyce Testerman wrote:
>
> After being gone for quite awhile, it's great to come back and see that
> there's still support out there for the Middle Earth CCG... just, not
> exactly where I'm used to looking for it.
>
> Moving on, here's a few questions:
>
> 1) Is it possible to tap a site, leave the site, and return to it again
> before you have exhausted your play deck? (For instance, to use the Moria
> site as a 'stopping point' as you travel from say, Bree, to Buhr Widu -- if
> I've already tapped Moria on a previous turn). I'm not asking if I can play
> anything there, just use it as a 'waypoint'.
No. Once the site is in the discard pile, it cannot be used.
> 2) Related question: I enter an untapped Moria and proceed to tap it during
> the site phase. Next turn, I head down to the under-deeps beneath Moria, and
> take care of deep dark business. In the /following/ turn, I'm ready to leave
> the deeps. Is Moria now off-limits to me since I tapped it before I went
> down, or can I travel through it to return to the surface?
Unless the site is still in play (you left someone upstairs in Moria)
the
site is off-limits and you have to go traveling to find another surface
site.
> 3) Same question as 2, but add "What if I've played 'Ancient Stairs'?"
>
Ancient Stair must be played when you are at an untapped adjacent site
to an underdeeps site.
> Now, on to some stuff that's related to MECCG, but not in the 'game' sense.
>
> 1) I've been looking for the Third Age CotD archives, but they seem to have
> vanished? Is anyone archiving them somewhere?
They are around. Check Chris Cable's site:
www.mdi.net/~chscable
> 2) I've also been trying to locate the MECCG mailing list, but can't seem to
> find it's new home, assuming it has one.
Send an email to:
metw-su...@silent-tower.org
Nothing is required in the subject or body.
> 3) What is the most recent version of the CRF? (I want to make sure I've
> found the most up to date version.)
CRF 14 is the most recent. It's on my website at:
www.mindspring.com/~vnorton
Van Norton
MECCG NetRep
Billy wrote:
>
> Mark Jones wrote in message <36F245C6...@mindless.com>...
> >Doyce Testerman wrote:
> >>
> >> 1) Is it possible to tap a site, leave the site, and return to it again
> >> before you have exhausted your play deck? (For instance, to use the Moria
> >> site as a 'stopping point' as you travel from say, Bree, to Buhr Widu --
> if
> >> I've already tapped Moria on a previous turn). I'm not asking if I can
> play
> >> anything there, just use it as a 'waypoint'.
> >
> >Nope. Technically, when you leave a tapped site, it goes to your
> >discard pile. When you play sites you are moving to, those can only
> >come from your Location deck. Since you can't have a second Moria in
> >your location deck, you can't go back once you've taped and discarded
> >it. (Until you cycle you deck, that is).
>
> That brings up a question I've been meaning to ask. If you enter a
> site, get an item, faction, whatever and tap the site, can you go in again
> next turn(without leaving it) and play one of those 'play at a tapped or
> untapped' things? Or did you have to do it the same turn you went in for
> the item, faction, etc.? Thanks.
You can explore the same site turn after turn. You must face the
auto-atttack
each time you enter the site.
Van Norton
MECCG NetRep