Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[MECCG] Rules Digest 563

88 views
Skip to first unread message

Van Norton

unread,
Mar 22, 1999, 3:00:00 AM3/22/99
to
Rules Digest 563

>From: Gndlf...@aol.com
>Subject: agent questions
>
>an extremely easy question....what do agents count as in a hero
>deck? hazards or are they just minion cards? also, when do you
>first play an agent and can you attack someone without having a
>site card(like assumed to be at their home site)?

In hero decks, agents are hazards. You can reveal an agent at
his/her home site without having the site card. If you don't have
the site card, the agent is discarded at the end of the turn.

------------------------------
>From: Gndlf...@aol.com
>Subject: More agent questions
>
>ok Nimloth says she can move to havens...but agents can only
>attack in the company enters the site...so how does this work at
>havens? do they have to be playing a card like wizards ring or
>waybread or are they considered to enter automatically or what?

To play anything during the site phase, you must enter the site.
Some agents and certain agent hazard effects allow agents to attack
without the company entering the site.

------------------------------
>From: "Jean-Paul Keulen" <keu...@phys.leidenuniv.nl>
>Subject: Healing Herbs question
>
>I have a question about Healing Herbs...
>
>The card says: "The bearer can tap and discard this item to ..."
>
>Does that mean the bearer taps and the item gets discarded -or-
>the item gets tapped first and then discarded?

The bearer taps. The item is discarded.

------------------------------
>From: Spen...@aol.com
>Subject: Re: Rules Digest 562
>
>Van, I just wanted to make sure you haven't forgotten my question
>about what happens to hazards during CVCC. (Rulebook says hazards
>have no effect on CVCC combat.) 3 digests ago you said you would
>answer it in the next digest. I still haven't heard an answer.

No, delayed but not forgotten. Ichabod and I have been discussing
changing the rule to make it more clear. I had one wording, he
another. Ultimately, I spent an evening going through every hazard
in the game to see how they impacted each wording of the new rule.
To make a long story short [too late] here is the new ruling for
Company vs. Company combat:
Hazard effects in play that affect attacks have no effect on CVCC.

This is an errata and will be posted as a Rulings Monday on
3/22/99. The new rule will take effect 4/5/99.

Commentary:
This means that if a hazard effect directly affects an attack, it has
no effect on Company vs. Company combat. So, if the hazard says,
"All orc attacks have +1 prowess." it would have no effect. On the
other hand, if the hazard says, "All orcs have +1 prowess," it will
have normal effect.

Remember to that no hazards can be played during the site phase and
no company vs. company combat will trigger an on-guard card. So the
only hazards that would have any effect are hazard effects already in play.

The hazard "Night" is an excellent example for the new rule. The
card text reads:
"The prowess of each non-ranger Dunadan is modified by -1.
Additionally if Doors of Night is in play, the prowesses of all
attacks are are modified by +1 and the prowess of each Man and
Dunadan is modified by -1. Cannot be duplicated."

During company vs. company combat, with Doors of Night in play,
non-ranger Dunadan have a -1 prowess and additionally all Man and
Dunadan characters have an additional -1 prowess. Since the plus to
prowess directly effects attacks, it has no effect on CvC combat.

------------------------------
>From: Martin Toggweiler <mtogg...@compuserve.com>
>Subject: [Van/Ick]Forgotten Scrolls Q
>
>Forgotten Scrolls
>Hero Minor item
>.............. If its bearer is at a Ruins & Lairs, discard
>Forgotten Scrolls to make information playable at the site until
>the end of turn.
>
>Does this mean that information becomes playable at the site even
>if its already tapped, i.e. that a card which normally taps an
>info site can be played there? I think it should, otherwise this
>card is rather useless --- if you have to go to an untapped R&L
>anyway it's generally not much trouble to go to an innate
>information site.

It simply makes information playable. If the information card taps
the site, then the site needs to be untapped. This card would be
useful in a deck which requires lots of information sites or a
single information site in a region that does not normally have
information sites.

------------------------------
From: "Arco's Card Exchange" <a...@cable.a2000.nl>
Subject: RE: Question about "We have come to kill"

>>> Card says a character can be brought into play under general
>>>or direct influence. Does this mean that during my site phase,
>>>I can bring a character in play at any site, with general
>>>influence, even if I do not have a company at that site ?
>
>>No, you must explore the site to do anything at that site during
>>the site phase.
>
>I don't think playing a short event is doing something that
>requires entering the site. If you can't play WHCTK this way, you
>couldn't for instance play Withdrawn to Mordor on an Agent that
>attacks you with Near to Hear a Whisper either. I am sure there
>are more examples like this. I think the rules say that during the
>site phase a company may do nothing or enter the site and play
>items, allies, factions, certain events that state they are played
>during the site phase. But we're not talking about a company
>here, because there is no company yet. The character you play with
>WHCTK still needs to enter the site in order to score a resource
>though.

Playing We Have Come to Kill cannot be done during the site
phase at a site that is not already in play. In order to play We
Have Come to Kill during the site phase, a company must explore
the site.

------------------------------
>From: "Gary Devouges" <gary.d...@sympatico.ca>
>Subject: Question about wounded/untapped characters
>
>Hi,
> question about "Stabbed him in his sleep" .
>
>Card says "if the scout is not untapped..."
>
>Does this mean that if he is wounded, he can tap and put the card
>in his MP pile ?
>
>Is "wounded" and "untapped" equivalent in this case ?... Common
>sense says yes but......
>
>Its just that some cards specifically say "untapped/unwounded" and
>this one does not.

A character must always be in one of three states: untapped, tapped
or wounded. "If the scout is not untapped" is equivelent to
'if the scout is tapped or wounded.'

------------------------------
>From: Gndlf...@aol.com
>Subject: Funny thing happened on the way over here tonight....
>
>Can you tap in support of corruption checks at the free council?
>As well as other cards that let you "tap to modify a corruption
>check by +3" etc. thanks

Yes, but only with characters in the same company.

Yes, only resources that directly affect the corruption check may be
played during Free Council.

------------------------------
>From: Quillonthus <quill...@home.com>
>Subject: Re: Funny thing happened on the way over here tonight....
>
>Also I have my own question regarding corruption checks. Nenya is
>a short event, and the rules say that it would last until the end
>of the turn. So I play it on Galadriel during the Org phase so
>that she can pass the corruption check since she was at a Haven.
>Then I decide to move her without activating the pass a corruption
>check ability. Later that turn, I played a True Fana on Pallando
>to help against a creature. I beat it up, but I had to make a
>corruption check at -4. So I declared that I am using Nenya's
>ability to automatically pass any one corruption check. My
>opponent, however, said that this action was illegal, and that he
>was pretty sure about it. It turned out that Pallando DID get
>corrupted away, which sucks, since it was a NetMECCG league game
>too. My question is, why was my action illegal? Short Events stay
>in play until the end of the turn, and I don't see any reason I
>can't activate it any time after its play. Hope someone can help
>me with this...

The short event resolves and is immediately discarded. Nenya only
gives +2 prowess, +2 body, +2 direct influence until the
end of the turn. The corruption check clause would have also had
'until the end of the turn' if you didn't have to use it immediately.

------------------------------
>From: Sir Desert Twister <dtel...@netvision.net.il>
>Subject: Deck help required
>
>Hya all!
>Going to my first tourney soon, so I've several rules questions
>and a deck for YOU! to critique :-)
>First of all, (a) If I marvels told my own corruption card, do
>I cc with it?

Marvel's Told resolves in the order of the card. So, first you
remove the corruption card, then you make the corruption
check (without the corruption card).

> (b) Do I have to defeat the auto in order to
>play something in the site?

You must face it, but you don't have to defeat it.

------------------------------

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep


0 new messages