>From: "Gerold Feise" <sol...@physik.uni-paderborn.de>
>Subject: Q. on multible strikes
>In the starter rule leaflet there is an optional rule about letting
>one character face multiple strikes of one attack. This gives him
>a cumulative -3 prowess and he faces each strike in a separate strike
>sequence.
>
>Please consider following scenario:
>The Balrog, two orc brawler and two Mountain-maggots would like to
>Invade Their Domain at the dwarf hold of the Iron hills. For this
>they have to face 3 attacks. With the rule about multiple strikes
>mentioned above each of the orcs can sacrifice himself and (virtually)
cancel
>an attack. Making the card playable at nearly no cost as all of the
>orcs can easily be brought back into play at the adjacent underdeeps
>site.
The optional rule only allows you to face one additional strike.
------------------------------
>From: Martin Toggweiler <mtogg...@compuserve.com>
>Subject: [Van/Ick]Ruling Digest 570
>
[Snip Earlier Discussion]
>
>I had thought that copying an opposite alignment palantir had been
>ruled against too (though I don't like it), but in my archive of Ichabod's
rulings he said it was OK unless
>specifically prohibited on the card. Back in digest 37, Ichabod
>answered=
>
>the question:
>
>>1) If an appropriate character has a palantir which has the
>>ability to utilize another palantir's ability, can this ability be
>>used if the two palantiri manifestations are of opposite alignment? I
would think
>yes.
>>If no, for what reason?
>
>As long as the palantir does not specify that it only copies
>palantir of a certain alignment, the answer is yes.
Good catch. We'll use the earlier ruling.
---------
>From: Ilkka Launonen <do...@nemesis.muhos.fi>
>Subject: <Van>A few or more questions(obvious things)
>
>
> (-How many different cards there are in MECCG?)
I think 1666 sounds about right. I don't have a good way to tally
them myself.
> -If a player chooses to double Cram's CPs because of Balance, and
> discards it, should that player choose a new source?
Yes.
> -If Balance of Things becomes a perm-event, is the source choosed only
> once or every turn?
Once per corruption check.
> -Can a ringwraith be played to a site listed in We Have Come to Kill?
No.
> -When using this card, can characters be played at an under-deeps-site
> ("We have come from the mines to kill, and avenge our folk"...hmmmm)?
Yes.
------------------------------
>From: Ian.S.W...@Dartmouth.EDU (Ian S. Williams)
>Subject: a timing question
>
>Here's a question i just thought of recently relating to timing of things
in
>the game.
>Assume the situation is the following: you are playing fallen Saruman, and
he
>has the stage event Saruman's ring on him and in your discard pile (among
other
>things) are a dwarven ring and a magic ring and one of your characters has
some
>gold ring item. Can you during your end-of-turn phase play a ring test of
some
>sort, and after you roll but before you replace your ring tap Saruman's
Ring to
>get whatever ring you tested for out of your discard pile? Say for example
you
>test of form a precious gold ring and roll 11. Can you then immediately use
>Saruman's ring to get your dwarven ring from your discard pile and play it
as a
>result of the test?
No, you can not interrupt the sequence on instructions on a card.
The Timing rule you want is annotation 24.
------------------------------
>From: "Christopher A Warr" <mbbx...@mail1.mcc.ac.uk>
>Subject: News Of Doom and other questions (Van/Ick)
>
>Just a few of questions.
>
>When cards are "removed from the game" such as with News Of Doom and
>Dark Tryst, I assume they are placed in the out of play pile. Is
>that correct?
Yes.
>If so, does the rule that cards in the out of play pile are still
>considered for the purposes of uniqueness mean that once NOD has been
>played, it can not be played by another player?
Yes.
>I play a Balance Between Powers, and then in the same chain of
>effects play a second BBP, since it is not a "cannot be duplicated"
>card. Then the chain resolves. First the Second BBP resolves. Then
>the first tries to resolve, but cannot, since environments can no
>longer be played, and thus it fizzels and is placed in the discard
>pile. Is this the correct interpretation? I ask because I have been
>told that a second copy of an environment cannot be played unless it
>is targetted for removal, whereas I had believed the rule was that a
>second copy of a "cannot be duplicated" card cannot be played unless
>it is targetted for removal. Which is true?
"A card that cannot be duplicated can be played when a copy is
already in play only if the copy in play is currently being targeted
by an effect that will discard it." So, you can not play two
BBP in the same chain of effects.
>Can I play a BBP WITH a Crown Of Flowers?
Yes. Crown of Flowers must be played first. It will have no
effect on BBP.
>Can I play a Gates Of Morning WITH a COF?
No. Gates of Morning cannot be duplicated. COF would
effectively duplicate GOM.
>Can I play a Twilight WITH a COF, where the T targets the COF itself?
Twilight will cause the discard of COF. Then twilight will discard
normally.
>If T is played ON a COF (NOT WITH... e.g. by another player) before
>it resolves, does the resource played WITH it still resolve normally?
>Does this depend on whether it is a short or permanent (or long)
>event? i.e. can a T be used to cancel a Smoke Rings (say) played
>WITH a COF?
You can not have a resource with COF until it resolves. Twilight
will cancel COF so you will never have an opportunity to play
a resource with Crown of Flowers.
>Can a non-event resource be played WITH COF? (I don't have
>the card wording here... i.e. could it be played so that an item,
>faction etc. is considered to be played as if GOM is in play?)
You play a resource from your hand with Crown of Flowers. Therefore,
you could never place an item, ally, faction because they cannot be
played from your hand directly to COF, a character must bring them
in.
>Can resources be played both before and after resolving hand size in
>the end of turn phase?
Yes.
>Paths Of The Dead says ...the company MAY move... so, can it be
>played with no such movement taking place? e.g. can it be played
>when the company is not at the relevant site (when they are at Minas
>Tirith, say), and can the Army Of The Dead faction be played at the
>relevent site if POTD has been played, but without using it for
>movement?
Yes to all.
>I know some of the questions, particularly the COF ones, appear
>ridiculous, but there are reasons, so I need to know exactly how the
>cards work / interact. Thanx.
A small rant, it is MUCH more difficult for me to help if I don't
know what you are trying to do. If you are worried someone will
steal your advantage, email me privately rather than posting questions
to the list.
------------------------------
Ichabod is working on the rankings. He hopes to have them up next week.
Van Norton
MECCG NetRep