Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[MECCG] Ruling Digest 588

68 views
Skip to first unread message

Van Norton

unread,
Aug 30, 1999, 3:00:00 AM8/30/99
to

>From: Morgan Foister <fea...@magicnet.net>
>Subject: Resource Combo Question
>
>can i play a Crown of All Flowers on an Echo of All Joy
>played on a Fog(assuming gates of morn in play) and make fog permanent?

You can play that combo.

>next question, Can I Cock Crow's a DoN if GoM is in play(as in reaction
>to)

No.

>Can I Cock Crows(assuming GoM in play) or Marvels a Stormcrow in a chain
>of effects and keep Stormcrow's effects from happening?

No. The only time you can Marvels or Crows a card to prevent it from
resolving is if the card is revealed on guard. On-guard cards are considered
to have been declared and resolved immediately prior to the current chain of
effects so are valid Marvels targets.

------------------------------
>From: "Andy Fredricksen (ECA)" <a-an...@microsoft.com>
>Subject: [VAN] Q: Hunting those Beorning Skin-changers
>
>Beorning Skin-changers: "As a creature, playable only against minion
>companies."
>
>The Hunt: "Name a specific hazard creature card your opponent revealed to
>you...and discarded. Unless eliminated or prevented from being in play,
>your opponent then finds this particular card... This creature immediate
>attacks Alatar as though he were a one-character company."
>
>Q1: [Fallen-]Alatar is never going to be in a minion company, as far as I
>can tell. Does BSC's playability (as creature) requirement prevent Alatar
>from Hunting this creature, even though the card's not really being
>"played"?

Since Fallen Alatar is not a minion company, Beorning Skin Changers are a
Hazard event to him. Therefore, they cannot be singled out with The Hunt.

>Q2: If they may be hunted, the attacks are presumably non-detainment (but
>with the * MPs, only Fallen-Alatar would gain anything by it but the card's
>removal), correct?

See above

------------------------------
>From: "Andy Fredricksen (ECA)" <a-an...@microsoft.com>
>Subject: [VAN] Another Q: Brooch-raiding
>
>Tower Raided: "Playable ... if your company ... bears an item worth at
least
>2 marshalling points... Tap the site and discard the item."
>
>Leaf Brooch: "If a non-special item must be discarded from the company of
>LB's bearer...you may discard LB instead to fulfill this requirement."
>
>Q: If my company possesses Leaf Brooches but no 2-plus MP items, they may
>NOT play Tower Raided, is that correct? The first quoted line above
>suggests such an item must be held. Or can I after all, since the LB is
>sufficient for the more "substantial" requirement?

Correct, they must have a 2 M.P. or greater item to play Tower Raided.

------------------------------
>From: Leif Gunderson <sin...@flash.net>
>Subject: Question
>
>If a player plays a Dragon at Home card and then has his own characters
kill it
>does he get the marshaling points?

No, you can't get M.P.s from your own hazards.

------------------------------
>From: "Andy Fredricksen (ECA)" <a-an...@microsoft.com>
>Subject: [VAN] Site phase, tapped sites
>
>Just happened to be looking at the Unlimited Full Turn Sequence on ICE's
>website --
>http://www.ironcrown.com/me/cards/rules/unlimited/summary.htm
>-- and noticed that for Site Phase, it says the following:
>
>Site Phase
>In the order you decide (i.e., you decide which goes first, second, etc.),
>each of your companies at an untapped site may:
> * do nothing or
> * follow this procedure:
><snip>
>
>This means that if a company remains at a tapped site they may not do
>anything, even play Fireworks, say? (Thus you had better play it in your
>org/MH phase or else the same turn that you tap a site...) I was not aware
>of this! Or is this ancient muck that is no longer true?

You can re-enter a tapped site. I think someone mistyped when they created
the summary.

------------------------------
From: <pall...@bigfoot.de>
Subject: Question: Black Rain

I want to use Black Rain. A Ringwraith/FW can use Agetns a Characters.
Are Agents in this case characters, so that I can use Black Rain ???

Yes, agents would be considered characters in the hands of a Ringwraith or
A Fallen Wizard.

------------------------------
>From: <pall...@bigfoot.de>
>Subject: Question: Whispers of Rings
>
>I have a question regarding Whispers of Rings. Here is the card text:
>
>Whispers of Rings U Permanent-event
>During your organization phase, you may take one ring special item
>(except for The One Ring) from your sideboard or discard pile and place
>it "off to the side" with
>this card. This item gives no marshalling points. A maximum of two items
>may be with this card at one time. You may play a ring special item
>placed with this card as though it were in your hand. You may start
>the game with this card in lieu of playing a minor item.
>
>May I start with two Whispers of Rings and may I take then each
>organisation phase two ring special items from the sideboard or discard
>pile to the cards ?

Yes, you may start with two Whispers of Rings. It would allow you to
Get two Ring Items per organization phase. (one per card)

------------------------------
>From: "Andy Fredricksen (ECA)" <a-an...@microsoft.com>
>Subject: [VAN] Wow .. so back to that Windlord ..
>
>CRF15, Turn Sequence, Combat, Strike Sequence, last entry:
>There is time between strike sequences to take actions that are otherwise
>legal. (News to me.)
>
>In the CRF somewhere, paraphrased:
>When you're resolving a card, do what it says in order. You can't
interrupt
>the resolution with new declarations. As an exception, if one of the
>actions on the card creates an attack, you may play cards that cancel the
>attack, strikes, or are otherwise playable during the strike sequence.
>
>I know this has to be a resounding "No," but I want to make sure this isn't
>the overlooked loophole ..
> I presume the "otherwise legal" clause (esp. with my careful if
>remembered wording on the second bit) is what prevents me from say, having
>someone eat cram who's already faced an attack. That is, Beorn has Cram
and
>is with Frodo. Cave-drake attacks: Beorn taps to face strike, rolls.
>Between B's and F's strikes, B eats the cram and is again untapped. In a
>normal attack, this would appear to be legal.
> Now B & F go play Windlord Found Me, B has some more cram. They get
>to WFM's attack: Beorn taps to face strike, rolls. Between B's and F's
>strike, B tries to eat the cram but is strangely unable, as some eldritch
>force says, "no, since this attack is part of an event's resolution, you
>don't have time for a snack .. yer too busy stormin' Orthanc, dude." Is
>this true? Or does the CRF apply here too, and it IS easier to get
>Windlords, Smokes, etc?

You may not do anything between the effects listed on a card. So you may not
Cram between the events on Windlord etc.

------------------------------
>From: Leif Gunderson <sin...@flash.net>
>Subject: Another Question.
>
>Hello,
>
>I have a question about removing corruption cards. I was playing a game
this
>weekend and one of the other players tapped to try to remove a corruption
card
>and failed. He then used a minor item, I forget which one, to untap and
said he
>could tap again to try to remove the same corruption card. Is this legal?

Yes. You can only try to remove a card once if you remain untapped, but you
can tap to do it as many times as needed.

------------------------------
>From: Elrond Half-elven <imla...@usa.com>
>Subject: Underdeeps movement...
>
>When a company takes consecutive movement/hazard phases in a single turn
(to
>visit multiple sites), exactly how does the timing work concerning on-guard
>cards (if a card is played on guard at a site that is discarded before the
>site phase begins, when do you draw your card back into your hand)?

-I believe this is how it goes. Assume that it is the beginning of the
second
-m/h phase and there is an on guard card on site #1. At the end of m/h
phase
-#2,site #1 is removed and the on guard card on it is returned to your hand.
At
-this point, you would go back to hand size.

Brian has it correctly.

------------------------------

Here is the long awaited Ruling Digest.

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep

Anthony Perez-Miller

unread,
Aug 30, 1999, 3:00:00 AM8/30/99
to
Van Norton <vno...@mindspring.com> wrote:

>>From: Morgan Foister <fea...@magicnet.net>
>>Subject: Resource Combo Question
>>
>>can i play a Crown of All Flowers on an Echo of All Joy
>>played on a Fog(assuming gates of morn in play) and make fog permanent?

> You can play that combo.

>>next question, Can I Cock Crow's a DoN if GoM is in play(as in reaction
>>to)

> No.

>>Can I Cock Crows(assuming GoM in play) or Marvels a Stormcrow in a chain
>>of effects and keep Stormcrow's effects from happening?

> No. The only time you can Marvels or Crows a card to prevent it from
> resolving is if the card is revealed on guard. On-guard cards are considered
> to have been declared and resolved immediately prior to the current chain of
> effects so are valid Marvels targets.

Van,


Does this work? 1) My opponent puts out Stormcrow; 2) I play nothing
in reponse, so Stormcrow resolves. 3) The beginning of the next chain of
effects is the effects of Stormcrow (hopefully you can parse that!),
meaning that (for example) if these *effects* resolve, my Fellowship is
discarded. 4) I then play Marvels Told on the already-resolved Stormcrow
(tapping a sage). 5) By LIFO, Marvels Told resolves, and then the
*effects* of Stormcrow.

So far, so good, I think. What happens next?

a) Since the effects of Stormcrow have resolved, my Fellowship is
discarded. Then the effects of Marvels Told resolve, meaning that
Stormcrow is discarded.

b) Marvels Told discards Stormcrow before its effects can force
the discard of Fellowship.

[I suspect that the answer is b), though I have always played a)]


thanks,

--Anthony


Van Norton

unread,
Sep 4, 1999, 3:00:00 AM9/4/99
to

Anthony Perez-Miller wrote:


>
> Van Norton <vno...@mindspring.com> wrote:
>
> >>From: Morgan Foister <fea...@magicnet.net>
> >>Subject: Resource Combo Question
> >>
> >>can i play a Crown of All Flowers on an Echo of All Joy
> >>played on a Fog(assuming gates of morn in play) and make fog permanent?
>
> > You can play that combo.
>
> >>next question, Can I Cock Crow's a DoN if GoM is in play(as in reaction
> >>to)
>
> > No.
>
> >>Can I Cock Crows(assuming GoM in play) or Marvels a Stormcrow in a chain
> >>of effects and keep Stormcrow's effects from happening?
>
> > No. The only time you can Marvels or Crows a card to prevent it from
> > resolving is if the card is revealed on guard. On-guard cards are considered
> > to have been declared and resolved immediately prior to the current chain of
> > effects so are valid Marvels targets.
>

> Van,
>
> Does this work? 1) My opponent puts out Stormcrow; 2) I play nothing
> in reponse, so Stormcrow resolves. 3) The beginning of the next chain of
> effects is the effects of Stormcrow (hopefully you can parse that!),
> meaning that (for example) if these *effects* resolve, my Fellowship is
> discarded. 4) I then play Marvels Told on the already-resolved Stormcrow
> (tapping a sage). 5) By LIFO, Marvels Told resolves, and then the
> *effects* of Stormcrow.
>
> So far, so good, I think. What happens next?
>
> a) Since the effects of Stormcrow have resolved, my Fellowship is
> discarded. Then the effects of Marvels Told resolve, meaning that
> Stormcrow is discarded.
>
> b) Marvels Told discards Stormcrow before its effects can force
> the discard of Fellowship.
>
> [I suspect that the answer is b), though I have always played a)]
>
> thanks,
>
> --Anthony

Hi Anthony,

A is correct. Storm Crow fully resolves before it can be Marveled.

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep

0 new messages