Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[MECCG] Rules Digest 555

54 views
Skip to first unread message

Van Norton

unread,
Feb 22, 1999, 3:00:00 AM2/22/99
to
Rules Digest 555

>From: Joe Walker <jwa...@dsorkin.wcc.lucent.com>
>Subject: Re: VAN/ICH: Agents Question
>
>If an agent taps to make creatures playable at his site, what
>are they keyed to?

Nothing. Creatures that agents tap to make playable at a site
are not keyed to anything.

------------------------------

>From: Stephan Schroeder <ste...@li.net>
>Subject: The Balrog = Spawn ?
>
>This question may have been asked, but I was only able to acquire
>my Balrog cards last week.
>
>Since Balrog of Moria is a Spawn are all of these assumed to be
>Spawn:
>
>The Balrog (red card for when you are the Balrog)
>The Balrog (ally)
>Durin's Bane

No, the other manifestations of The Balrog are not spawn.

------------------------------
>== 7143 ==
>
>Sorry, that message is not in the archive.

Folks, it appears the archive lost about 5 messages. If any
of these was a question that I haven't answered, please
repost it. Thanks!

------------------------------
>From: "Gary Devouges" <gary.d...@sympatico.ca>
>Subject: Re: Question about "The Sun Unveiled"
>
> I should have been more explicit in my question: TSU says
>playable on a charactrer at a freehold. At the end of my M/H
>phase, if my opponent has played a bunch of lures of nature on me,
>I have to make corruption checks at the end of theM/H phase. At
>this point, prior to the site phase, am I considered to be at the
>site ?. I do not want to enter yet: I just want to remove the
>lures ?

Yes, you are at the site. According to the standard rules, you are
at the site when you pick up the site of origin and discard it or
return it to your site deck. This happens before hand size is
reconciled. You could play The Sun Unveiled at this point to remove
hazard perm-events before end of movement/hazard phase corruption
checks.

------------------------------
>From: "Chris Finley" <cfi...@pcartisan.com>
>Subject: Glove of Rady
>
>OK, one more. Will the Glove of Radagast make a non-unique ally
>with mind 1 playable at a Hero site if the Ally is Minion?

No. The Glove of Radagast does not get around the limitation
that hero resources that tap the site are only playable at
sero sites. (and vice versa for minions)

------------------------------
>From: Eric Silverman <sil...@saber.towson.edu>
>Subject: Diplomat Q's
>
>If I have a company with one diplomat in it, can I use the
>following diplomat only cards to affect a corruption check against
>himself:
>
>Old Friendship, New Friendship, Pledge of Conduct....
>
>I'm pretty sure the answer is yes, since the diplomat is a
>character in the diplomat's (his own) company. If the text said
>'+x on a corruption check for ANOTHER character in the diplomat's
>compansy' I would think differently. But it seems to be poor
>simulation (I'm my own 'old friend')

Pledge of Conduct requires another character to transfer items to,
but otherwise all these cards can be played on a one character
company that contains a diplomat.

------------------------------
>From: Eric Silverman <sil...@saber.towson.edu>
>Subject: another Q
>
>OK...I was thinking about pledge of conduct some more...
>What affect would this have on a corruption check that was caused
>by transferring an item?

Things resolve in reverse order. So let's see, the character
declares he is transfering an item. Pledge of Conduct is played.
Pledge resolves. If the character then no longer bears the item
he was transfering, the transfer fizzles and there is no
corruption check. If he still bears the item, he can make a
corruption check to transfer it with his new corruption point
total.

------------------------------
>From: "Chris Finley" <cfi...@pcartisan.com>
>Subject: Black Rain Question
>
>I noticed that Black Rain's Errata says "A Fallen-wizard may use
>this to play a hero ring item, but a Ringwraith player could not."
>
>Would Black Rain be played at a Hero or Minion R&L?

Neither Black Rain nor special rings tap the site, so it does
not matter whether it is a hero or minion ruins and lairs.

------------------------------
>From: Dominic Nguyen <ngu...@ix.netcom.com>
>Subject: [Van?] Farmer Maggot question
>
>Yeah, I know this question has been asked at least five or ten
>times already, but... for Farmer Maggot, what counts as being at
>a site?
>Do creatures keyed to a site count? And if not, does it only
>count against On-Guard creatures, Agent and automatic attacks, and
>CvCC?

It does not matter how the hazard is played, but where you are in
the turn sequence. During the site phase, you are always 'at the
site.' If you have a moving company, you are only 'at the site'
once all hazards have resolved and you pick up the site of origin
(immediately prior to reconciling your hand.) If the company did
not move, it is always 'at the site.'

------------------------------

>From: Martin Toggweiler <mtogg...@compuserve.com>
>Subject: Re: More Sense Than You

>>However, I just don't understand these comments on MSTY. By my
>>reading of the card, it won't work as you describe, Martin. Here's
>>the text from the Spoilers list:

[snip text]

>>Note that Assassin specifically states that it contains three
>>attacks, whereas MSTY is directed to "an attack". By my
>>understanding, you'd need three of these to fight off one
>>Assassin. Playing one would disallow the first strike (and
>>therefore, in this case, attack) to be assigned. Is there some
>>unwritten rule (ruling?) that states that you cannot play a
>>multiple attack vs one character card on a character unless
>>all the attacks' strikes can be assigned to the character?

Here is the official ruling. The assassins special ability is
also it's limit. It has to attack the same target three times.
If More Sense than You canceled an attack, you would need three
to stop an assassin. Since it prevents the strike from being
assigned to a character, none of the assassins strikes can be
assigned to that character. If the company only has one character
then the character is safe. Otherwise, the assassin must pick
someone else as the target.

[snip more discussion]

>As was mentioned in other posts, the key is that all the Assassin's
>attacks/strikes must be against the SAME chararacter. If the
>Assassin cannot for what ever reason (in this case MSTY) assign
>the strike of its first attack to any character, the other attacks
>are rendered void since they would have to be assigned to the SAME
>character, which in this case is NO CHARACTER. It's a reasonable
>interpretation, and is the ruling that Ichabod made about then
>months ago.

Martin is correct.

------------------------------

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep
Vno...@mindspring.com


Van Norton

unread,
Feb 23, 1999, 3:00:00 AM2/23/99
to
> Rules Digest 555

> ------------------------------
> >From: "Gary Devouges" <gary.d...@sympatico.ca>
> >Subject: Re: Question about "The Sun Unveiled"
> >
> > I should have been more explicit in my question: TSU says
> >playable on a charactrer at a freehold. At the end of my M/H
> >phase, if my opponent has played a bunch of lures of nature on me,
> >I have to make corruption checks at the end of theM/H phase. At
> >this point, prior to the site phase, am I considered to be at the
> >site ?. I do not want to enter yet: I just want to remove the
> >lures ?
>
> Yes, you are at the site. According to the standard rules, you are
> at the site when you pick up the site of origin and discard it or
> return it to your site deck. This happens before hand size is
> reconciled. You could play The Sun Unveiled at this point to remove
> hazard perm-events before end of movement/hazard phase corruption
> checks.

I was mistaken. According to the CRF you are not at the site until
the site phase. My mistake.

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep

0 new messages