>From: David Cook <dc...@ubisoft.qc.ca>
>Subject: [Van] More questions...
>
> Most of these have been asked before but I forget the
>rulings, so here we go again...
>
> 1- I playing hero and I am trying to influence the
>Easterlings away from my opponent. I have the Easterlings card in
>hand, do I get the -5 penalty for the influence attempt because I
>am influencing away a minion resource or do I get no penalty
>because I am trying to influence a hero resource?
You have the -5 penalty because you are influencing the faction
away from the opposite alignment. By playing the card, the
influence roll on the card is reduced to 0.
> 2- If my opponent played News of Doom, can I play my copy of
>the card later in the same game?
No. News of Doom in unique. Only one copy can be played during a
game.
> 3- If my wizard fails a corruption check by 1, is he
>discarded or eliminated? Can I play him again? Do I get the -5 MP
>penalty?
If you are playing tournament rules, he is eliminated and you lose
the -5 MPs.
------------------------------
>From: "Jason Klank" <jkl...@feinus.com>
>Subject: [Van] Another Question
>
>van,
> This question relates to timing during the drawing of
>cards...Can any effects be used during the drawing of cards (say,
>reconciling your hand size after a MH phase)? specifically, say
>I have to draw 4 cards. Can I draw 2 cards, play smoke rings,
>then draw the last 2?
No. Drawing cards is considered one effect and cannot be
interrupted.
------------------------------
>From: Eric Silverman <sil...@saber.towson.edu>
>Subject: Re: Ruling Digest 580
>
>> >2. Can a Black Arrow be tapped in CVCC to reduce the
>>Prowess/Body
>> >of someone/company attacking you (since the wording states
>>"attack
>> >against the Bearer's Company")?
>>
>> No. The attacker cannot play Black Arrow because he is not
>>facing an attack. The defender cannot play Black Arrow because it
>>is a resource during the defender's hazard turn. The only
>>resources which may be played by the defender during CvCC are
>>ones that cancel the attack or affect a strike.
>
>Van, I'm sure I've seen a different ruling on this allowing the
>defender to use Black Arrow. At the very least I was allowed to
>use it at a tourney where Ichabod was one of the judges.
My mistake, I don't agree with the earlier ruling but I am not
changing it. Black Arrow CAN be used by the defender in CvCC.
------------------------------
>From: "emineman" <emin...@gateway.net>
>Subject: Questions re: tapping havens
>
>I was trying to understand how tapping havens works, and I have
>some questions.
>
>Cards like Old Road and Hour of Need, if successful, tap the
>character's site, not the site of the faction being played, right?
Yes.
> Can these cards be played if the character's site is already
>tapped?
No.
>A minor item can be played when a haven site is tapped to play an
>item or faction, right? ie, after playing Hour of Need in the org
>phase or Leaf Brooch at Lorien in the site phase?
Yes.
>Can a company at a haven split into 2 companies if both remain at
>the haven?
No. CRF-Turn Sequence-Organizing companies: "If a company splits,
all but one of the split companies must attempt to move to a
different site this turn."
>Can they split into three or more companies and all remain at the
>haven?
Same as above.
------------------------------
>From: Ian.S.W...@Dartmouth.EDU (Ian S. Williams)
>Subject: some questions
>
>Just a couple more quick questions I was wondering about:
>
>Someone has probably already asked this question before, but I
>haven't seen the answer, so here goes... can things like And Forth
>He Hastened and Angband Revisited untap your actual
>Wizard/Balrog/etc. or only other characters in their company?
The wizard could be untapped by the card.
>Also, can Gangways over the Fire only be used once per turn, or
>would it conceivably let you move all the way across the
>underdeeps (assuming you make your rolls) in one turn?
Gangways can be used as many times as you can manage the rolls.
------------------------------
>From: "Jean-Paul Keulen" <keu...@phys.leidenuniv.nl>
>Subject: Reluctant Final Parting Question
>
>If someone plays Reluctant Final Parting, what happens to
>Gollum? There are two sites where he can be played, Moria
>(nearest haven Lorien) and High Pass (nearest haven Rivendell);
>does it matter where he was played (probably not)? Does he stay
>in play as long as your nearest haven is Lorien OR Rivendell or
>does he get discarded anywhere?
Gollum stays in play as long as the nearest haven is either
Rivendell or Lorien. It doesn't matter where he was played.
-----------------------------
>To: recipient list not shown: ;
>From: An...@aol.com
>
>1) for dwarven rings, do they give dwarves +7 to direct influence
>and +4 to prowess or do they change the dwarves influence to 7 and
>change his prowess to 4?
It is +7 and +4, not change to 7 and change to 4.
>2) for an auto attack with more strikes than the amount of people
>at the current site, who gets to choose wihch characters get the
>-1 prowess modifications
The attacker.
>3) is it really true that if you mail ice they can send you some
>of the promotional cards that they had in magazines?(i want that
>fatty bolger card!)
Sadly, that is no longer the case.
>4) are there any other Promotional Cards for the Unlimited Set
>(the blue borders) besides Fatty?
No.
------------------------------
>From: Kenneth Switzer <stken...@yahoo.com>
>Subject: Rumor/Whispers of Rings Q
>
>Would rings played with either of these cards (Rumor/Whispers of
>Rings) meet the requirement for Rolled Down to the Sea? Like
>could I discard a Dwarven Ring, Lesser Ring or Minor Ring I have
>in play with these cards for RDTTS?
No, discarding is a seperate action from playing.
------------------------------
>From: Dave Stegman <dste...@seismo.berkeley.edu>
>Subject: [Van] A More evil Hour
>
>A More Evil Hour R Permanent-event
>Balrog specific. Tap this card when an opponent plays a card
>normally giving him three or more marshalling points. This card
>does not untap. If tapped, you may discard this card during your
>organization phase to target a company allowed to move with region
>movement. The company may move up to two additional regions if
>moving to a site where an opponent's company is present and also,
>thereafter, when leaving this site.
>
>can this card be duplicated. for example, if two are tapped,
>could you move 4 extra regions?
I don't see why not. The limit of a maximum of six regions from The
Dragon's rules insert is still in effect.
------------------------------
I hope I didn't miss any questions.
Van Norton
MECCG NetRep
www.mindspring.com/~vnorton