[MECCG] CRF 9 Card Rulings 2/2

Skip to first unread message


Dec 5, 1997, 3:00:00 AM12/5/97

-= PPP =-

Palantir of Amon Sul
Discard immediately if its company contains less than two characters while

Palantir of Orthanc
Cannot be used on site cards.

Palantir of Osgiliath
Discard immediately if its company contains less than four characters while
Only copies tapping effects of other Palantir, not continuous effects.

The Pale Sword
The corruption is received immediately following the attack.
You must control both the Pale Sword and the Nazgul it is played on.

Can only see the top card of an opponent's discard pile.

Peril Returned
Will not stop Gates of Morning from discarding hazard environments when it
resolves. [effective 11/17/97]

Praise to Elbereth
Nazgul events discarded by Praise to Elbereth have no effect.
Which characters are tapping to discard which events must be declared when
Praise to Elbereth is declared.
Nazgul permanent-events that are targeted by Praise to Elbereth may not be
tapped in response to its play.

Card Erratum: Add "Pukel-creature."

-= QQQ =-

Quiet Lands
Card Erratum: Replace "is reduced to half its original prowess (rounded
up)." with "is reduced by half (rounded up)."

May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an automatic-attack,
or hazard keyed to his site.

-= RRR =-

Rebuild the Town
Card Erratum: Replace "Playable on" with "Playable during the site phase
See also Turn Sequence, Site Phase, General.

You can use it on hoard items.

Reaching Shadow
May not be used to play creatures keyed to double Shadow-lands.

Regiment of Black Crows
Makes a company overt.
May tap to give +1 prowess to characters during combat.

Reluctant Final Parting
@ Reluctant Final Parting has no effect on The Balrog.

Ren the Unclean
If you tap Ren, then you cannot play resources to aid your character's
corruption checks. Your characters may tap in support.
The moving player makes corruption checks first. Each player decides the
order of the corruption checks for their characters.
See also Rulings by Term, Nazgul.

Rescue Prisoners
Card Erratum: This cards gives 2 marshalling points, not 3. Add "You
receive the marshalling points for this card only when it is stored."

Returned Beyond All Hope
Returned Beyond All Hope "un-eliminates" a creature, allowing any
manifestations of that character to be played.
This card may target creatures still in play as trophies.

Card Erratum: Replace "healing cards" with "healing effects."

Ride Against the Enemy
@ Hazards have no effect on the attack, and any resources that benefit the
attack are cancelled. The attack may still be cancelled.
@ You may not use a Wizard your opponent has played Sacrifice of Form on.

Card Erratum: Add "Playable only during the site phase. Tap the sage and
the site."

The Ring's Betrayal
The ring must be chosen at time of declaration if the character bears more
than one.

Card Erratum: Should read "Playable on a site. If a company that has moved
to this site this turn does not tap a ranger, it must do nothing during its
site phase."
You have until the beginning of the site phase to tap a ranger, and you may
tap the ranger at the beginning of the site phase without entering the site.

Roac the Raven
Card Erratum: Replace "no modifications to the influence check are
required." with "treat this influence check as if it was made by a diplomat."
His special ability may only be used during the site phase.
He can make the attempt by himself.
Using this ally to make an influence attempt does not tap a site, and may
be done if his company is at a tapped site.

Rumor of Wealth
Can be played on-guard.

If Ruse is played by a scout who is the only character in the company, the
attack has no effect. If there is a creature card it is discarded. The attack
is considered faced but not canceled.

-= SSS =-

Sable Shield
A bearer who did not tap while facing a strike will not tap if the strike
is successful.
A detainment strike will not discard the Sable Shield.

Sack over the Head
Affects any Hobbit or Dwarf wounded by the attack, not just those wounded
by the Troll.

Sacrifice of Form
Card Erratum: Replace "-3 to any body checks" with "+3 to any body checks."
After Sacrifice of Form is played, you may not play a different Wizard and
your opponent may not play the Wizard you sacrificed.
This card is played after strikes are assigned.

Secret Entrance
Can be played on a company that does not move.
See also Turn Sequence, Organization Phase, Choosing a New Site.

Secret Passage
Does not work if the site type changes.
See also Turn Sequence, Organization Phase, Choosing a New Site.

Card Erratum: Change the Border-land symbol in the first line to a Border-
hold symbol.
Goes away when all copies of the site it was played on are discarded.
If you move to a site with Siege played on it, any effect which can give
you a second movment/hazard phase that turn will allow you to avoid the
effects of Siege.

Sentinels of Numenor
Sentinels of Numenor will not give an extra marshalling point to Army of
the Dead.

Card Erratum: "an additional site card may be played and an additional
movement/hazard phase."
Cannot use his special ability if another ally is in the company.

Silent Watcher
Card Erratum: Gives 1 marshalling point, not 0. Add "Pukel-creature."

May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an automatic-attack,
or hazard keyed to his site.

Card Erratum: Gives 2 marshalling points, not 0. Add "Slayer."
Only one attack can be canceled by tapping a character.
All of the strikes will go against the same character.

Can be influenced at any site they can be played at.

Something Has Slipped
The -2 applies for each character that is wounded.
Wounding an ally triggers this card.
You cannot "become wounded" if you are already wounded before the strike.

So You've Come Back
If two companies join, and both companies have a So You've Come Back played
on them, the hazard player chooses which one to discard.

Spider of the Morlat
Spider attacks from Spider of the Morlat played as a permanent-event are
considered detainment vs. minion companies.

Star of High Hope
Does not affect attacks.

Stay Her Appetite
Card Erratum: Change "plus two" to "plus five." [effective 11/3/97]
If Stay Her Appetite is played on an ally with no prowess, there is no
attack, but all other affects of the card apply.

@ Prevents the revealing of a creature on-guard.

Sudden Call
You may not shuffle Sudden Call into your deck while you are drawing cards.
Drawing cards is an indivisible action.Summons from Long Sleep
Card Erratum: Change "When the reserved creature is played, another Dragon
or Drake may be reserved." to "Discard this card after the reserved creature

Does not affect attacks.

-= TTT =-

They Ride Together
Company size is still limited to seven.

Thing Stolen
Playing the item will tap the site if it is not already tapped.

Thong of Fire
@ The prowess requirement only applies when transfering or playing Thong of
Fire, and includes modifications to the character's prowess.

Thorough Search
Card Erratum: Replace "...to play any item normally found at its current
site." with "...to play a minor, major, or gold ring item normally found at
its current site."

Tidings of Bold Spies
Tidings of Bold Spies only copies attacks, not effects that allow certain
creatures to become automatic-attacks.

Card Erratum: Should read: "Playable: Items (minor, major, greater*)
*Scroll of Isildur only."

Tom Bombadil
Allows the canceling of one creature or the canceling and discarding of an
event that targets the company in question or an entity associated with that

Card Erratum: Replace the last paragraph with "This card is discarded when
a character fails his corruption check."
Two Traitors have no extra effect and are both discarded with the next
failed corruption check.
Traitor cannot be revealed as an on-guard card.
This is an attack with the same race as the character attacking, and a
normal prowess of ten plus the character's prowess.

Card Erratum: Replace "Redhorn Gap" with "Redhorn Gate."
May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an automatic-attack,
or hazard keyed to his site.

True Fana
Combat modifiers that modify prowess only against a strike do not count
when determining the Wizard's prowess.
When this spell is used against an agent, the agent does not receive the
two 6-sided dice bonus.

Card Erratum: Add "This card may be played at any time during any player's
Can target a card that has not yet resolved.
Can be played as a resource during your opponent's turn.

"Two-headed" Troll
Makes a company overt.

-= UUU =-

The Under-galleries
You cannot play Morannon at The Under-galleries. However, you can play
Ancient Stair from Morannon, move to The Under-galleries, and zip back to
Morannon at the end of the turn.

Use Palantir
Card Erratum: Change text to "Sage only. Tap sage to enable him to use one
Palantir he bears for the rest of the turn."

Use Your Legs
@ All strike by the entire company count for capturing Hobbits.
@ The characters placed off to the side are not considered prisoners for MP

-= VVV =-

Veils Flung Away
Card Erratum: Each body check is modified by -1, not +1.

Card Erratum: Vilya should now read: "Playable on Elrond only. +4 prowess,
+2 body, +6 direct influence until the end of the turn. If Elrond is at
Rivendell and your play deck has at least 5 cards in it, you may take 3
resource cards of your choice from your discard pile and shuffle them into
your play deck. Elrond makes a corruption check modified by -3. Cannot be
duplicated on a given turn."-= WWW =-

We Have Come to Kill
We Have Come to Kill may be used to bring in agents, but not Ringwraiths.

Where There's a Whip
Only characters with a mind and prowess less than the Whip bearer's will

The White Tree
Card Erratum: Add "Discard the Sapling of the White Tree."

The Windlord Found Me
Can be used to recover a Wizard discarded with Sacrifice of Form.
You can play your Wizard at the Haven when you store this card even if Saw
Further and Deeper is in play.

Witch-king of Angmar
Although he becomes a long-event when tapped, he is discarded when the
effect resolves just like other Nazgul. The long-event effect will remain
until the appropriate time.
See also Rulings by Term, Nazgul.

Withdrawn to Mordor
To discard an on-guard card with Withdrawn to Mordor you must do so before
the card is revealed.

Wizard's Laughter
Card Erratum: Change "Wizard only." to "Wizard only during opponent's site

Wizard's Ring
Card Erratum: Replace "Ignore any effect that would discard this item" with
"Cannot be stored, stolen, or transferred."

Card Erratum: Change "Animals" to "Wolves."

Woses of Eryn Vorn
Card erratum (minion version): Change "Man faction" to "Wose faction."

------- "The Crossing-guard of Mordor" -------
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien, www.cstone.net/~ichabod/, ich...@cstone.net
Assistant Editor, ICE Me:CCG Official Netrep
"Home isa where you hanga your hat!" -Dr. Emilio Lizardo

Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages