Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[MECCG] Rules Digest 564

52 views
Skip to first unread message

Van Norton

unread,
Mar 25, 1999, 3:00:00 AM3/25/99
to
Rulings Digest 564

>From: Martin Toggweiler <mtogg...@compuserve.com>
>Subject: [Van/Ick] Can Tom ?
>
>Can Tom Bombadil tap to stop any agent activities against an
>eligible company/character?
>
>Attack ?

Yes, if during the M/H Phase.

>Influence attempt ?

Yes, if during the M/H phase.

>Baduila / Seek without Success ?

Yes.

>Pilfer Anything Unwatched ?

Yes.

------------------------------
>From: David Cook <dc...@ubisoft.qc.ca>
>Subject: RE: Rules Digest 563
>
> If I am playing hero can I use an agent with Ride Against the
>Enemy?

No. Agents are not characters for hero players.

------------------------------
>From: Martin Toggweiler <mtogg...@compuserve.com>
>Subject: [Van/Ick] Praise to Elbereth Q
>
>Praise to Elbereth
>Hero Resource
>Short-event
>
>.......
>Additionally, if Door of Night is in play, characters gain +1
>prowess until the end of the turn.
>
>If DoN is in play when PtE resolves, but later in the turn DoN
>leaves play, do characters retain the +1 prowess until end of
>turn?

Yes. Praise is a short event, so you only check it's conditions
once.

>Conversely, if DoN is not in play when PtE resolves, but later in
>the turn DoN is played, will characters then get +1 prowess until
>end of turn?

No.

------------------------------
>From: "Tzeentch" <tzeen...@earthlink.net>
>Subject: Question...
>
>Can you use a Minion Hazard strategy against a Nazgul player?
>
>I have a Fallen Wizard deck {Alatar the Hunter} that uses Minions,
>and the rules are ambiguous, at least to me!

You may use agents against a minion (nazgul or otherwise) player.
The agent attack as detainment an cannot use any hazard cards that
specifically target agents.

------------------------------
>From: Kenneth Switzer <stken...@yahoo.com>
>Subject: Timing Question :-( [van/ick]
>
>Yes I put a :-( there as to denote I have a serious question to
>ask. Well it's not that serious a question but a game play
>question.
>
>If I want to reveal an agent as a starting character, minion, I
>must play Open to the Summons, but in the Character draft, do I
>reveal Open first or can I reveal it at the same time as the
>character I intend on bringing in with it? I have seen it done
>both ways. The card text on Open implies to me that this card
>must be reveal first then you can reveal your agent.

You reveal Open to the Summons as if it were a character. It must
be in play before you play the agent.

------------------------------
>From: Martin Toggweiler <mtogg...@compuserve.com>
>Subject: [Van/Ick] Batch of Qs
>
>The following is from Rules Digest 111:
>
>>7) A player has a company at a tapped White Towers Wizardhaven
>>with Fortress of the Towers and A Strident Spawn. The player has
>>another comapny move to an untapped version of the White Towers
>>Whaven. The two companies combine at the untapped version of the
>>White Towers. Can Fortress of the Towers/A Strident Spawn be
>>considered automatically transferred to this untapped version of
>>the site?
>
>Yes.
>----------
>
>Hall of Fire
>Hero Resource
>Permanent-event
>Playable on a Haven.............Discard Hall of Fire when the site
>card is returned to the location deck.
>
>
>1] Am I correct that for *Hall of Fire* would be ruled to be
>consistent with the above? That is if HoF is on a tapped version
>of a haven and two companies combine at an untapped version of the
>haven, then HoF must be (or at least can be) transferred to the
>untapped version of the haven.

Your assumption is consistant with the previous ruling.

>Dark Quarrels
>Hero Resource
>Short-event
>...........
>Alternatively, if Gate of Morning is in play, the number of
>strikes from any attack is reduced to half of its orginal number,
>rounded up.
>2] Stirring Bones is played (2 strikes) with the Moon is Dead in
>play (increases attack to 3 strikes); Dark Quarrels is played with
>GoM in play (after the Moon is Dead has boosted the attack), the
>attack is reduced to one strike since the attack ORIGINALLY had
>only 2 strikes, right?

Original is not normal, it has no special meaning. The number is
halved at the time of resolution of Dark Quarells.

>3] I know it has been ruled that if for some reason a follower
>is removed from DI outside the org phase, that character does not
>cut into free GI until the controller's next org phase:
>
>a) Does a character brought into play (not under DI) using *We
>Have Come To Kill* outside the org phase use up free GI?

Yes. The ruling you are looking for is in Rulings by Term -
Influence. "Changes to general influence take place immediately,
with a minimum of zero general influence."

>b) Does a character acquired by influencing him/her away from an
>opponent cut into free GI before the controller's next org phase?

Yes. The same ruling from above applies.

------------------------------

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep

0 new messages