>From: Kenneth Switzer <stken...@yahoo.com>
>Subject: [Van/Ick]To Satisfy the Questioner Q
>
>Another clarification question. On TSTQ, the card text reads
>"playable on an untapped character at a Free-Hold, tap the
>character and site........"
>
>When I first read this, rather quickly I may add, I got the
>impression that I could enter a Free-Hold site, play an item,
>faction, ally and also play this card on a untapped character.
>
>On a second reading I get out of the card text that I can only
>play this card as this will tap the site and it needs to be
>untapped to play it. So I cannot play an item, faction, ally
>unless it is playable at a tapped or untapped site.
>
>For my clarification which one is correct? Please forgive my
>ignorance, don't go there Craig :-), I don't play minion a whole
>lot.
Tapping the site is an active condition for playing To Satisfy the
Questioner. If you can't tap the site, then you can't declare te
action.
------------------------------
>From: "Doyce Testerman" <be...@bears-cave.com>
>Subject: Minion Clarification
>
>So the conversation in the last couple days has got me turned
>around pretty hard. I'm trying to tell if there's a general
>concensus on this: can you or can you not put Hero items in minion
>decks? Are there special requirements for this if so? (At work, so
>no rule booklets handy to puruse myself.
Yes, you may put hero items in a minion deck. There are no special
requirements. All normal requirements must be met to play the item.
All restrictions to movement with the item still apply. All bonuses
and special abilities are ignored. The item is only worth 1/2
(round up) it's normal M.P. Balrogs get no M.P. from hero items
played at their Darkhavens.
------------------------------
>From: David Cook <dc...@ubisoft.qc.ca>
>Subject: CvCC
>
> OK, so I have Ren in Fell Rider Mode going to Dunharrow. My
>opp is there with Saruman, Theoden and Aragorn. I enter the site
>and attack him...
>can he play Helm of Her Secrecy to have Eowyn face the attack
>(Helm of Her Secrecy says "...when the company is facing an
>attack...). My question is really asking what the difference is
>between an attack and CvCC. Kindling of the Spirit gives all
>characters +2 prowess vs an attack, can it be used in CvCC. What
>about Swarm of Bats, which says all attacks against the company
>get -1 prowess and body?
> Exactly what (type of) resources may be used in CvCC?
Company vs company combat is a special attack. Generally speaking
the defender can play any resource you could normally play during
an attack during company vs. company combat. The exceptions are:
any resource which affects the number of strikes (More Alert than
Most, etc.), True Fana and Sacrifice of Form. The attacker can only
play resources which affect individual strikes (Risky Blow, etc).
Kindling of the Spirit and Helm of Her Secrecy are valid for the
defender only as it affects an attack, not a strike. Swarm of Bats
also only works for the defender.
If it helps, think of CvC combat as a regular creature attack. The
attack has one strike for each character and ally (with prowess and
body) in the attacking company. The prowess and body of each
individual strike is determined by which character is making the
strike. The defender faces the attack. The attacker _is_ the attack
so can't play cards that affect an attack.
------------------------------
>From: Dave Stegman <dste...@seismo.berkeley.edu>
>Subject: Re: Rules Digest 563 [van]
>
>>No, delayed but not forgotten. Ichabod and I have been discussing
>>changing the rule to make it more clear. I had one wording, he
>>another. Ultimately, I spent an evening going through every
>>hazard in the game to see how they impacted each wording of the
>>new rule.
>>To make a long story short [too late] here is the new ruling for
>>Company vs. Company combat:
>>Hazard effects in play that affect attacks have no effect on
>>CVCC.
>
>so you may need to spell this out for me - but does this reverse
>a previous ruling that allowed Wake of War to boost the wolf
>attack created by Hounds of Sauron in CVCC?
Hounds of Sauron does not create a company vs. company combat. You
may use Hounds of Sauron instead of company vs. company combat.
Since it isn't CvC, it doesn't follow the rules of CvC. Wake of War
and other hazard attack boosters work as normal on the Hounds.
------------------------------
>From: Oskar, os...@netreach.net
>
>But as Oskar pointed out to me recently, Balrog players can still store
>them (and get MPs) because the items don't remember where they were played
>once they are stored. This is still a pretty big problem IMHO.
>-Joe
This is the exception to the 'cards don't remember rule. A Balrog player
definitely cannot store hero items played at a darkhaven and receive
M.P.s for those items.
------------------------------
Van Norton
MECCG NetRep
www.mindspring.com/~vnorton