Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[MECCG] Rules Digest 552

41 views
Skip to first unread message

Gnome

unread,
Feb 10, 1999, 3:00:00 AM2/10/99
to
Rules Digest 552

>From: Eric Silverman <sil...@saber.towson.edu>
>Subject: Re: Rules Digest 551
>
>Underdeeps-question:
>
>I have 2 hero companies. One moving from one underdeeps site to
>another. Company #2 is at the surface site of where company #1 is
>moving to. Company #2 plays ancient stair and moves to the same
>underdeep site that company #1 is at.
>
>What happens?

CRF - Turn Sequence - General: "If two companies join at a site,
cards affecting one of the companies now affect them both." So your
new combined company could still take advantage of Ancient Stair.

------------------------------
>From: "James Moss" <jrm...@waymark.net>
>Subject: [VAN] Moving multiple (Balrog) companies through
>Under-deeps?
>
>I'm aware of the rule or ruling which states that two or more
>companies moving from a common origin site cannot move to the same
>destination site. What about such companies that are moving on to
>a second site with additional M/H phases?
>
>Suppose I have a large Balrog company at The Wind Throne and want
>to split it to move one to The Wind-deeps and another to The
>Under-leas. Then suppose I move one to The Wind-deeps and then, if
>the movement roll is successful, continue with that company to The
>Under-leas. Could I then move the other company to The
>Wind-deeps?

You only check once. If the two companies move to different sites
during their first M/H phase, they can later rejoin if they wish.

>The problem here is what happens if the first company fails its
>movement roll? Could I not then move the other company at all?
>Or does the second company simple return to its origin in its M/H
>phase?

If the two companies are moving to two different sites, it doesn't
matter if either (or both) fail their rolls. They are attempting to
move to different sites which satisfies the rule.

>(Carry this a bit further: could a hero companies using Bridge or
>a minion companies using Iron-road do much the same thing with
>surface sites?)

Yes.

------------------------------
>From: greatgold...@usa.net <greatgold...@usa.net>
>Subject: A couple of questions
>
>OK, this has been a question for a while that I keep forgetting to
>ask, when you have characters in your draft that you don't end up
>choosing to use can you place them in your sideboard, if not do
>they have to go to your deck or can you put them out of play?
>I've tried to avoid this situation in games, but I want to see if
>I can do it.

Characters not choosen in the draft cannot go to the sideboard.
They either go into your deck as part of your 10 character
allowance or they are out-of-play.

------------------------------

>From: Todd Ammerman <amme...@execpc.com>
>Subject: [Van, Ick, or others] Balrog & Other Questions
>
>I played against an opponent who was trying a Balrog deck for the
>first time (a modified Deep Secrets) this weekend. I was playing
>a Fallen-Alatar Hunt deck, and we had several questions that came
>up:
>
>1) If my opponent is using Gangways Over the Fire to move to
>multiple sites in one turn, what happens to my on-guard cards
>played on the sites he DIDN'T enter? Do they just stay on the
>table till the site phase, even though the sites they were played
>on are being discarded, then all come back to my hand during the
>site phase?

You may play one on-guard card per site per movement/hazard phase.
If a site is discarded or returned to the site deck at the end of
a M/H phase, you return the on-guard card on that site back to your
hand. Remember, removing the site of origin is the last thing that
happens in the M/H phase.

>2) The Balrog player can only play one Ancient Deep-hold, right?
>It seemed like it was the same concept as Deep Mines, but the
>Balrog rules say that the only sites he can have more than one of
>are Moria and The Under-gates.

Right. Only one Ancient Deep-hold per Balrog.

>3) a) Hidden/Haven seems to be the only way to make a site
>besides Isengard/White Towers a Wizardhaven - is this correct?.
>b) Since all occupied Wizardhavens have all attacks at them
>cancelled, would this apply to CVCC as well?

There is also Mischief in a Mean Way and Chambers in the Royal
Court. All attacks including Company vs. Company combat are
canceled.

>4) If the Balrog taps Whip of Many Thongs and attacks a wizard
>wielding Wizard's Staff (who then breaks it with Staff Asunder),
>does the Whip negate the +5 from Staff Asunder, in addition to the
>+2 from the Staff (i.e., is Staff Asunder considered an EFFECT of
>Wizard's Staff)? This one lost me the game, since Alatar got
>killed.


>4b) Btw, the Wizardkill rule (-5MPs) does apply to FW,
>Ringwraith, and the Balrog, right?

Yes.

------------------------------
>From: ste...@is.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp (Roland Steiner)
>Subject: Fog Combo Q
>
>Hey, that's actually my favorite ressource long event! Greatly
>helps Radagast and sets up your multi-wilderness hazards. All the
>more useful if you make it permanent. Which brings me to my
>question: Is the following Combo legal, or do I owe my opponent an
>apology? ^_^;;
>
>1.) DoN is in play
>2.) Play 2 Crown of Flowers (CoF)
>3.) During next Long Event Phase play Fog under the first CoF
>4.) Play Echo of All Joy under the other CoF, targetting Fog
>
>The (intended) effect is to have a permanent Fog together with a
>DoN strategy. The whole Fog combo would furthermore be safe from
>DoN, as DoN cannot be duplicated. Now you just have to watch out
>for Twilights and someone cycling the deck (GoM's are ironically
>also somewhat dangerous, as they allow DoN to be played again)...
>
>So, is above combo legal or not? Especially, can I play the Echo
>of All Joy 'on' Fog, even though Fog is already 'under' the first
>CoF?

The combo appears legal to me.

------------------------------

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep
vno...@mindspring.com

0 new messages