Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[MECCG] Ruling Digest 568

54 views
Skip to first unread message

Van Norton

unread,
Apr 6, 1999, 3:00:00 AM4/6/99
to
Rules Digest 568

This is a large digest. Please let me know if I missed any
Questions.


>From: Spaceman <walkinwit...@earthlink.net>
>Subject: Q on Ride against the enemy
>
>so if I have Lady of the golden "wood" in play, can I play Ride
>against the enemy with the Galadriel character card? same Beorn
>and Lord of Carrock, etc.. do the normal uniqueness things apply
>or is it the dragon at home same time as dragon ahunt rule?

Dragons are the only exception to the unique manifestations rule.
So you cannot have Galadriel 'Ring Against the Enemy' if she is
already in play as the 'Lady of the Golden Wood.'

------------------------------
>From: "Oskar" <os...@netreach.net>
>Subject: A couple of rules questions
>
>1. Can Hidden Haven be used as a starting card? Somebody told me
>no, but I can't find it in the CRF.

Yes. Middle-Earth: The White Hand rules - Starting Site.

>2. If F-Alatar uses Sac to kill a dragon manifestation, he leaves
>play. Does that mean that he doesn't get the full MP for the
>dragon he sac'ed until he gets back into play?

Correct.

>3. When I play Gandal the white rider as a perm-event, does its
>effect with increased haz lim take effect right away? So if you
>play it on a overt company it "doesn't count" against the hazard
>limit.

According to the CRF - Turn Sequence - Playing Hazards, you check
the hazard limit at declaration and resolution of the hazard. So
Gandalf the White Rider counts one against the hazard limit when he
is declared, but increases the hazard limit by one when he
resolves.

>4. If I tap F-Radagast with Shifter of Hues to give characters in
>his company +2 to cc's, does that apply in the council too, if it
>is done on the very last turn before council?

Yes, the effect lasts through Council.

>5. When in CvCC are all characters considered facing strikes?
>The question came up when the attacker wanted to use mechanical
>bow and poison.

All characters can use resources which effect a strike. Both Poison
and Mechanical Bow can be used on both side of CvCC.

------------------------------
>From: Sir Desert Twister <dtel...@netvision.net.il>
>Subject: Several rules questions
>
>(a) Do you have to defeat an auto attack in order to play
>something at a site?

No. You only have to face the attack.

>(b) If I play Slayer on my opponent and then he cancels one of the
>attack and defeats the other one, does he score points? Is the
>slayer set out of play?

No. You have to defeat every strike in combat to get the points.
The Slayer is discarded.

>(c) If I play Cave drake and my opponent cancels one of the
>strikes and defeats the other one, does he score points? Is the
>Cave drake set out of play?

No. He does not get the points and the Cave Drake is discarded.

>(d) If a character have lure of senses and then she marvels told
>to remove it, does she cc at 4 or at 2?

You do the things on a card in the order listed. The corruption
card is removed. Then you make the corruption check for Marvel's
Told without the corruption card.

>(e) If I play Stealth, can I be attacked by Ahunt dragon
>manifestations?

Stealth prevents the play of creature hazards. Ahunt Dragons are
not creature hazards when played. If a Stealthy company moves
through an Ahunt affected region, that activates the passive
condition on the Ahunt card to create a hazard creature effect.
This is not stopped by stealth. If stealth were worded,
'automatically cancel hazard creature attacks,' it would stop an
Ahunt Dragon. Summary, Stealth does not protect from Ahunt Dragons.

------------------------------
>From: Dave Stegman <dste...@seismo.berkeley.edu>
>Subject: Q on wizard havens..
>
>question:
>
>say you have made a wizard haven with hidden haven, chambers in
>royal court, michief in mean way, etc..
>
>it is correct that you can't untap the haven in the same way when
>you split company into 2 companies, keeping one at the untapped
>haven and move the comapny that was at the tapped have.
>
>is that right?

That is right. You can't have multiple copies of the site card as
you can with regular havens so you cannot manipulate the haven to
untap it.

------------------------------
>From: Andrew <ell...@antares.it>
>Subject: Re: NetRep Away
>
>My I play cards as "Smoke Rings"
>during end-of-turn phase after reset hand size?

Yes, but you do not get to reset your hands size again after
playing Smoke Rings.

>My I tap a sage in a company to play Marvels Told for
>discard a permanent event in another company in a different site?

Yes.

------------------------------
>From: "Andy Fredricksen \(ECA\)" <a-an...@microsoft.com>
>Subject: [VAN] Sack over the Head Q
>
>Sack over the Head reads, in part:
>At the start of your turn, make a roll for each character placed
>with this card. If the result is greater than 8, the character is
>eliminated.
>
>True or False? SotH's player receives that character's kill MPs.
>
>(There's no real evidence to support "True," but then again those
>characters were placed with SotH via CvCC, so ... I'm not
>positive.)

You do not receive M.P. for characters killed by Sack Over the
Head.

------------------------------
>From: "Oskar" <os...@netreach.net>
>Subject: [VAN] Gnawed Ways
>
>Now I remember my other question (at least one of them). This is
>one of those questions that are more wishful thinking than a real
>question. Anyway, here it goes....
>Gnawed ways can be played as a hazard to make a deep mines site
>adjacent to other underdeeps. My question is if a non-FW company
>may use deep-mines. <Everybody says no and Oskar screams in
frustration>. My thought was that balrog companies could Gangways
>over and beat the crap out of the cheezy Aiglos and Dragon helm
>collectors down there.....don't y'all agree that that would have
>been cool. Oh well, enough fantasys for today, back to my books.

No, I'm afraid not.

------------------------------
>From: "Oskar" <os...@netreach.net>
>Subject: [VAN] - they keep coming (serious this time)
>
>Another question came up during a league game the other day. We
>were engaged in CvCC and couldn't agree on whether or not the
>Crows (ally with no prowess) gives a -1 modifer for the attacker
>against one of the opponents characters. Any thoughts?

You are asking about Regiment of Black Crows, right? Are you asking
if Regiment of Black Crows can tap in support on the attackers side
of CvCC?

------------------------------

I have joined the play test group working on the Lord Of the Rings
Expandable card game (LORE). Since I will be dividing my attention
Between two lists, it is more important than ever to include [Van]
in the subject line if you would like a response from me.

Thanks to all the kind souls who offered answers while I was
on vacation.

Van Norton
MECCG NetRep


0 new messages