If I cast an enchantment or place a counter on a creature with morph
abilities, do the enchantments/counters get removed when the creature
morphs? What happens when the creature morphs back to the form that
had the enchantments/counters on it?
Thanks in Advance,
YKS
It is still the same creature, whether it is face down or face up. Any
enchantments and counters will stay on it in both states.
> If I cast an enchantment or place a counter on a creature with morph
> abilities, do the enchantments/counters get removed when the creature
> morphs?
Minor nitpick first: Morph is only an ability when the card with morph
is being played from your hand.
I assume you mean 'play enchantments on a face-down creature, then turn
the creature face-up', in which case the enchantments and counters all
stay right where they are. The creature didn't change into a different
creature; it's the same creature, with different characteristics.
> What happens when the creature morphs back to the form that
> had the enchantments/counters on it?
If you turn the creature face down, it just changes the underlying
characteristics. The enchantments still function on top of that.
--
-- zoe
In both cases, it's the same creature; it's just been changed. Enchantments
and counters will remain on it. Spells and abilities on the stack that were
targeting it still will be. And so on...
--
Lee Sharpe
DCI Certified Level 2 Judge
President, UIUC Magic: The Gathering Club
http://www.uiuc.edu/ro/mtg
No, they stay on the creature - the creature just now looks "normal" instead
of looking like a 2/2 blank creature with no name or type. The enchantments
or counters on it affect it normally either way.
And if it gets turned face-down again, somehow, this also doesn't remove
any enchantments, counters, or any effects affecting it either - it just
makes the "base creature" look like it's 2/2, blank, nameless, and typeless.
Any modifications "go on top of" that. Much like Illusionary Mask except
the power/toughness are different.
Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from d...@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
>On Sat, 05 Apr 2003 04:01:20 GMT, Yung K. Su <yk...@tfn.net> wrote:
>>Please bear with me... it has been a few years since I have played
>>MTG, so some of the new abilities are confusing me. But here is my questions:
>>
>>If I cast an enchantment or place a counter on a creature with morph
>>abilities, do the enchantments/counters get removed when the creature
>>morphs? What happens when the creature morphs back to the form that
>>had the enchantments/counters on it?
>
>No, they stay on the creature - the creature just now looks "normal" instead
>of looking like a 2/2 blank creature with no name or type. The enchantments
>or counters on it affect it normally either way.
>
>And if it gets turned face-down again, somehow, this also doesn't remove
>any enchantments, counters, or any effects affecting it either - it just
>makes the "base creature" look like it's 2/2, blank, nameless, and typeless.
>Any modifications "go on top of" that. Much like Illusionary Mask except
>the power/toughness are different.
Can you pay the morphing cost to 'morph' the creature back to the face
down state? Or is that not part of the morph ability?
Nope. Morph cards can be played face-down and then turned face-up later,
but you can't turn it face-down again (with a few exceptions, like Backslide
or Wall of Deceit).
That is not part of the Morph ability, no; Morph is only usable right
as you're playing (casting, announcing) the creature spell. If it's face-down
and has Morph 'under' being face-down, you can reveal it and pay the
revealed Morph cost to turn it face-up; it doesn't work the other way round.
A few Morph creatures do have ways to turn themselves face-down, but most
don't; that's why I said 'somehow' up there.