Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

can a trample creature still assign damage even if bubble matrix is in play <nt>

263 views
Skip to first unread message

Chris Stefancik

unread,
Dec 10, 1999, 3:00:00 AM12/10/99
to
however, since the damage is reduced to zero for that creature...

e.g. bubble matrix is in play, I attack with yavimaya wurm, the defending
player would have to block or take the damage, because bubble matrix only
works on damage assigned to a creature. The defendant blocks with lost
soul, two of the 6 damage is prevented, the rest would carry over to player
with rules of trample, bubble matrix would only take effect for the 2
prevented damage, thus lost soul survived but the player takes 4 damage.

Steve Lord

unread,
Dec 10, 1999, 3:00:00 AM12/10/99
to
On Sat, 11 Dec 1999, Philip Schulz wrote:

> Chris Stefancik wrote:
>
> First of all, IMHO you shouldn't put the whole question in the subject,
> but give a short headline what your question is about.
>
> Now to your question.
>
> BUBBLE MATRIX
> 4
> Artifact
> Prevent all damage that would be dealt to creatures.
>
> Yes, creatures (including those with trample) still _assign_ combat
> damage. HOwever, the damage will never be dealt, but prevented due to
> Bubble Matrix.

Okay, just to make sure Philip's response is not misunderstood:

If a creature with neither Trample nor the Thorn Elemental ability assigns
damage, that damage will be prevented when it attempts to be dealt.

If a creature with Trample or the Thorn Elemental ability assigns damage,
any of that damage which was assigned to a creature which blocked it will
be prevented while any of that damage which was assigned to a _player_
will still go through, since BM only prevents damage to _creatures_.

Steve L


Philip Schulz

unread,
Dec 11, 1999, 3:00:00 AM12/11/99
to
Chris Stefancik wrote:

First of all, IMHO you shouldn't put the whole question in the subject,
but give a short headline what your question is about.

Now to your question.

BUBBLE MATRIX
4
Artifact
Prevent all damage that would be dealt to creatures.

Yes, creatures (including those with trample) still _assign_ combat
damage. HOwever, the damage will never be dealt, but prevented due to
Bubble Matrix.

--

"Everything starts somewhere, although many physicists disagree."

- Terry Pratchett, Hogfather

*****************************************
****
*** http://www.tu-harburg.de/~seps0903
**
*

0 new messages