Thanks
Raphael
// I know a dual land is considered one or the other BASIC land. Yet,
// the card itself is considered a basic land or a special land? How is
The card itself is non-basic.
// it affected by cards like Blood Moon, Illusionary Terrain and Land Tax
// respectively?
Blood Moon: It becomes a mountain, only.
Illusionary Terrian: One of the land type/mana halves is transformed
(whichever is affected)
Land Tax: It can't be grabbed by Land Tax
// Thanks
// Raphael
WARNING: THIS .SIG IS STILL UNDER CONSTRUCTION
o o o o o o o o o o o o o
[][][][][][][][][][][][][]
[] []
[] Ross Morgan-Linial []
[] rmor...@fhcrc.org []
[] []
[][][][][][][][][][][][][]
For a cleaner Usenet, insert this in ~/News/KILL (rn-style newsreaders):
/^Newsgroups:.*\,.*\,.*\,.*\,.*\,/h:=:j
It is considered non-basic.
: How is
: it affected by cards like Blood Moon, Illusionary Terrain and Land Tax
: respectively?
Blood Moon and Primal Order will affect/count multi-lands. Illusionary
Terrain has errata to make it change one basic land type to another so
that it can affect multi-lands. Land Tax cannot pull out a multi-land.
--
Kyle
nk...@hawaii.edu
#include <std_disclaimer.h>
#include <blue_ribbon>
That's easy. There are currently only ten basic lands: Swamp, Forest, Plains, Island
Mountain and the snow-covered variants thereof. Everything else is non-basic.
With Blood Moon all land types other than the ten basic are converted to Mountains.
With Illusionary Terrain, only the ten basic land types are affected.
With Land Tax you may only retreive the ten basic land types.
People seem to forget that although the dual lands are versatile, they are also
vulnerable to land-specific spells. A Flashfire will take out a Plateau as well as
the rest of your plains, and a Tsunami will get rid of and Underground Sea as well
as the rest of the Islands you have. Choose carefully!
Viel Gluck!
Raphael Lowe <ra...@lava.net> wrote in article <4tve4j$5...@mochi.lava.net>...
| I know a dual land is considered one or the other BASIC land. Yet,
| the card itself is considered a basic land or a special land? How is
| it affected by cards like Blood Moon, Illusionary Terrain and Land Tax
| respectively?
The card is not a basic land. It is considered to be the two land types, but
it is not basic.
So, Nightmares, Kird Apes, landwalkers, Tsunami, Flashfires, Conversion,
Illusionary Terrian (by eratta) etc will all work.
Blood Moon will turn all multilands into Mountains, since they are not basic
lands.
Land Tax and Lodestone Bauble will not let you retrieve multilands since they
are not basic lands.
Arcum's Weathervane cannot give multilands snow.
Gaea's touch will not let you play a forest/* multiland as it's free land.
Goblin Caves won't work on a mountain/* multiland.
etc.
--
+------------------------+----------------------+
| Mike Marcelais | Excel Developer and |
| mich...@microsoft.com | Magic Rules Guru |
+------------------------+----------------------+
| Opinions expressed in this post are mine, and |
| do not necessarily reflect those of Microsoft |
+--= Moonstone Dragon =---------------= UDIC =--+
Blood Moon will turn all dual lands into mountains because dual lands
are not basic lands even though they count as two different ones.
Illusionary Terrain has been errataed to affect basic lantypes do if
you hav IT set to change Plains to Forest then your Plateau would be
Taiga.
Land Tax can fetch only basic lands so you cannot use it on duals.
NES
This one still seems weird to me. You can snow-cover any land
that isn't a multiland; you can snow-cover a Maze of Ith, for
crying out loud. But you can't snow-cover a Tropical Island?
I could see not being able to snow-cover just one of the lands;
either the whole card is snow-covered or not at all... but
preventing multilands and only multilands seems a bit arbitrary.
--
Shannon Bell Email: sh...@issl.atl.hp.com
Voice: +1 404 315 9703 x163 Fax: +1 404 315 6407
Hewlett-Packard / 2957 Clairmont Rd Suite 220 / Atlanta GA 30329-1647
: This one still seems weird to me. You can snow-cover any land
: that isn't a multiland; you can snow-cover a Maze of Ith, for
: crying out loud. But you can't snow-cover a Tropical Island?
: I could see not being able to snow-cover just one of the lands;
: either the whole card is snow-covered or not at all... but
: preventing multilands and only multilands seems a bit arbitrary.
You cannot use it on a Maze of Ith. The Weathervane can only make a
basic land snow-covered.
Shan Bell <sh...@issl.atl.hp.com> wrote in article
<3210D...@issl.atl.hp.com>...
| Mike Marcelais wrote:
| > Arcum's Weathervane cannot give multilands snow.
|
| This one still seems weird to me. You can snow-cover any land
| that isn't a multiland; you can snow-cover a Maze of Ith, for
| crying out loud. But you can't snow-cover a Tropical Island?
| I could see not being able to snow-cover just one of the lands;
| either the whole card is snow-covered or not at all... but
| preventing multilands and only multilands seems a bit arbitrary.
Read the ability...it can only target non-snow-covered basic lands.
Multilands (and Mazes of Ith) are not basic, so you cannot give Snow to
multilands or to Maze of Iths.
Now, if the land is temporarily a basic land (Blood Moon, Jinx), then you can
give it snow and the snow will remain when it turns back into a non-basic
land. [And a snow-covered Taiga will count as a snow-covered forst and a
snow-covered mountain.]
Arcum's Weathervane iU Artifact 2
(2T): Target snow-covered land becomes a non-snow-covered land of the same
type. Mark the changed land with a counter.
(2T): Target non-snow-covered basic land becomes a snow-covered land of the
same type. Mark the changed land with a counter.
No. Read the Weathervane; it can _take away_ snow from any snowcovered land,
but can only _give_ snow to a non-snowcovered _basic_ land.
>you can snow-cover a Maze of Ith, for crying out loud.
Only if it's being a basic forest, basic island, basic swamp, basic plains,
or basic mountain at the time.
Dave
--
\/David DeLaney d...@panacea.phys.utk.edu "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://enigma.phys.utk.edu/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
Yup; my mistake. Been too long since I read the card. It no longer
seems odd that you can't do a multiland :) I was just remembering
the many mentions of snow-covered non-basic lands during the Great
Landwalk Count and forgot the intermediate steps.