> There has been alot of talk about this problem in our shop lately, and
> none of us are really sure what the answer is. If I have a Mother of
> Runes with a protection from green, and my opponent attacks with a
> Rancored Pouncing Jaguar, and I block with the Mother of Runes, do I
> still take trample damage? The argument is over whether protection
> from a color absorbs the damage so that lethal damage is never dealt.
> Please help.
If your opponent wants, he can choose whether or not you take damage.
When the damage is assigned, he must assign at least the Mom's toughness
(1) to the Mom; any extra can be divided between the Mom and the defending
player, since the Jaguar has Trample. Then, when the damage is actually
_dealt_, the Mom's protection from green (assuming she tapped herself to
give herself prot-green) will prevent any of the Jaguar's damage which
tries to be dealt to her.
Trample has worked this way since Urza's Saga.
Steve L
the mother of runes will take 1 damage from the jaguar and the rest will
trample over,the damage to the mother gets reduced to 0.
To be THE MAN you gotta beat THE MAN...vote Libertarian!
www.lp.org
Depends on how attacker -assigns- the combat damage. Generally you will
take three Trample damage.
See, when combat damage is put -on- the stack, he has to divide the Trample
damage up. Your Mom has toughness 1, and has no damage yet, so he has to
assign at -least- 1 damage to her. The other three are his to divide as
he wishes between her and you; generally, he'll assign them all to you.
When the damage resolves -off- the stack and is dealt, it goes where it was
sent, in the amounts it was assigned in. Any damage he assigned to Mom will
be prevented, because she has PfGreen; any damage he assigned straight to
you will damage you. So normally you'll take 3 damage, though he can have you
take 2, 1, or 0 by assigning less to you in the first place, and Mom will
not be dealt any damage (because it'll get prevented).
Note that this is how Trample has worked since Urza's Saga came out; before
then, it worked differently. The people saying "You take none at all because
it all hits Mom and is absorbed before any can Trample over" are remembering
how it -used to- work a year and a half ago.
>The
>argument is over whether protection from a color absorbs the damage so that
>lethal damage is never dealt. Please help.
It prevents the damage, yes. But when -assigning- "lethal" damage to Mom,
you only have to take into account her toughness (1) and whether any damage
is already on her (or appearing at the same time). So he only has to assign
1 damage to her, and gets to ignore that it will later get prevented when
he's counting up how -much- he has to allocate to her.
Dave
--
\/David DeLaney d...@panacea.phys.utk.edu "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://panacea.phys.utk.edu/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ/ I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.