Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Gilded Drake ???

134 views
Skip to first unread message

ReedHeath

unread,
Jul 7, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/7/99
to
Okay, It is my turn ( I have Priority).
My opponent controls three creatures.
I cast Gilded Drake.
Do I get to choose which one I want to exchange the Drake for?
Assuming I get to choose:What if it ( The creature I choose) has Protection
from blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does the Drake get
exchanged or sacrificed?
----------
Sigil of Sleep
I have sigil of sleep on a Prodigal Sorcerer.
I tap him to do one point of damage to my opponent.
He controls a single creature (my only choice) that either has protection from
blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does it bounce back to his
hand?
Also: Can I tap the Prodigal Sorcerer to do one point of damage to myself-and
send a creature I control back to owners hand?
--------
Mana Breach
If I control no land but have mana can I still cast a spell even though I have
no Land to return to my hand?
-------
Wrath of God,Earthquake,Hurricane....
I play a mass destruction Sorcery.
In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or whatever).
Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction spell in
response to his response?
-------
Mox Diamond"
What is the ruling for tournament play on this card?
I put the card into play.
Can I tap it for mana without discarding the land and then send it to the
graveyard?
If my opponent counterspells it do I still have to discard the land?
-------
Interdict
Can I Interdict my own creature's ability to draw a card?
--------
Thanks,Reed


hofbauer heinz

unread,
Jul 7, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/7/99
to
On 07 Jul 1999 12:44:55 GMT, reed...@aol.com (ReedHeath) wrote:

>Okay, It is my turn ( I have Priority).
>My opponent controls three creatures.
>I cast Gilded Drake.
>Do I get to choose which one I want to exchange the Drake for?
>Assuming I get to choose:What if it ( The creature I choose) has Protection
>from blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does the Drake get
>exchanged or sacrificed?

you choose.
you cannot choose a creature with prot blue, if your op only controls
creatures that are protected from this ability you have to sac the
drake.


>----------
>Sigil of Sleep
>I have sigil of sleep on a Prodigal Sorcerer.
>I tap him to do one point of damage to my opponent.
>He controls a single creature (my only choice) that either has protection from
>blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does it bounce back to his
>hand?

nope you cannot target it.

>Also: Can I tap the Prodigal Sorcerer to do one point of damage to myself-and
>send a creature I control back to owners hand?

yup.

>--------
>Mana Breach
>If I control no land but have mana can I still cast a spell even though I have
>no Land to return to my hand?

yup, the returning of lands is just effect that triggers when you play
a spell not a cost.

>-------
>Wrath of God,Earthquake,Hurricane....
>I play a mass destruction Sorcery.
>In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or whatever).
>Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction spell in
>response to his response?

yop.

>-------
>Mox Diamond"
>What is the ruling for tournament play on this card?
>I put the card into play.
>Can I tap it for mana without discarding the land and then send it to the
>graveyard?

nope the discard land is an additional cost, you have to do it in
order to get it played.

>If my opponent counterspells it do I still have to discard the land?

actually you have to discard it to give him something to dispell,
additional cost.

and don't nail me on this.

>-------
>Interdict
>Can I Interdict my own creature's ability to draw a card?

yup.


-heinz
hofbaue...@gmx.net
"C is the first step, and the last -
yet there are many in between."

Ingo Warnke

unread,
Jul 7, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/7/99
to
ReedHeath (reed...@aol.com) wrote:
: Okay, It is my turn ( I have Priority).
: My opponent controls three creatures.
: I cast Gilded Drake.

Gilded Drake has technical problems to be worded in such a way as to work
as intended. The current wording is :

When Gilded Drake comes into play, exchange control of Gilded Drake for
control of a creature an opponent controls. If you can't, sacrifice Gilded
Drake.

This does *not* target the creature the Drake is exchanged for any longer.

: Do I get to choose which one I want to exchange the Drake for?

Yes, and you chose on resolution of the triggered ability.

: Assuming I get to choose:What if it ( The creature I choose) has Protection


: from blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does the Drake get
: exchanged or sacrificed?

Since the wording no longer targets anything, Pro: Blue or untargetability
is not an issue. You could exchange the Drake for a Scragnoth, for example.

----------

: Sigil of Sleep
: I have sigil of sleep on a Prodigal Sorcerer.
: I tap him to do one point of damage to my opponent.
: He controls a single creature (my only choice) that either has protection from
: blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does it bounce back to his
: hand?

No. In this case you are unable to legally announce the triggered ability
of Sigil of Sleep, so it isn't put on the stack and nothing is bounced.

: Also: Can I tap the Prodigal Sorcerer to do one point of damage to myself-and


: send a creature I control back to owners hand?

Sure.

--------

: Mana Breach
: If I control no land but have mana can I still cast a spell even though I have
: no Land to return to my hand?

Yes. You are then simply unable to follow the instructions of Mana Breach, just
as though your opponent made you discard a card while you had an empty hand.

-------

: Wrath of God,Earthquake,Hurricane....
: I play a mass destruction Sorcery.
: In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or whatever).
: Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction spell in
: response to his response?

Yes. You could also wait for his response to resolve and then add your counter
to the stack, if you want.

-------
: Mox Diamond"
: What is the ruling for tournament play on this card?

Simple. All you need to know is its current wording:

As an additional cost to play Mox Diamond discard a land card from your hand.
T: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.

: I put the card into play.


: Can I tap it for mana without discarding the land and then send it to the
: graveyard?

As can be seen from the above wording, you had to discard a land when you
*cast* the Mox, which is long before it comes into play and would be usable.

If you put the Mox into play without casting it (Show and Tell, Tinker) you
don't need to discard a land at all.

: If my opponent counterspells it do I still have to discard the land?

You already have discarded the land.

-------

: Interdict
: Can I Interdict my own creature's ability to draw a card?

Yes.

Ingo Warnke

Stewart Potter

unread,
Jul 7, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/7/99
to

ReedHeath <reed...@aol.com> wrote in article
<19990707084455...@ng-fj1.aol.com>...


: Okay, It is my turn ( I have Priority).
: My opponent controls three creatures.
: I cast Gilded Drake.

: Do I get to choose which one I want to exchange the Drake for?

: Assuming I get to choose:What if it ( The creature I choose) has
Protection
: from blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does the Drake get
: exchanged or sacrificed?

The Oracle wording on Gilded Drake makes the exchange NON_TARGETED

"Text(US+errata): 3/3, Flying. ; When ~this~ comes into play, exchange
control of ~this~ for a creature an opponent controls. If you can't,
sacrifice ~this~. [Oracle 99/05/01] [bethmo 99/06/08] "

So, since the ability is not targeting anything ProfBlue or untargetable
has no effect.

here <http://www.crystalkeep.com/magic/rules/summaries.html>

: ----------


: Sigil of Sleep
: I have sigil of sleep on a Prodigal Sorcerer.
: I tap him to do one point of damage to my opponent.
: He controls a single creature (my only choice) that either has protection
from
: blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does it bounce back to
his
: hand?

: Also: Can I tap the Prodigal Sorcerer to do one point of damage to
myself-and
: send a creature I control back to owners hand?

The Oracle wording on Sigil of Sleep (which is the same as on the card
itself) says:

Text(UD): Whenever enchanted creature deals damage to a player, return
target creature that player controls to its owner's hand.

Since it says "target creature" it is a targeted *ability* of the
enchantement, thus ProFBlue or untargetable will prevent it.

The Sigil affects the damaged player (i.e. it doesn't say opponent), so if
you are damaged by the enchanted creature you must bounce a creature (if
possible).

: --------


: Mana Breach
: If I control no land but have mana can I still cast a spell even though I
have
: no Land to return to my hand?

The Oracle wording on Mana Breach says:

Text(EX+errata): Whenever a player plays a spell, that player returns a
land he or she controls to its owner's hand. [Oracle 99/05/01]

It DOESN'T say anything about preventing you from casting spells if you
CAN'T return a land. So the answer is yes.

: -------


: Wrath of God,Earthquake,Hurricane....
: I play a mass destruction Sorcery.
: In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or whatever).
: Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction spell in
: response to his response?

Yes.

: -------


: Mox Diamond"
: What is the ruling for tournament play on this card?

: I put the card into play.
: Can I tap it for mana without discarding the land and then send it to the
: graveyard?

: If my opponent counterspells it do I still have to discard the land?

The Oracle wording for Mox Diamond says:

Text(SH+errata): As an additional cost to play ~this~, discard a land card
from your hand. ; {Tap}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.
[Oracle 99/05/01]

No. It says "As an additional play cost ..." That means just like spending
the mana to cast it (in this case 0 mana), you have to pay the cost of
discarding a land OR ELSE the spell is never successfully cast, er played
on the stack. This discard is well before it ever comes into play. So, if
the Diamond is on the Stack (remember, it IS a spell until it resolves)
than it is a valid target for a counterspell. If the Diamond is countered,
it never makes it into play. BUT, you already paid the cost of discarding a
land. If someone counters your Shock, you don't get the R back in your mana
pool.

here <http://www.crystalkeep.com/magic/rules/summaries.html>

: -------


: Interdict
: Can I Interdict my own creature's ability to draw a card?

The Oracle wording on Interdict says:

Text(TE+errata): Counter target activated ability of a permanent that's not
a mana ability. ; Draw a card. [Oracle 99/05/01]

It doesn't say 'opponent controlled' or anything about a particular
player's control over an ability on the stack ... so the answer is yes.
: --------
: Thanks,Reed
:


------
Stu

Da Twink Daddy

unread,
Jul 7, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/7/99
to
Kunnig <ju...@lx.student.wau.nl> wrote in message
news:3783...@wau.nl...
> Ok ........

>
> > : I play a mass destruction Sorcery.
> > : In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or
whatever).
> > : Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction
spell in
> > : response to his response?
> >
> > Yes. You could also wait for his response to resolve and then add
your
> counter
> > to the stack, if you want.
>
> Wait a minute ... I don't get it. When I understand this correctly
you put
> it like this :
>
> Mass destruction is put on stack (by "me")
> - priority to opponent
> Response to mass destruction spell
> - priority back to "me"
> Pass
> - priority to opponent
> Pass
> Response resolves

Actually, you get to repond to your spell first. Since it is a
sorcery, I'll assume you are active player.

You: MDE, Pass. Opp: Sacrifice, Sacrifce, etc., Pass
You: CS the MDE!, Pass Opp: <Glup>Pass.
CS Resolves.
You Pass. Opp: Pass.
Last thing he did resolves.
You Pass. Opp: Pass.
<Repeast the last 2 lines until one of you want to interrupt it (by
adding to the stack, or the stack is empty.>

Alternatively, you could let some or all of his responses resolve
before you announce your counterspell.

Alternatively, he could only respond with one thing, then let that
resolve, then add another thing and let that resolve, but again, you
can interrupt that process at almost any time by playing your CS.

One thing you CAN'T do: He announces a sac, you pass, then he passes.
Right here, both of you have passed so that sac will resolve before
you can do anything. Likewise, after his 'last sac' (the one just
above the MDE), if you pass and he decides not to do anything (he
passes) you can't back up and CS your own spell. [It's the top thing
on the stack and will resolve if you both pass, before you get
priority again.]

> I thought that when both players had passed, the whole stack
resolves before
> priority is gained back by the active player, am I wrong in this,
does
> priority go to the active player inbetween every spell-resolution ?

In 5E once adding to a batch was complete the entire batch resolved,
this is no longer true. After any resolution the active player gets
priority once again.

--
Da Twink Daddy
bs...@entropy.uark.edu
ICQ# 514984

Daniel W. Johnson

unread,
Jul 7, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/7/99
to
Kunnig <ju...@lx.student.wau.nl> wrote:

> Wait a minute ... I don't get it. When I understand this correctly you put
> it like this :
>
> Mass destruction is put on stack (by "me")

Priority still with you (and you pass)


> - priority to opponent
> Response to mass destruction spell

Priority still with opponent (and he passes)


> - priority back to "me"
> Pass
> - priority to opponent
> Pass

Opponent does not get priority another time before resolution.

> Response resolves
>
> ..... so now I lose track :
>
> - priority back to "me" ?!?!?!?!?!?!
> Put counter spell on stack ?!?!?!?!?

Yes. This was one of the 6E changes.

> I thought that when both players had passed, the whole stack resolves before
> priority is gained back by the active player, am I wrong in this, does
> priority go to the active player inbetween every spell-resolution ?

It does now.

--
Daniel W. Johnson
pano...@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W

David DeLaney

unread,
Jul 7, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/7/99
to
Kunnig <ju...@lx.student.wau.nl> wrote:
>Ok ........
>> : I play a mass destruction Sorcery.
>> : In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or whatever).
>> : Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction spell in
>> : response to his response?
>> Yes. You could also wait for his response to resolve and then add your
>counter
>> to the stack, if you want.
>
>Wait a minute ... I don't get it. When I understand this correctly you put
>it like this :
>
>Mass destruction is put on stack (by "me")
>- priority to opponent

No. Priority to -you-. If you pass, _then_ priority goes to opponent.
(A player who puts an activated ability, or spell, onto the stack _retains_
priority. This is a _change_ from 5th Edition rules [where it always went
back to active player first].)

>Response to mass destruction spell

By opponent.

>- priority back to "me"

No. Priority to opponent, who just added a spell or activated ability to the
stack. If opponent passes, _then_ priority to you.

>Pass
>- priority to opponent

No. If _both_ of you pass, the top thing on the stack resolves: opponent's
response.

>..... so now I lose track :
>
>- priority back to "me" ?!?!?!?!?!?!

After something resolves _off_ the stack, priority goes to active player.
That's "you", since you started this by playing a Sorcery - so it must be your
turn and your Main phase.

>Put counter spell on stack ?!?!?!?!?

Sure. Things can be added to the stack before the next thing resolves off
of it.

>I thought that when both players had passed, the whole stack resolves before
>priority is gained back by the active player, am I wrong in this, does
>priority go to the active player inbetween every spell-resolution ?

You're still thinking of 5E rules. Batches _worked_ like that. (There are no
more batches.) Under 6E rules, after each thing resolves -off- the stack,
active player gets priority and may -add to- the stack, or pass. The stack
resolves from the top down, like batches did ... but does _not_ resolve "all
the way down" once it starts. Instead, it pauses to let people add more
stuff, if they want, after each thing resolves off it; for the top thing
on the stack to resolve, _both players_ have to pass in succession.

So yes, after each thing resolves _off of_ the stack, priority goes to
active player; after a spell or activated ability is _added to_ the stack,
its player retains priority. (Once you grasp this, the stack becomes Fairly
Easy To Deal With.)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney d...@panacea.phys.utk.edu "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://panacea.phys.utk.edu/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ/ I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.

David DeLaney

unread,
Jul 7, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/7/99
to
ReedHeath <reed...@aol.com> wrote:
>Okay, It is my turn ( I have Priority).
>My opponent controls three creatures.
>I cast Gilded Drake.
>Do I get to choose which one I want to exchange the Drake for?

Yes. When the triggered ability resolves.

>Assuming I get to choose:What if it ( The creature I choose) has Protection
>from blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does the Drake get
>exchanged or sacrificed?

Well, since the recent Errata makes the ability not target at all (the
reasoning for this is that if it's targetted ... and gets "fizzled" ...
the sacrifice would also not happen, which would be Bad), you may choose
any creature opponent controls, regardless of protection-from or cannot-be-the-
target-of abilities.

>Sigil of Sleep
>I have sigil of sleep on a Prodigal Sorcerer.
>I tap him to do one point of damage to my opponent.
>He controls a single creature (my only choice) that either has protection from
>blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does it bounce back to his
>hand?

No. This triggered ability _does_ target; if there are no legal targets to
choose when the ability would go onto the stack, it simply can't go onto the
stack at all - it can't get announced. So Nothing Happens.

>Also: Can I tap the Prodigal Sorcerer to do one point of damage to myself-and
>send a creature I control back to owners hand?

Sure. Tim doesn't say he can't damage you, and Sigil of Sleep doesn't say
"deals damage to an -opponent-".

>Mana Breach
>If I control no land but have mana can I still cast a spell even though I have
>no Land to return to my hand?

Yes. Again, if you physically can't -do- an untargetted part of an ability's
effect, you simply do everything you can. If you have no land to return,
Mana Breach's ability simply Does Nothing when it resolves, after you play
a spell. Nothing there stops you from playing the spell in the -first- place
(Mana Breach doesn't say it makes returning the land an -additional cost- of
playing the spell, for instance; compare with Drought).

>Wrath of God,Earthquake,Hurricane....


>I play a mass destruction Sorcery.
>In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or whatever).
>Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction spell in
>response to his response?

Yep. A "counter target spell" thing can target any spell on the stack,
not "just the top one". Note that this is a big Change from the 5th Edition
rules.

>Mox Diamond"
>What is the ruling for tournament play on this card?

"MOX DIAMOND 0 Artifact
As an additional cost to play ~, [choose and] discard a land card from your
hand. / Tap: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."

>I put the card into play.
>Can I tap it for mana without discarding the land and then send it to the
>graveyard?

If you're _casting it as a spell_, you must pay the additional cost to be
able to announce the spell legally. So the MD won't get anywhere _near_
"in play" if you don't pay the cost.

If you put the Diamond directly into play without casting it as a spell,
you don't pay any of the spell costs, so can't discard a land card even
if you -want- to.

There's no situation where it 'comes into play and will leave again if you
don't discard a land card' at all.

>If my opponent counterspells it do I still have to discard the land?

If your opponent Counterspells the spell, you still _already have_ discarded
the land; you did so when you announced the spell, while you were paying the
spell's costs.

>Interdict
>Can I Interdict my own creature's ability to draw a card?

Sure, if it's an activated ability. (Essentially "cycling the Interdict"...)

Kunnig

unread,
Jul 8, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/8/99
to
Ok ........

> : I play a mass destruction Sorcery.


> : In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or whatever).
> : Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction spell in
> : response to his response?
>

> Yes. You could also wait for his response to resolve and then add your
counter
> to the stack, if you want.

Wait a minute ... I don't get it. When I understand this correctly you put
it like this :

Mass destruction is put on stack (by "me")
- priority to opponent

Response to mass destruction spell

- priority back to "me"

Pass
- priority to opponent

Pass
Response resolves

..... so now I lose track :

- priority back to "me" ?!?!?!?!?!?!

Put counter spell on stack ?!?!?!?!?

I thought that when both players had passed, the whole stack resolves before


priority is gained back by the active player, am I wrong in this, does
priority go to the active player inbetween every spell-resolution ?

Thanks,

Jurre

Kunnig

unread,
Jul 8, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/8/99
to
Thanks guys,

I'll read the 6th-rules.doc a little better now :-)

Jurre

Da Twink Daddy

unread,
Jul 13, 1999, 3:00:00 AM7/13/99
to
> Okay, It is my turn ( I have Priority).
> My opponent controls three creatures.
> I cast Gilded Drake.
> Do I get to choose which one I want to exchange the Drake for?
> Assuming I get to choose:What if it ( The creature I choose) has
Protection
> from blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does the
Drake get
> exchanged or sacrificed?

By new wording, it's not targeted, so, you choose an resolution AND it
is fine for the creature to be pro:blue or untargetable. (This may
change in the future though.)

> ----------


> Sigil of Sleep
> I have sigil of sleep on a Prodigal Sorcerer.
> I tap him to do one point of damage to my opponent.
> He controls a single creature (my only choice) that either has
protection from
> blue or cannot be the target of spells or effects-Does it bounce
back to his
> hand?

Does sigil of sleep use the word target? If it does thne you cant even
choose the pro:blue or untargetable creature. If there are no creature
you can choose the ability doesn't even go ot the stack.

> Also: Can I tap the Prodigal Sorcerer to do one point of damage to
myself-and
> send a creature I control back to owners hand?

Yes.

> --------


> Mana Breach
> If I control no land but have mana can I still cast a spell even
though I have
> no Land to return to my hand?

Yes. The triggered ability of mana breach will still try to make you
pick up a land (and if you have one on resolution you'll have to.)
but, if you don't have one you just can't do that.

> -------
> Wrath of God,Earthquake,Hurricane....


> I play a mass destruction Sorcery.
> In response my opponent does something ( sacrifices or whatever).
> Am I correct in assuming I can counter my own mass destruction spell
in
> response to his response?

Yes.

> -------


> Mox Diamond"
> What is the ruling for tournament play on this card?

The discard is an additional cost to play.

> I put the card into play.

If you cast it, then you have already discarded the land. If you
didn't cast it you won't have to discard a land ever.

> Can I tap it for mana without discarding the land and then send it
to the
> graveyard?

See above.

> If my opponent counterspells it do I still have to discard the land?

See above. (Note: You have to cast it for it to be counterspelled, so
only the first sentance applies.)

> -------


> Interdict
> Can I Interdict my own creature's ability to draw a card?

Yes, as long as it is an activated ability.

0 new messages