Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

blocking flanking creatures with 1/1 creatures

310 views
Skip to first unread message

Mark Beckett

unread,
Jul 15, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/15/97
to

<HTML>
Just wondering weather a 1/1 creature can actually block a flanking creature,
since
<BR>the effect of the flanking is to make the 1/1 creature 0/0. Now the
creature has no
<BR>toughness so does it block the creature then die or die because of
the -1/-1 and so
<BR>not block the attacker with flanking.

<P>Thanks
<BR>Mark
<BR>
<PRE>
--&nbsp;
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
&nbsp;Mark Beckett&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; email:Mark.B...@tiuk.ti.com
&nbsp;MOS Design&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; IMS&nbsp; : MIAB
&nbsp;Texas Instruments Ltd&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Phone: (01604) 663416
&nbsp;Northampton, England
--------------------------------------------------------------------------</PRE>
</HTML>


Kyle Nishioka

unread,
Jul 15, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/15/97
to

Mark Beckett (Mark.B...@tiuk.ti.com) wrote:
Hey this is the Usenet, not the Web. Dump the tags.

: Just wondering weather a 1/1 creature can actually block a flanking creature,
: since the effect of the flanking is to make the 1/1 creature 0/0. Now
: the creature has no toughness so does it block the creature then die or
: die because of the -1/-1 and so not block the attacker with flanking.

You may block the attacker even if you know the blocker will die. Once
blocked, the attacker will remain blocked even if the blocker is not in
play when damage dealing comes up. No combat damage will be dealt by the
attacker (unless the attacker has trample, in which case all of the damage
goes directly to the defending player).

--
Kyle
nk...@hawaii.edu

#include <std_disclaimer.h>
#include <blue_ribbon>


David R. Klassen

unread,
Jul 15, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/15/97
to Mark Beckett

Mark Beckett wrote:
>
> Just wondering weather a 1/1 creature can actually block a flanking
> creature, since
> the effect of the flanking is to make the 1/1 creature 0/0. Now the
> creature has no
> toughness so does it block the creature then die or die because of the
> -1/-1 and so
> not block the attacker with flanking.
The creature can be declared as a blocker. It dies, but it *did* block
so
the damage doesn't come through to you.

--
David R. Klassen
Department of Astronomy
Center for Radiophysics and Space Research
304 Space Sciences Building
Cornell University
Ithaca NY 14853
phone: 607-255-6910
http://faraday.uwyo.edu/grads/dklassen/
dr...@cornell.edu

David DeLaney

unread,
Jul 16, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/16/97
to

Mark.B...@tiuk.ti.com (Mark Beckett) says:
><HTML>


>Just wondering weather a 1/1 creature can actually block a flanking creature,
>since

><BR>the effect of the flanking is to make the 1/1 creature 0/0. Now the
>creature has no
><BR>toughness so does it block the creature then die or die because of
>the -1/-1 and so


><BR>not block the attacker with flanking.
>
><P>Thanks
><BR>Mark
><BR>
><PRE>
>--&nbsp;

1) Turn _off_ whatever is in your newsreader that's doing that. Or get
a newsreader that works. That's just awful.

2) The 1/1 creature blocks, during declare-blockers step, then gets
-1/-1 as a triggered effect immediately after declare-blockers is over,
then dies. The attacker is quite blocked.

Dave

>--------------------------------------------------------------------------
>&nbsp;Mark Beckett&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; email:Mark.B...@tiuk.ti.com
>&nbsp;MOS Design&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; IMS&nbsp; : MIAB
>&nbsp;Texas Instruments Ltd&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Phone: (01604) 663416
>&nbsp;Northampton, England
>--------------------------------------------------------------------------</PRE>
></HTML>

Bleagh.
--
\/David DeLaney d...@panacea.phys.utk.edu "It's not the pot that grows the flowe
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to se
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK
http://panacea.phys.utk.edu/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ/ I WUV you in all CAPS! --K

0 new messages