Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

New to MTG - Don't understand Phasing

446 views
Skip to first unread message

Kathy Ferris-Selig

unread,
Jun 22, 1998, 3:00:00 AM6/22/98
to

I would appreciate any help on this feature. I have read the rules and
explainations but am not sure how it actually plays. Please post a response
here.

MTGmaster3

unread,
Jun 23, 1998, 3:00:00 AM6/23/98
to

>I would appreciate any help on this feature. I have read the rules and
>explainations but am not sure how it actually plays. Please post a response
>here.

durring you're upkeep (if you control it) the creature fases in (into play) if
it was out,or out (of play) if it was in.

-ßrian
DCI# h661587

Maarten van Beek

unread,
Jun 23, 1998, 3:00:00 AM6/23/98
to

Kathy Ferris-Selig wrote:
>
> I would appreciate any help on this feature. I have read the rules and
> explainations but am not sure how it actually plays. Please post a response
> here.

Phasing is a special ability creature's have that does two things:

1. At the beginning of your untap phase, all permanents controlled by
use that have the ability phasing "phase out". This means that they are
considered to be no longer in play. So they cannot be targeted, the
cannot attack, they cannot be sacced, they cannot be affected in any way
(except by something that specifically says to affect phased out
permanents), nor affect anything themselves. Popularly, we say the
permanent is in "phaseland".

2. At the same time as the above happens, all permanents that are in
"phaseland" return to play. Now they are in play as normal again.

For short, a phasing permanent will blink in and out of the game on
every turn. A few notes:
When a creature phase out, it triggers leave-play abilities (for
instance, a Thalakos Seer phasing out lets you draw a card). Also, all
counters and local enchantments stay on the creature and phase out with
it.
When a creature phases in, it DOESN'T trigger come-into-play abilities
(e.g. a Man-o'-War phasing in DOESN'T let you return a target creature
to it's owner's hand). Also, permanents pahsing in do not suffer from
Summoning Sickness.

Maarten van Beek
mailto:pha...@blacklotus.demon.nl

Ingo Kemper

unread,
Jun 23, 1998, 3:00:00 AM6/23/98
to

On Mon, 22 Jun 1998 19:43:35 -0400, "Kathy Ferris-Selig"
<kjfe...@sprynet.com> wrote:

>I would appreciate any help on this feature. I have read the rules and
>explainations but am not sure how it actually plays. Please post a response
>here.

Ookay, it's Phasing time. Here goes...

First of all, the ability "Phasing" forces creatures to leave play and
return in regular intervals.

At the beginning of your untap phase (before you do your "mass
untap"), just look around if you have a permanent with Phasing in
play. If yes, those permanents will now "phase out", which means that
they will leave play. At the _same_ time, any permanents that you
phased out earlier will return to play.
This might sound somewhat complicated, so let's look at an example.

First observed turn: You cast a Sandbar Crocodile (blue, phasing).

(During your opponent's next turn, the Sandbar Crocodile is tapped by
Twiddle in order to prevent it from blocking.)

Second observed turn: At the beginning of your untap phase, you notice
that Sandbar Crocodile has Phasing, and thus you phase it out. (Note
that you phase it out before it untaps. Most players represent the
phased-out state by turning the card face down, but you could also
move it to a special place on the table or mark it with a special
counter.)
The Sandbar Crocodile has now left play and cannot be targeted by
spells or effects. Global effects won't hit it either. It's almost as
if the crocodile was hit by Swords to Plowshares and removed from the
game.
During your main phase you play an additional Sandbar Crocodile.

Third observed turn: At the beginning of your untap phase, the phased
out Sandbar Crocodile _returns_ to play (called "phasing in"), while
the new one phases out and _leaves_ play. (This is simultaneous, the
two crocodiles never get to see each other. If it was a legend it
would still survive.) Note that the old crocodile phases in tapped
(because it was tapped when it phased out), but will untap directly
afterwards in your "mass-untap".
During your main phase you declare an attack with the Sandbar
Crocodile. (Note that creatures always phase in _without_ summoning
sickness.) Your opponent protects himself by casting Reality Ripple
("target creature phases out"). The crocodile leaves play again.

Fourth observed turn: At the beginning of your untap phase, _both_
crocodiles phase back in. (It does not matter that one of them was
phased out by a spell and not by its own ability.)

The game continues...


It is important to note that all enchantments on a phasing permanent
phase out along with it, so when the permanent phases back in it will
still have the same enchantments on it. It will also keep all counters
and permanent changes.

On the other hand, all effects that depend on the permanent being in
play, or that apply to it while it's in play end immediately when that
permanent phases out. All damage on it will be removed, and any
effects scheduled to affect it at end of turn are ignored (because it
is out of play).

For example, if you gained control of a creature with Ray of Command
and that creature phases out a few moments later, Ray of Command's
effect will stop _immediately_. (The "tap that creature at end of
turn" effect is ignored because the creature has left play, but you
lose control of it as soon as it phases out.)
The creature will phase back in during your next untap phase (because
it was under your control before it phased out), but it will phase
back in under your opponent's control (because Ray of Command stopped
affecting the creature the moment it phased out).

One more important point: While phasing out triggers all appropriate
effects (for "leaving play"), phasing in will not trigger anything. (A
phasing Nekrataal is _not_ a two-turn "Terror-machine".)

So if those phasing creatures leave play, where do they go? They are
not buried or completely removed from the game, but they are in a
special "out of play" area which many players are calling "Phaseland".
There is currently only one single spell that reaches Phaseland: Time
and Tide. _All_ other spells cannot affect anything that is phased out
in _any_ way.
(This leads to the classic phasing combos with mass destruction
spells, like "I phase my creatures out", "I cast Wrath of God", "My
creatures return to my side and attack".)
Note that if a token ever phases out it is removed from the game
entirely and will not return to play, because tokens can only exist
while "in play".

Okay, now, what is Phasing good for? Well, first of all, phasing
creatures tend to be cheaper to cast, because you won't be able to use
them every other turn. Then there are the phasing combos, of course.
One was already mentioned above. A second idea revolves around the
fact that creatures phase back in during the untap phase - so a Stasis
(or similar spell) will prevent _all_ automatic phasing.
There are some more tricks with Phasing. Just try and find one
yourself.

If you're still unclear on certain points, don't hesitate to ask.

Ingo Kemper
--
__ _ __ __ __ __
__/ /_/ \/ /_/____/_ |___Sky...@uni-muenster.de___---===> \
/_/ /_/\_/ |__/ |__/ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ---===>__/

Ingo Kemper

unread,
Jun 23, 1998, 3:00:00 AM6/23/98
to

On 23 Jun 1998 03:03:19 GMT, mtgma...@aol.com (MTGmaster3) wrote:

>>I would appreciate any help on this feature. I have read the rules and
>>explainations but am not sure how it actually plays. Please post a response
>>here.
>

>durring you're upkeep

No, no. At the beginning of your untap phase.

> (if you control it) the creature fases in (into play)
> if it was out,or out (of play) if it was in.

Noncreature permanents can also have phasing or be phased out.

0 new messages