Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Echo + Regeneration

57 views
Skip to first unread message

Jamie Gibson

unread,
May 9, 2000, 3:00:00 AM5/9/00
to
Hi all,
If a creature has Echo, and you forget to play it, can it be
regenerated at the point when it would be sacrificed? (with for example
Broken Fall)

Cheers,

Jamie Gibson

Norbert Adam

unread,
May 10, 2000, 3:00:00 AM5/10/00
to
Jamie Gibson wrote:

> If a creature has Echo, and you forget to play it, can it be
> regenerated at the point when it would be sacrificed?

No, there is nothing that can prevent a creature from being sacrificed.
Regeneration itself is defined to prevent lethal damage and destruction
only. A sacrifice is neither the one nor the other.

Norbert
--
Mangas & Anime: http://home.snafu.de/n.adam/manga/
Magic the Gathering: http://home.snafu.de/n.adam/magic/

"How do you map a world when the land moves beneath your feet?"
mailto:n.a...@snafu.de MtG/Cartographer


Joshua Bardwell

unread,
May 10, 2000, 3:00:00 AM5/10/00
to
On Wed, 10 May 2000 21:55:06 +0200, Norbert Adam
<vea...@netscape.net> wrote:

>No, there is nothing that can prevent a creature from being sacrificed.

Absolutely correct. "Sacrifice X" means "Take X from play, put it
into the graveyard." No destruction effect is involved.

>Regeneration itself is defined to prevent lethal damage and destruction
>only. A sacrifice is neither the one nor the other.

A slight nit: regeneration is defined to prevent destruction only.
However, there is a state-based effect (rule 420.5c) that states that
creatures with lethal damage are destroyed, so regeneration can save a
creature with lethal damage.

J

Steve Lord

unread,
May 10, 2000, 3:00:00 AM5/10/00
to
On Tue, 9 May 2000, Jamie Gibson wrote:

> Hi all,


> If a creature has Echo, and you forget to play it, can it be

> regenerated at the point when it would be sacrificed? (with for example
> Broken Fall)

No, no, NO.

Regeneration replaces _destruction_. A sacrifice is NOT, repeat NOT a
destruction. Therefore regeneration does NOTHING to stop it.

The Echo creature for which you forgot to pay is sacrificed; it is in the
graveyard immediately thereafter.

Steve L


David DeLaney

unread,
May 11, 2000, 3:00:00 AM5/11/00
to
Jamie Gibson <jam...@removetoreply.btinternet.com> wrote:
> If a creature has Echo, and you forget to play it, can it be
>regenerated at the point when it would be sacrificed? (with for example
>Broken Fall)

No. First off, you can't do -anything- while the Echo is resolving,
other than what it asks you to do (and, because it's asking you to pay
mana, you can use mana abilities). So you can't 'regenerate it right then'.

And, even if you regenerated it in response to the Echo, that won't help one
bit; sacrificed things don't regenerate - they get put into owner's graveyard
directly. They aren't destroyed, so regeneration shields don't -stop- this in
any way; you can't -stop- a sacrifice from happening by regeneration.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from d...@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://panacea.phys.utk.edu/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ/ I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.

0 new messages