Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Sorceress Queen and Sentinel

66 views
Skip to first unread message

dick...@imap2.asu.edu

unread,
Apr 2, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/2/96
to
My question is in regards to the Sorceress Queen and the Sentinel.
Suppose I tap my Sorceress Queen to make the Sentinel 0/2. If my
opponent blocks a creature, can he still use the 0 cost ability to change
the toughness to 1+(Power of Attacking Creature)?
In other words, does the fact that asterisk in the corner is changed to a
2 prevent this effect from working?
Similarly, how does this effect apply to non-activated asterisks, such as
the Llurgoyf and the Nightmare?

Any help would be appreciated,
Joel

/---
| Joel Dickerson |
| dick...@asu.edu |
---/

jes

unread,
Apr 3, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/3/96
to
On 2 Apr 1996 dick...@imap2.asu.edu wrote:

> My question is in regards to the Sorceress Queen and the Sentinel.
> Suppose I tap my Sorceress Queen to make the Sentinel 0/2. If my
> opponent blocks a creature, can he still use the 0 cost ability to change
> the toughness to 1+(Power of Attacking Creature)?
> In other words, does the fact that asterisk in the corner is changed to a
> 2 prevent this effect from working?

my guess is that the sentinel's ability works like the blinking spirit:
sentinel sits there, a 1/1.
he blocks something, say a 6/6 mold demon.
controller uses sentinel's ability (zero cost) to change him to 1/7.
sorceress queen steps in and chenges him to 0/2.
controller of sentinel pays (0) again, and changes
his stats to 1/7, since he is still blocking a 6/6 creature.
(actually 0/7 because the sen's power is a constant),

like the blinking spirit, i figger you can pay/activate a
zero-cost ability as many times as you want, to make it go through,
unless botched by the faster interrupts...


> Similarly, how does this effect apply to non-activated asterisks, such as
> the Llurgoyf and the Nightmare?

those guys would shrink to 0/2 and stay there for the duration of the turn.


jes


/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%

"I meant," said Ipslore bitterly,
"what is there in this world that makes living worthwhile?"
Death thought about it.
"CATS " he said eventually, "CATS ARE NICE."

--Terry Pratchett


/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%/%


Matthew Neal Hodson

unread,
Apr 4, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/4/96
to
jes <jmue...@wam.umd.edu> writes:

>On 2 Apr 1996 dick...@imap2.asu.edu wrote:

>> My question is in regards to the Sorceress Queen and the Sentinel.
>> Suppose I tap my Sorceress Queen to make the Sentinel 0/2. If my
>> opponent blocks a creature, can he still use the 0 cost ability to change
>> the toughness to 1+(Power of Attacking Creature)?
>> In other words, does the fact that asterisk in the corner is changed to a
>> 2 prevent this effect from working?

>my guess is that the sentinel's ability works like the blinking spirit:
>sentinel sits there, a 1/1.
>he blocks something, say a 6/6 mold demon.
>controller uses sentinel's ability (zero cost) to change him to 1/7.
>sorceress queen steps in and chenges him to 0/2.
>controller of sentinel pays (0) again, and changes
>his stats to 1/7, since he is still blocking a 6/6 creature.
>(actually 0/7 because the sen's power is a constant),

Your guess it wrong. The SC changes the * to a 2, so the sentinal is a 1/2
who can change the * to 1+ the power of the creature it blocks.
This doesn't help much since the star is gone for the time being.

>like the blinking spirit, i figger you can pay/activate a
>zero-cost ability as many times as you want, to make it go through,
>unless botched by the faster interrupts...

You can do it as mch as you want, but the * isn't gonna effect the sentinal
this turn.

>> Similarly, how does this effect apply to non-activated asterisks, such as
>> the Llurgoyf and the Nightmare?

>those guys would shrink to 0/2 and stay there for the duration of the turn.

because the */* is replaced by 0/2.
You says they have to shrink. My 0/1 Llurgoyf would grow!

>jes

--
---------------------------
Matthew Hodson
mn...@wumpus.cc.uow.edu.au

Cameron Hutchison

unread,
Apr 4, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/4/96
to
mn...@wumpus.its.uow.edu.au (Matthew Neal Hodson) writes:
>jes <jmue...@wam.umd.edu> writes:

>>my guess is that the sentinel's ability works like the blinking spirit:
>>sentinel sits there, a 1/1.
>>he blocks something, say a 6/6 mold demon.
>>controller uses sentinel's ability (zero cost) to change him to 1/7.
>>sorceress queen steps in and chenges him to 0/2.
>>controller of sentinel pays (0) again, and changes
>>his stats to 1/7, since he is still blocking a 6/6 creature.
>>(actually 0/7 because the sen's power is a constant),

>Your guess it wrong. The SC changes the * to a 2, so the sentinal is a 1/2
>who can change the * to 1+ the power of the creature it blocks.
>This doesn't help much since the star is gone for the time being.

I'd say his guess is right. Sentinel says:
0: Change Sentinel's toughness to 1 plus the power of target creature
blocking or blocked by Sentinel.
It does not say: Change the * ...

The * just lets you know that the toughness is variable by the creature
itself (ie. its inate toughness is variable).

Also, the SC would make the sentinel a 0/2, not a 1/2.

[Note: I'm talking about the Chronicles version, not the legends one - I
dont know what it says]

--
Cameron Hutchison (ca...@zip.com.au) | Beware of the clams
GCS d--@ -p+ c++(++++) l++ u+ e+ m+(-) s n- h++ f? !g w+ t r+

Mike Marcelais

unread,
Apr 4, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/4/96
to
My spies tell me that dick...@imap2.asu.edu wrote:
| My question is in regards to the Sorceress Queen and the Sentinel.
| Suppose I tap my Sorceress Queen to make the Sentinel 0/2. If my
| opponent blocks a creature, can he still use the 0 cost ability to change
| the toughness to 1+(Power of Attacking Creature)?

Yes, he can use the ability.

| In other words, does the fact that asterisk in the corner is changed to a
| 2 prevent this effect from working?

No; however, the ability will change the `asterisk' so the it won't actually
change the effective toughness of the Sentinel until the SQ's ability
wears off.

| Similarly, how does this effect apply to non-activated asterisks, such as
| the Llurgoyf and the Nightmare?

The Asterisks continue to change as normal, however they have no effect
on the effective power and toughness since the asterisks are covered up
by the 0/2 granted by SQ.

--

+------------------------+----------------------------+
| Mike Marcelais | mrma...@eos.ncsu.edu |
| Moonstone Dragon | Magic: The Gathering Judge |
| -==(UDIC)==- | Author of ChrHack 2.3 |
+-----------------------------------------------------+

Mike Marcelais

unread,
Apr 4, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/4/96
to
My spies tell me that Cameron Hutchison (ca...@zip.com.au) wrote:
| mn...@wumpus.its.uow.edu.au (Matthew Neal Hodson) writes:
| >jes <jmue...@wam.umd.edu> writes:

| >>my guess is that the sentinel's ability works like the blinking spirit:
| >>sentinel sits there, a 1/1.
| >>he blocks something, say a 6/6 mold demon.
| >>controller uses sentinel's ability (zero cost) to change him to 1/7.
| >>sorceress queen steps in and chenges him to 0/2.
| >>controller of sentinel pays (0) again, and changes
| >>his stats to 1/7, since he is still blocking a 6/6 creature.
| >>(actually 0/7 because the sen's power is a constant),

| >Your guess it wrong. The SC changes the * to a 2, so the sentinal is a 1/2
| >who can change the * to 1+ the power of the creature it blocks.
| >This doesn't help much since the star is gone for the time being.

| I'd say his guess is right. Sentinel says:
| 0: Change Sentinel's toughness to 1 plus the power of target creature
| blocking or blocked by Sentinel.
| It does not say: Change the * ...

| The * just lets you know that the toughness is variable by the creature
| itself (ie. its inate toughness is variable).

Because it is a * for toughness, then it has a `calculated' toughness:

+ Creatures with power or toughness calculated (such as Nightmare or Keldon
Warlord) have their power/toughness fixed at 0/2 and will not have their
normal ability to have their power/toughness recalculated work while the
Sorceress effect is upon that creature. [Peterson 11/07/94] Same goes
for Angry Mob. [bethmo 01/30/96]

Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Apr 5, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/5/96
to

Sorceress Queen changes a Sentinel into 0/2. This overrides the normal
function of its ability, which is to set the *, which doesn't apply
while the Queen is in effect. When the Queen's effect wears off, the
Sentinel will revert back to 1/*. Similarly, a Queened Nightmare is 0/2
regardless of how many swamps you have, a Queened Warlord is 0/2 regardless
of what is happening to your creatures, etc.


Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.


Markus Doebele

unread,
Apr 5, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/5/96
to
dickersn schrieb am 2.04.96, 18:51 in rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules:
d>My question is in regards to the Sorceress Queen and the Sentinel.
d>Suppose I tap my Sorceress Queen to make the Sentinel 0/2. If my
d>opponent blocks a creature, can he still use the 0 cost ability to
d>change the toughness to 1+(Power of Attacking Creature)?
d>In other words, does the fact that asterisk in the corner is changed to
d>a 2 prevent this effect from working?
d>Similarly, how does this effect apply to non-activated asterisks, such
d>as the Llurgoyf and the Nightmare?

All creatures that have the * Symbol in either Power or Toughness
and are affected by the Sorceress Queen become normal 0/2
creatures. You cannot use any ability that affects the * then.
Lluggoyf and Nightmare become 0/2 creatures.

------------------------------------------
<Säge>

We are Demons to some
and Angels to others (Hellraiser)

Mike Marcelais

unread,
Apr 9, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/9/96
to
My spies tell me that Markus Doebele (Markus_...@bb.maus.de) wrote:
| dickersn schrieb am 2.04.96, 18:51 in rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules:
| d>My question is in regards to the Sorceress Queen and the Sentinel.
| d>Suppose I tap my Sorceress Queen to make the Sentinel 0/2. If my
| d>opponent blocks a creature, can he still use the 0 cost ability to
| d>change the toughness to 1+(Power of Attacking Creature)?
| d>In other words, does the fact that asterisk in the corner is changed to
| d>a 2 prevent this effect from working?
| d>Similarly, how does this effect apply to non-activated asterisks, such
| d>as the Llurgoyf and the Nightmare?

| All creatures that have the * Symbol in either Power or Toughness
| and are affected by the Sorceress Queen become normal 0/2
| creatures. You cannot use any ability that affects the * then.
| Lluggoyf and Nightmare become 0/2 creatures.

Very close. You can use abilities that would change the *, but they won't
cause the creature to stop being 0/2. For example, you have a 1/5
Sentinel. It is hit with a SQ making it 0/2. You then have it block
a 10/10 creature. You can use Sentinel's ability to set the * to 11.
The Sentinel will still be 0/2 {because of SQ} but at the end of the turn
when the SQ wears off, the Sentinel will now be 1/11, instead of 1/5.

P. Hazen

unread,
Apr 9, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/9/96
to Thomas R Wylie
I have a similar question about Killer Bees and the Sorcerous Queen. Say
the Bees have been pumped to 5/6, and I tap the Queen to make it 0/2, will
the Bees controller be able to pump it up later that turn?

Ashmodai

Keep it away from the fire unless you want it to burn.

Mike Marcelais

unread,
Apr 9, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/9/96
to
My spies tell me that P. Hazen (ashm...@u.washington.edu) wrote:
| I have a similar question about Killer Bees and the Sorcerous Queen. Say
| the Bees have been pumped to 5/6, and I tap the Queen to make it 0/2, will
| the Bees controller be able to pump it up later that turn?

Actually, since the SQ only affects the base values in the corner of the
card, this will change the base for Killer Bees from 0/1 to 0/2, making
their current power/toughness be 5/7. The message from Tom below refers
to creatures that have abilities which also change their base stats or
calculating their base stats.

| Ashmodai

| Keep it away from the fire unless you want it to burn.

| On 5 Apr 1996, Thomas R Wylie wrote:

| >
| > Sorceress Queen changes a Sentinel into 0/2. This overrides the normal
| > function of its ability, which is to set the *, which doesn't apply
| > while the Queen is in effect. When the Queen's effect wears off, the
| > Sentinel will revert back to 1/*. Similarly, a Queened Nightmare is 0/2
| > regardless of how many swamps you have, a Queened Warlord is 0/2 regardless
| > of what is happening to your creatures, etc.
| >
| >
| > Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
| > aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.
| >
| >
| >

Matthew Neal Hodson

unread,
Apr 10, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/10/96
to
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) writes:


>Sorceress Queen changes a Sentinel into 0/2. This overrides the normal
>function of its ability, which is to set the *, which doesn't apply
>while the Queen is in effect. When the Queen's effect wears off, the
>Sentinel will revert back to 1/*. Similarly, a Queened Nightmare is 0/2
>regardless of how many swamps you have, a Queened Warlord is 0/2 regardless
>of what is happening to your creatures, etc.


>Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
>aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.

but as someone pointed out to me the sentinal doesn't mention the * in
the text. It just says something like:
0: change sentinals _toughness_ to 1 + blah blah

Matthew Neal Hodson

unread,
Apr 10, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/10/96
to
ca...@zip.com.au (Cameron Hutchison) writes:

>mn...@wumpus.its.uow.edu.au (Matthew Neal Hodson) writes:
>>jes <jmue...@wam.umd.edu> writes:

>>>my guess is that the sentinel's ability works like the blinking spirit:
>>>sentinel sits there, a 1/1.
>>>he blocks something, say a 6/6 mold demon.
>>>controller uses sentinel's ability (zero cost) to change him to 1/7.
>>>sorceress queen steps in and chenges him to 0/2.
>>>controller of sentinel pays (0) again, and changes
>>>his stats to 1/7, since he is still blocking a 6/6 creature.
>>>(actually 0/7 because the sen's power is a constant),

>>Your guess it wrong. The SC changes the * to a 2, so the sentinal is a 1/2
>>who can change the * to 1+ the power of the creature it blocks.
>>This doesn't help much since the star is gone for the time being.

>I'd say his guess is right. Sentinel says:
>0: Change Sentinel's toughness to 1 plus the power of target creature
>blocking or blocked by Sentinel.
>It does not say: Change the * ...

>The * just lets you know that the toughness is variable by the creature
>itself (ie. its inate toughness is variable).

>Also, the SC would make the sentinel a 0/2, not a 1/2.

>[Note: I'm talking about the Chronicles version, not the legends one - I
>dont know what it says]

>--
>Cameron Hutchison (ca...@zip.com.au) | Beware of the clams
>GCS d--@ -p+ c++(++++) l++ u+ e+ m+(-) s n- h++ f? !g w+ t r+

oops, i guess it pays to read the card first.
I just assumed it was like most * things which mention * in the text
box.
I guess his guess is correct. No I donthave a legends one.

George W. Bayles

unread,
Apr 10, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/10/96
to
Matthew Neal Hodson (mn...@wumpus.its.uow.edu.au) wrote:

: aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) writes:

: >Sorceress Queen changes a Sentinel into 0/2. This overrides the normal
: >function of its ability, which is to set the *, which doesn't apply
: >while the Queen is in effect. When the Queen's effect wears off, the
: >Sentinel will revert back to 1/*. Similarly, a Queened Nightmare is 0/2
: >regardless of how many swamps you have, a Queened Warlord is 0/2 regardless
: >of what is happening to your creatures, etc.

YADR by WotC

: but as someone pointed out to me the sentinal doesn't mention the * in


: the text. It just says something like:
: 0: change sentinals _toughness_ to 1 + blah blah

Excellent observation! Most likely overlooked by Tom. Going strictly by the
card text there is no reason why the changing the Sentinal's toughness would
not work immediately.

Mike Marcelais

unread,
Apr 10, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/10/96
to
My spies tell me that Matthew Neal Hodson (mn...@wumpus.its.uow.edu.au) wrote:
| aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) writes:


| >Sorceress Queen changes a Sentinel into 0/2. This overrides the normal
| >function of its ability, which is to set the *, which doesn't apply
| >while the Queen is in effect. When the Queen's effect wears off, the
| >Sentinel will revert back to 1/*. Similarly, a Queened Nightmare is 0/2
| >regardless of how many swamps you have, a Queened Warlord is 0/2 regardless
| >of what is happening to your creatures, etc.

| >Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
| >aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.

| but as someone pointed out to me the sentinal doesn't mention the * in


| the text. It just says something like:
| 0: change sentinals _toughness_ to 1 + blah blah

So does Nightmare for that matter, but it doesn't matter. SQ's effect
overrides that `toughness' calculation. When the SQ wears off, any changes
made to the toughness will now show up.

Anyone want to bet on Sorcerer's Queen being removed from 5E because it
is a mystifier?

Alex Rhomberg

unread,
Apr 11, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/11/96
to
Mike Marcelais wrote:
>
> My spies tell me that Matthew Neal Hodson (mn...@wumpus.its.uow.edu.au) wrote:

> | but as someone pointed out to me the sentinal doesn't mention the * in
> | the text. It just says something like:
> | 0: change sentinals _toughness_ to 1 + blah blah
>
> So does Nightmare for that matter, but it doesn't matter. SQ's effect
> overrides that `toughness' calculation. When the SQ wears off, any changes
> made to the toughness will now show up.

But there is still an obvious difference: The Nightmare has a continuous ability,
whereas the sentinel has an activated effect (with activation cost 0). Normally,
changes in creatures power take effect in the same suite they come into play, so:
Nightmare: Calculation comes first, SQ changes later.
Sentinel: SQ to 0/2; ACTIVATE Sentinels ability to change toughness to 1 + X;
Sentinel should be 0/1+X. Where am I wrong?

--
_________________________________________________________________
/ \
| Alex Rhomberg Tel: +41 1 632 49 18 |
| Institut fuer Elektronik Fax: +41 1 632 12 10 |
| ETH Zuerich Zentrale: +41 1 632 11 11 |
| Gloriastrasse 35 |
| 8006 Zuerich email: rhom...@ife.ee.ethz.ch |
\_________________________________________________________________/

George W. Bayles

unread,
Apr 11, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/11/96
to
Mike Marcelais (mrma...@bnr.csc.ncsu.edu) wrote:
[snip]

: Anyone want to bet on Sorcerer's Queen being removed from 5E because it
: is a mystifier?
: --

www.itis.com/deckmaster/cards/sorceress_queen

<tap>: Target creature other than Sorceress Queen becomes 0/2 until end of
turn.

It changes the text on the card to read 0/2. Any counters or enchantments
which improve (or weaken) the creature's combat values remain in effect.
[WotC Rules Team 01/24/94]

Even other fast effects, like Giant Growth, that change the creature's power
will remain after this effect. Recalculate the power/toughness resolving all
effects in the order they were placed on the creature.

Creatures with power or toughness calculated (such as Nightmare or Keldon
Warlord) have their power/toughness fixed at 0/2 and will not have their
normal ability to have their power/toughness recalculated work while the
Sorceress effect is upon that creature. [Peterson 11/07/94]

Would a queened Thrull Champion in play by himself be 0/2 or 1/3?
Wouldn't it be simpler to treat it as reducing the target creatures
power/toughness to 0/2 when the effect resolves?

Mike Marcelais

unread,
Apr 11, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/11/96
to
My spies tell me that George W. Bayles (gba...@ringer.cs.utsa.edu) wrote:
| Mike Marcelais (mrma...@bnr.csc.ncsu.edu) wrote:
| [snip]

| : Anyone want to bet on Sorcerer's Queen being removed from 5E because it
| : is a mystifier?
| : --

| Would a queened Thrull Champion in play by himself be 0/2 or 1/3?

1/3. The Queen would not have any effect on the `Thrulls get +1/+1'

| Wouldn't it be simpler to treat it as reducing the target creatures
| power/toughness to 0/2 when the effect resolves?

Probably, but changing it now would cause even more confusion

George W. Bayles

unread,
Apr 12, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/12/96
to
Alex Rhomberg (rhom...@ife.ee.ethz.ch) wrote:
: Mike Marcelais wrote:
: >
: > My spies tell me that Matthew Neal Hodson (mn...@wumpus.its.uow.edu.au) wrote:

: > | but as someone pointed out to me the sentinal doesn't mention the * in
: > | the text. It just says something like:
: > | 0: change sentinals _toughness_ to 1 + blah blah
: >
: > So does Nightmare for that matter, but it doesn't matter. SQ's effect
: > overrides that `toughness' calculation. When the SQ wears off, any changes
: > made to the toughness will now show up.

: But there is still an obvious difference: The Nightmare has a continuous
: ability, whereas the sentinel has an activated effect (with activation
: cost 0). Normally, changes in creatures power take effect in the same suite
: they come into play, so:
: Nightmare: Calculation comes first, SQ changes later.
: Sentinel: SQ to 0/2; ACTIVATE Sentinels ability to change toughness to 1 + X;
: Sentinel should be 0/1+X. Where am I wrong?

You're not wrong - thanks for pointing out the difference - it's just not the
way WotC has ruled, for now. Sometimes it seems they make rulings based more
on how they want it to work than logic. They seem to be trying to refine the
games mechanics and standardize card templates - sometimes the older cards
just don't fit that well.

David DeLaney

unread,
Apr 12, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/12/96
to
gba...@ringer.cs.utsa.edu (George W. Bayles) writes:
>Would a queened Thrull Champion in play by himself be 0/2 or 1/3?

1/3, because his base stats would be 0/2 and his text box would give
+1/+1 to him.

Note that text boxes that say "X's power becomes" or "X's toughness
changes to" are ineffective _while_ the Queen affects them. However,
once the Queen's effect wears off, the power/toughness _should_ remember
what it was last set to, even if that happened while the Queen's fiat
was in effect. Tom?

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney d...@panacea.phys.utk.edu "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeableURLAPvi
http://enigma.phys.utk.edu/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.

Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Apr 13, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/13/96
to

When I ruled that Sorceress Queen overrides Sentinel's ability, I was thinking
of the Legends text, which depends on the 1/*, and whose ability just changes
the *. The Queen overrides this version of Sentinel.

The Chronicles version of Sentinel changes its stats with a fast effect that
never wears off. This effect can be stacked over the Queen's normally,
thus overriding it. Sorry for the confusion.

Mike Marcelais

unread,
Apr 14, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/14/96
to
My spies tell me that Thomas R Wylie (aa...@cats.ucsc.edu) wrote:

| When I ruled that Sorceress Queen overrides Sentinel's ability, I was thinking
| of the Legends text, which depends on the 1/*, and whose ability just changes
| the *. The Queen overrides this version of Sentinel.

| The Chronicles version of Sentinel changes its stats with a fast effect that
| never wears off. This effect can be stacked over the Queen's normally,
| thus overriding it. Sorry for the confusion.

Tom, if I may ask, how is the Sentinel's changing power and toughness
any different from a Nightmare's changing power and toughness. Although
both cards have *'s in the corner of the cards, neither one refers to the
*'s directly and the Nightmare has been that way for all versions, including
when the original ruling was made about it.

Paul Barclay

unread,
Apr 14, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/14/96
to
> My spies tell me that Thomas R Wylie (aa...@cats.ucsc.edu) wrote:
>
> | When I ruled that Sorceress Queen overrides Sentinel's ability, I was thinking
> | of the Legends text, which depends on the 1/*, and whose ability just changes
> | the *. The Queen overrides this version of Sentinel.
>
> | The Chronicles version of Sentinel changes its stats with a fast effect that
> | never wears off. This effect can be stacked over the Queen's normally,
> | thus overriding it. Sorry for the confusion.
>
> Tom, if I may ask, how is the Sentinel's changing power and toughness
> any different from a Nightmare's changing power and toughness. Although
> both cards have *'s in the corner of the cards, neither one refers to the
> *'s directly and the Nightmare has been that way for all versions, including
> when the original ruling was made about it.

I agree with Tom on this one (yes, I know it's the easy way out).
The CH sentinel has an ability "change Sentinels Toughness to 1+ the
power of target blocking creature". When the Sorceress Queen's ability
is first used, the Sentinel becomes simply 0/2. The Sentinel can then
use it's own alteration ability to make it 0/whatever. The * in the
power and toughness line is irrelevant in this case.

Paul Barclay.

Daniel C. Testa

unread,
Apr 16, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/16/96
to
In article <4kpff4$a...@taco.cc.ncsu.edu>,

Mike Marcelais <mrma...@bnr.csc.ncsu.edu> wrote:
>My spies tell me that Thomas R Wylie (aa...@cats.ucsc.edu) wrote:
>
>| When I ruled that Sorceress Queen overrides Sentinel's ability, I was thinking
>| of the Legends text, which depends on the 1/*, and whose ability just changes
>| the *. The Queen overrides this version of Sentinel.
>
>| The Chronicles version of Sentinel changes its stats with a fast effect that
>| never wears off. This effect can be stacked over the Queen's normally,
>| thus overriding it. Sorry for the confusion.
>
>Tom, if I may ask, how is the Sentinel's changing power and toughness
>any different from a Nightmare's changing power and toughness. Although
>both cards have *'s in the corner of the cards, neither one refers to the
>*'s directly and the Nightmare has been that way for all versions, including
>when the original ruling was made about it.
>
>--
>
>+------------------------+----------------------------+
>| Mike Marcelais | mrma...@eos.ncsu.edu |
>| Moonstone Dragon | Magic: The Gathering Judge |
>| -==(UDIC)==- | Author of ChrHack 2.3 |
>+-----------------------------------------------------+

This seems simple. The determination of the stars for the Nightmare,
Keldon Warlord, Lost Order of Jarkeld, Lhurgoyf, Gaea's Leige are all
continuous effects. The determination of the stars for Clone is locked
in when a target is selected for the Clone at casting time. A similar
thing is true for the Vesuvan Doppelganger except that it can change
it's stars as an upkeep effect.

It appears that the Sentinal is a special case in that it can use an
activated fast effect to change its star.


___
As a separate note, you were right about the resolution of beginning
of upkeep effects thing. I should go out and get a 4th. Edition PPG
just so I can read this timing article(I only own the Revised one which
is about 90% right when it comes to the rules).
--
Daniel Testa email:tes...@rpi.edu phone:518-272-4205
Work related email:dte...@labor.ajb.dni.us Work phone:518-457-1436

David DeLaney

unread,
Apr 17, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/17/96
to
"P. Hazen" <ashm...@u.washington.edu> writes:
>I have a similar question about Killer Bees and the Sorcerous Queen. Say
>the Bees have been pumped to 5/6, and I tap the Queen to make it 0/2,

You make the Bees 5/7. They're 0/1 +5/+5; Queening them makes them 0/2 +5/+5.

>will the Bees controller be able to pump it up later that turn?

Yep. The Queen changes the 0/1 in the lower right corner to 0/2; it doesn't
touch the text box.

0 new messages