Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Winter Orb and Relic Barrier/Spoor Cloud and Mishra's Factory

67 views
Skip to first unread message

Matt Millson

unread,
Mar 6, 1995, 5:55:29 PM3/6/95
to

Could someone be of help re these questions, please>

1) If an artifact, such as winter orb, which does not have tap as
part of its activation cost is tapped by relic barrier, is its effect
cancelled? - this seems not to be the case ... cf Initiates of the ebon
hand.

2) If Mishra's factory is declared as an assembly worker, attacks and is
spoor clouded, does it untap during its controller's next untap phase
because it's turned back into land?

Thanks

Matt

David Mishael Green

unread,
Mar 7, 1995, 3:57:02 AM3/7/95
to
In article <3jg3t1$9...@ccws-24.brunel.ac.uk>,

Matt Millson <Matt Millson> wrote:
>1) If an artifact, such as winter orb, which does not have tap as
>part of its activation cost is tapped by relic barrier, is its effect
>cancelled? - this seems not to be the case ... cf Initiates of the ebon
>hand.

Continuous artifacts are always in effect unless the artifact becomes tapped
(cf. itty-bitty rulebook, p. 22). However, continuous artifacts that also
happen to be creatures -do- have an effect even if they're tapped, as do
creatures that have an ability. So you can always use your Initiates, but
your Winter Orb turns off when it's tapped unless your Winter Orb is somehow
animated.

>2) If Mishra's factory is declared as an assembly worker, attacks and is
>spoor clouded, does it untap during its controller's next untap phase
>because it's turned back into land?

The Spore Cloud does not care what it is that's not untapping during the next
phase, as long as it attacked (and was a creature at the time; it's hard to
attack with something that's not a creature, though :).

Tasslehoff Burrfoot

unread,
Mar 6, 1995, 8:56:52 PM3/6/95
to
Matt Millson (MattMillson) wrote:

> Could someone be of help re these questions, please>

> 1) If an artifact, such as winter orb, which does not have tap as
> part of its activation cost is tapped by relic barrier, is its effect
> cancelled? - this seems not to be the case ... cf Initiates of the ebon
> hand.

Yes. You can run the Winter Orb/Relic Barrier combo: Have both the
orb and barrier out and untapped at the end of your turn. Oppoent's
turn - untaps one land...rest of his turn...right before he ends his
turn, tap the orb with the barrier. During your untap phase, since
everything untaps simultaniously, you get to untapp all of your lands,
the orb & the barrier's ready to deny oppoent's mana again.

David DeLaney

unread,
Mar 8, 1995, 5:13:46 PM3/8/95
to
Matt Millson (Matt Millson) writes:

Get your newsposter fixed *immediately*, kid; "Matt Milson" is *not* a
valid email address.

>1) If an artifact, such as winter orb, which does not have tap as
>part of its activation cost is tapped by relic barrier, is its effect
>cancelled? - this seems not to be the case ... cf Initiates of the ebon
>hand.

Initiates are a creature. Any artifact which *isn't* a creature and *isn't*
a land shuts off entirely when tapped. (exceptions: Mana Vault and Basalt
Monolith can still get untapped by paying, and Mana Vault can still
damage you when it's tapped, even though they're shut off when tapped.)

>2) If Mishra's factory is declared as an assembly worker, attacks and is
>spoor clouded, does it untap during its controller's next untap phase
>because it's turned back into land?

Nope; the effect doesn't check its target type after it resolves. The permanent
will not untap as normal, even though it's no longer a creature.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney d...@panacea.phys.utk.edu "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. Disclaimer: IMHO; VRbeableURLAP/my
http://enigma.phys.utk.edu/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.

0 new messages