I have another question.
I have Winter Orb and Tangle Wire in play.
I tap Winter Orb for Tangle Wire's ability.
Does that mean that Winter Orb loses its abilities and my opponent may
untap more than one land next turn?
If so, does Tangle Wire also lose its ability when it's tapped?
Can't imagine that but maybe I'm wrong because someone told me so.
Thanx for any help.
Mike
TANGLE WIRE
3
Artifact
Fading 4 #(This artifact comes into play with four fade counters on it. At
the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from it. If you can't,
sacrifice it.)#
At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player taps an untapped
artifact, creature, or land he or she controls for each fade counter on
Tangle Wire.
As you can see from the oracle text, which is signifgicantly different from
the card text on Winter Orb, the Winter Orb turns itself off when tapped.
This was not written on the original card, because it was at the time WO was
printed a game rule that any artifact that was tapped did not work. That
rule has been removed from the rulebook, but some cards got reworded so they
work along the old lines. Tangle Wire is newer, and has always worked,
whether it is tapped or not.
Jasper O.
: I have another question.
: I have Winter Orb and Tangle Wire in play.
Hmmm, old artifact alert, let's look closely at the Oracle wordings:
Winter Orb 2 Artifact
As long as Winter Orb is untapped, players can't untap more than one
land during their untap steps.
Tangle Wire 3 Artifact
Fading 4
At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player taps an untapped
artifact, creature, or land he or she controls for each fade counter
on Tangle Wire.
: I tap Winter Orb for Tangle Wire's ability.
: Does that mean that Winter Orb loses its abilities and my opponent may
: untap more than one land next turn?
Well, it doesn't really lose its ability, but the ability has no effect
if the Winter Orb is tapped. So your opponent may indeed untap more
than one land in their next untap step.
: If so, does Tangle Wire also lose its ability when it's tapped?
No, it doesn't say so, so its abilities still have their effects.
: Can't imagine that but maybe I'm wrong because someone told me so.
There used to be a rule that all artifacts' static abilities worked
only when the card was untapped, but the rule got dropped for 6E. Now
there's only a handful of cards for which this is the case (Storage
Matrix, Winter Orb, Howling Mine, I think that's all)
--
------
.alan.
> Hi @ all!
>
> I have another question.
>
> I have Winter Orb and Tangle Wire in play.
>
> I tap Winter Orb for Tangle Wire's ability.
> Does that mean that Winter Orb loses its abilities and my opponent may
> untap more than one land next turn?
Winter Orb
2
Artifact
As long as Winter Orb is untapped, players can't untap more than one
land during their untap steps.
It keeps it's ability ... but the ability won't function. Your opponent
will get to untap multiple lands next turn (assuming nothing else is
preventing him from doing so.)
> If so, does Tangle Wire also lose its ability when it's tapped?
Tangle Wire
3
Artifact
Fading 4 #(This artifact comes into play with four fade counters on it.
At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from it. If you
can't, sacrifice it.)#
At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player taps an untapped
artifact, creature, or land he or she controls for each fade counter on
Tangle Wire.
Nope. Tapped artifacts no longer 'turn off', except for a few (Winter
Orb, Howling Mine are two I can remember offhand) that specifically say
they do. Tangle Wire doesn't say it only functions while untapped, so it
functions while tapped.
They do not lose their abilities; Howling Mine, Winter Orb, and the like
just won't function when tapped.
Steve L
--
C u _SiN_
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Life has always been a dance.It's only fitting that death sing the tune!
Linux is user-friendly, it's just very picky on who it's friends are!
No...
>and my opponent may untap more than one land next turn?
but yes. See, Winter Orb's wording, for 6E, is
WINTER ORB 2 Artifact
As long as ~ is untapped, players can't untap more than one land during their
untap steps.
That first phrase is Important here: it means it's only 'on' while it's
untapped, and 'turns off' while tapped.
>If so, does Tangle Wire also lose its ability when it's tapped?
No, because it doesn't say it does.
Under earlier rules (5E and before), there was a rule about "noncreature
nonland artifacts' abilities don't work while they're tapped, unless they
say they untap the artifact, say they work while it's tapped, or are phase
costs". This was dropped for 6E. (Perhaps unsurprisingly...) A very few cards
got Errata to make them still 'turn off while tapped'; Howling Mine,
Static Orb, and Winter Orb are the ones you're likely to run into.
Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from d...@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://panacea.phys.utk.edu/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ/ I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.