FAQ: Frequently Asked Questions about Jyhad
Compiled by: Chris Ferris, Paul Peterson, Bob Kruger, Matt Burke,
Jeff Harris, Shawn F. Carnes, Rich Redman, Scott Hungerford
Edited by: JD Wiker
This list of questions is intended to clarify the Jyhad rules.
These questions and answers are not meant to supercede or
substitute for the rules. If any answer below actually modifies or
corrects the published rules it will be made clear.
Contents:
General Rulings
General Questions
Vampires
Allies / Retainers
Equipment
Master Cards
Locations
Out-of-Turn
Political Actions
Actions
Action Modifiers
Reactions
Combat
Rules Errata
Card Errata
GENERAL RULINGS
First an important overall ruling: A card can be played, even if
only part of its requirements are covered. For example Anarch
Troublemaker can be played even if your prey only has one vampire
in play. Please note that this is completely opposite how we rule
on Magic cards. (12/2)
Betrayer: 1) You must guess the name of the Vampire.
2)If a player takes control of the vampire that is the target of
the betrayer, that player takes the pool loss. If the vampire that
is the target of the Betrayer becomes contested, the pool loss
stops.
Blood Doll: You can draw from a Blood Doll immediately after
placing the card on a vampire. Blood Doll gives blood to whomever
controls the vampire, even if controller changes.
Brainwash: You can not transfer blood off either.
Bum's Rush: Being directly attacked does not cause a vampire to
become tapped.
Charming Lobby: 1) This card requires three vampires to be
effective: one to play Charming Lobby, another to call the first
vote, and the third to call the second vote.
2) The vote must be succesfully called for it to pass.
Cryptic Rider: The vote must be succesfully called for it to
pass.
Cultivated Blood Shortage: Cultivated Blood Shortage is
cumulative.
Diablerie: You can fill up your current blood capacity with
diablerie, but not the extra point you get from the new skill.
Dread Gaze vs. Pulling Strings: Pulling Strings will cancel
the Dread Gaze vote.
Dodge: This will cancel a first strike.
Eagle's Sight: Eagle's Sight can not allow you to block
unblockable actions.
First Strike: If an opponent declares strike with a weapon, and
you play steal weapon with a first strike, the opponent's strike
fizzles.
Flak Jacket: Flak Jacket cannot protect a retainer.
Malkavian Dementia: If the player is ousted before their next
untap the Malkavian returns to the original controller. If the
Malkavian is under Dementia by one Methuselah and someone else
plays Dementia, when they both wear off the Malkavian returns to
the original controller, however if someone else takes permanent
control before they wear off, than it stays with the new
controller.
Malkavian Madness Network: If a Malkavian takes an action on
your turn using Madness Network, you may not use reaction cards,
since the rules state that reaction cards may not be used on your
turn. If a Malkavian takes an action during someone else's turn,
that player may not use action cards, but must use the standard
actions (such as hunting), or actions provided by cards in play
(such as burning Army of Rats). Note that equipment cards are not
action cards, so equip actions can be taken normally.
Minor Boon: If a vampire is going to torpor due to combat and a
minor boon is played, thus saving it, combat is still over.
Ousting: If you manage to oust your prey and your prey's prey at
the same time (with a Conservative Agitation vote for example) you
only get the six blood and one victory point. Your prey dies, but
also gets a victory point.
Retainers: When the vampire attacks, the retainer must take their
action unless the card states otherwise.
Rötschreck: This card affects the vampire doing the damage.
Telepathic Counter: You can still block after Telepathic Counter
is played.
Voting: The Vote card must be shown before blocking is declared.
GENERAL QUESTIONS
Q: How does the sequence of play run?
A: (Sec. 12, “What You Can Do On Your Turn”) There are five phases
to each Methuselah’s turn:
UNTAP: At the beginning of each turn you must untap any cards
that are tapped, including any vampires in torpor.
MASTER: You can then play one master card, and any effects
generated by master cards also occur.
MINION: The minion phase is next, and any untapped minions may
take an appropriate action.
INFLUENCE: After the minion phase is over, the four transfers
allotted for the influence phase may be spent.
DISCARD: Once all or any influence is used, the last action a
Methuselah may take is to discard one card from her hand and
replace it with one from her library.
Q: How do I replenish my pool? Can’t I take blood off my
ready vampires?
A: Currently the only time you can remove blood from a ready
vampire and place it in your pool is when it has a Blood Doll or a
Minion Tap card played on it. Otherwise the Methuselah cannot feed
off of his or her minions. There are cards that allow pool
increases, and ousting your prey pays off as well.
Q: In the section “Winning the Game,” (Sec. 18.1) it says
that the predator gets the victory point and the blood.
What if I bleed someone as a directed action who is not my
prey and oust him or her? Shouldn’t I get the points and
blood? This must be a error.
A: Actually, it’s not a error. The predator will still get the
point and the blood; this encourages everyone to concentrate on
his or her prey.
Q:What happens when I run out of cards?
A:(Sec. 11.4, “Organizing the Cards,” and Sec. 18.2, “Withdrawing
from the Game”) Play continues when you use the last of your
library cards. The only time you are out of the game is when you
are reduced to zero pool or when you successfully withdraw from
the game.
Q: When a player is ousted or withdraws, do they take all
their cards with them, including those which might have
been under the control of some other player?
A: Yes, they take all of their cards with them.
Q: Who do you bleed? And if I have a card with the D in
the circle, who then? And wasn’t bleeding a direct action
anyway?
A: Usually the only one you bleed is your prey. That action is
direct — that is, it can only be blocked by your prey. If,
however, a card allows you to bleed as a directed action, then you
can bleed any Methuselah you like. It’s still a direct action, so
only the target of the bleed can attempt to block.
Q: How fast are cards replaced? For example, suppose I
play an Action. Do I immediately draw a card to replace
it, so that if it were an appropriate act to the Action?
A: Action cards are replaced immediately after they are played.
You can use the drawn card to modify the action.
Q: What's the deal with contested cards?
A: You cannot affect contested cards in any way. (The older FAQ is
incorrect in this respect.)
Q: Can you do something that is doomed to fail? For
example, can you play an Anarch Troublemaker when your
prey has no vampires in play?
A: Yes.
Q: If I have a superior Discipline, can I use both the
bold type and the normal type on my card at the same time?
A: No. The superior Discipline gives you a choice between the two
options.
VAMPIRES
Q: What happens when my vampire has no blood counters on
it?
A: Your vampire only goes into torpor when it is reduced below
zero blood. If it is reduced to zero, then the next turn it must
hunt as an action; a vampire can take no other action unless it
has at least one blood.
Q: How do I get out of torpor?
A: If your vampire went into torpor with counters still on it (by
paralyzation or by aggravated damage), then it can, as an action,
rescue itself at the cost of two blood. If it doesn’t have enough,
then it can be rescued by another vampire. The rescuing vampire
taps to visit the vampire in torpor. Two blood must be spent;
this blood comes from either the rescuing vampire, the rescued
vampire, or one from each. The vampire so rescued is then active
again, but if it has no blood, it must hunt the next turn.
Q: My vampire went into torpor tapped but he had enough
blood to get himself out. How can he get himself out if
he’s tapped?
A: Even vampires in torpor untap during the untap phase.
Q: If someone has a vampire in torpor with Haven Uncovered
played on it, can I diablerize it or attack it with +1
stealth?
A: Once a vampire is in torpor it is no longer “ready,” so it
cannot be the object of the Haven Uncovered. Once the vampire
escapes torpor, however, it is prey to the effects of the card
again.
Q: What happens to my equipment, etc., when my vampire
becomes an invalid target (i.e., it goes into torpor)?
A:The equipment and all modifiers stay on a vampire when it goes
into torpor.
Q: When does my vampire heal itself with stolen blood? The
example in the book I got in my card pack is confusing.
A: The example in the rules prior to the “Duelist Companion” rules
release refers to an early conception of the rules. The example is
in error. Stolen blood can immediately heal a vampire. This may
prevent a vampire’s going into torpor on the strike phase during
which it stole the blood, as long as the vampire striking it does
not do enough “first strike” damage to send it into torpor. In
that case, the vampire attempting to steal blood is considered to
have not even gotten the opportunity to steal blood before being
sent to torpor.
Q: In Section 7.2.2 Minion Cards, it says the same action
modifier or reaction card cannot be used twice in the same
action by the same MINION, but in Sections 13.2 and 14 it
says the same card cannot be used twice in the same action
by the same PLAYER. Which is correct?
A: Minion is correct. The same action modifier or reaction card
may not be played by the same Minion in the same action.
Q: Is Caitiff a "clan" for the purposes of cards where you
choose a clan (such as Consanguineous Boon)?
A: Caitiff are clanless.
Q: If something gives control of a vampire to a different
player, do all cards played on that vampire stay on it?
A: Yes.
Q: Sabine Lafitte: Can you transfer blood onto an
uncontrolled Tremere, or does "in the game" mean "in
play"?
A: Not to an uncontrolled vampire, but you can to a vampire in
torpor. It should read "in play."
Q: Uriah Winter will still defect (if appropriate) if he's
in torpor, right? And I assume that if so, he will go to
the new controller's torpor region.
A: This is correct.
Q: If I have a vampire that has no blood on it, can I skip
the Minion phase to avoid hunting?
A: No.
Q: If I have a vampire that has no blood on it, do I have
to hunt with it right away?
A: If you start the minion phase with any vampires with no blood,
then those vampires must all hunt before any other actions can be
taken. Vampires with no blood can take no action other than
hunting, but they are only forced to hunt at the start of the
minion phase. For example, if your vampire that has no blood on
it is rescued from torpor, it can be left available to block until
your next minion phase.
ALLIES/RETAINERS
Q: Are allies linked to one vampire? How are they
different from retainers?
A: Allies are not linked to vampires as retainers are; allies are
simply called to the service of a Methuselah by a vampire capable
of taking an action. Both allies and retainers are mortal, but
retainers are not considered minions. In fact, retainers are the
equivalent of vampire modifier cards that can be destroyed by
ranged damage only. Allies, however, can take actions of their own
accord.
Q: In Section 12.3.1 Minion Actions/Recruit Ally, it says
allies can block and bleed. Are these the only actions
they can take, i.e., can allies be equipped, employ
retainers, or encounter vampires in torpor?
A: Allies can be equipped as they are minions, they may employ
human retainers (it says so in the second sentence of Employ
Retainer), but they cannot encounter vamps in torpor (16.3 says
only vamps may do so).
Q: Please explain Wolf Companion.
A: Note: All of these also apply to Murder of Crows except [c]:
a) The Wolf's damage is not a strike, and therefore cannot be
prevented by Dodge.
b) Combat Ends will stop it, since you never reach the damage-
dealing part.
c) It only deals damage at close range.
d) The Wolf does its damage each round of combat, but not during
"additional strike" strikes.
e) Its number of lives depends only on the skill of the recruiting
vampire at the time it is recruited; if the skill changes later,
the Wolf doesn't change.
f) If the vampire goes to torpor due to a First Strike with
aggravated damage, the Wolf does not do its damage.
Q: Suppose a vampire is in torpor, has no blood, but has
Charnas on it. The vampire untaps; does anything bad
happen to the vampire?
A: Charnas does nothing to a minion with no blood that untaps in
torpor.
Q: Is the Ghoul retainer that same as the Wolf companion?
That is, if I attack do I have to use its ability?
A: Yes.
EQUIPMENT
Q: Chainsaw and Talbot's Chainsaw aren't ranged but don't
say Melee Weapon. Are they a special class of non-ranged
non-melee weapon, or should they have errata adding
"Melee"?
A: The Chainsaw and Talbot's Chainsaw are not considered melee
weapons, so cards that add to melee damage (such as Growing Fury)
do not add to the damage done by chainsaws.
MASTER CARDS
Q: I have a vampire with Blood Doll played on her but the
vampire is contested. Can I still get blood from her?
A: No. The vampire is considered out of the influence of either
Methuselah.
Q: My opponent gains control of one of my vampires with
Blood Doll played upon it. Do I get the blood, or does my
opponent?
A: Your opponent now gets the blood from the Blood Doll.
Q: Vast Wealth: If you use this ability, are you forced
to purchase the weapon you locate or can you look at what
it is and then decide whether to purchase it or not? If
the latter, what happens when the weapon costs 5 blood and
you only have 4 blood left in your pool?
A: If you choose to use the Vast Wealth, then you must use the
weapon you pull out. If you do not have enough blood to pay, then
you are ousted.
Q: Anarch Troublemaker: Can you use this if your prey has
only one untapped vampire?
A: Yes. You may tap up to two minions.
Q: Can Gird Minions be used to put blood on a vampire in
torpor? It sort of seems like one shouldn't be able to,
but there's nothing in the rules or on the card stopping
this. Can this be done, and if not, exactly where does it
say that it can't be done? And is it the same for Minion
Tap?
A: Yes, it can be done, for both Gird Minions and Minion Tap.
Q: Deal with the Devil: Do I draw a new card (to replace
Deal with the Devil) and then discard my hand?
A: No You discard your remaining cards, then draw the new hand.
Q: If I have one blood left in my pool and I successfully
block a vampire with Aching Beauty, do I go into combat?
A: No you are ousted before combat.
MASTER CARDS: LOCATIONS
Q: I have a unique location master card, and someone else
just played one. How does this work?
A: (Sec. 8, “Contested Cards”) Just like contested vampires: they
go face down and each owner loses one blood each untap until he
yields his card, or until his card is the only one remaining, at
which point it is put into play on his side.
Q: Can I play multiple Hunting Ground cards? It says on
the Hunting Ground cards that “only one blood can be given
to a vampire from Hunting Ground cards each turn”?
A: Yes. What it should say is that each vampire can “receive” no
more than one blood from Hunting Ground cards each turn. If you
have two vampires out that are below capacity and you have two
Hunting Ground cards out, you can give each vampire a blood point
during untap: one point to one vampire for one Hunting Ground.
Q: In the FAQ, it says that if one contested unique
location is burned, then all cards contesting the location
are burned. Why?
A: This is a mistake. Contested cards may not be affected by any
card that does not specifically do so.
Q: Maybe I'm just missing something in the rules, but what
happens if one person wants to use Elysium, and another
person wants to use Trap? Who goes first? Would it be
acting player then blocking/victim player than all other
players in the game, or what?
A: The order is: acting player, blocking player, and then
clockwise from the acting player.
Q: Another "slap" situation. One player has Elysium, and
another has the vampire Mariel. Each of these must be
used at the beginning of combat, before range is
determined, and each of them ends the combat immediately.
So using one makes using the other illegal. What if both
players try to use them simultaneously -- who gets
priority?
A: The order is: acting player, blocking player, and then
clockwise from the acting player.
Q: The Barrens: Can you use it if you have no cards in
your hand?
A: Yes.
Q: Is using the Chantry optional?
A: Yes
MASTER CARDS: OUT-OF-TURN
Q: Can I play an out-of-turn Master card during my turn?
A: No.
Q: Sudden Reversal doesn't retroactively undo the card
being burned, it just gives the master's controller any
pool back, right? So for example, if I use Sudden
Reversal to burn someone else's out-of-turn card as they
play it, they would still lose their next master phase,
right?
A: This is correct. It still counts as being played for Giant's
Blood or out-of-turn Master cards.
Q: In the list of official rulings, it said that Sudden
Reversal could be used to burn a card in play as well as
one being played. Can you confirm this ruling?
A: You cannot use it to burn a card in play.
Q: Brujah Frenzy: Can you have the Brujah attack someone
who is already tapped (like a directed attack) or not?
A: You can have the Brujah attack a tapped minion.
POLITICAL ACTIONS
Q: When can a vote be called?
A: (Sec. 17.1, “Voting”) Calling a vote is an action that must be
taken by one of your minions. The only other vote in Jyhad besides
ones written out on cards is for a bloodhunt (Sec. 16.3,
“Diablerie”).
Q: My vote card says Prince or Justicar. Now what?
A: The only minion that can call that particular vote would be a
vampire with the appropriate title. Any ready vampire can call a
vote that states “All Kindred.”
Q: Can my ally call a vote?
A: Any card that states “Kindred” excludes allies. An ally is a
minion but is not Kindred. (Allies are mortal.)
Q: Can I just make up a referendum? The referendum for the
vote is described on the vote card; you cannot arbitrarily make
one up.
Q: Does the vote on the vote card count towards my
referendum?
A:Yes, when you call a vote, the card itself is worth one vote.
Q:What happens when a vote ties?
A: (Sec. 17.1, “Voting”) A tied vote is a failed vote.
Q: (Sec 17.1, "Voting") The rule book implies that you
cannot play additional political vote cards if you used a
vote card to call a vote. "Additional political cards can
also be used by any of the other Methusulahs for votes".
Can you play additional political vote cards?
A: Yes, all Methusulahs can use political vote cards.
Q: If I throw in another card from my hand for one vote,
do I replace it right away -- thus possibly getting
another vote card?
A: (Sec. 17.1, “Voting”) No; cards do not get replaced until the
vote is concluded.
Q: Ok, I’ve got a Justicar, but he’s tapped. Do I still
get his votes?
A: (Sec. 11.1, “The Playing Area”) He sure does, because tapped
minions are considered “ready.”
Q: What about my Primogen in torpor? Can’t she vote?
A: (Sec. 11.1, “The Playing Area” and Sec. 17.1, “Voting”)
Vampires in torpor are not considered “ready” and cannot lend
their votes.
Q: Vampire "Astrid Thomas": Is "abstain" a vote? i.e.
must all Tremere vote with her, or can they abstain?
A: You can abstain from the vote, but if they do vote, they must
vote in her favor, and if they already voted against, they must
change their vote.
Q: What happens if Peace Treaty is played and I want to
keep a free weapon, such as a Grenade?
A: You can keep free weapons without paying any cost, including 1-
cost weapons on Black Cat.
Q: If a Primogen, Prince, or Justicar is given a new
office by a Praxis Seizure or a Justicar card, does she
keep the original title as well? Does she get the votes
for both titles, for only her original title, for only the
new title, or for whichever gives the higher number of
votes?
A: Any vampire given a new office relinquishes their old office in
favor of the new -- even if this is a demotion (from Justicar to
Prince, for example).
Q: Is the First Tradition cumulative?
A: Yes, they would happen at the same time. So if you paid two
blood, you would still have to skip a turn unless you paid another
two. But if you just skipped three turns it would satisfy both of
them.
ACTIONS
Q: Can I use the +1 stealth on an action card to increase
the stealth of another action?
A: No, because you’d need an action modifier card. The action card
merely indicates that that particular action has an intrinsic
stealth bonus.
Q: At the top of my action card it says +1 Stealth in bold
typeface. Do I have to have a superior Discipline to use
this card?
A: The +1 stealth covers both aspects of the card, so whichever
level discipline you have, and whichever one you choose, the
action is still at +1 stealth.
Q: OK, so it's been established that I could use Govern
the Unaligned, or a similar action, to put blood on
someone else' uncontrolled vampire. Would that vampire pop
out at the end of my influence phase, or at the end of the
other player's influence phase?
A: The vamp would pop out at the end of its Methuselah's
influence.
Q: Kine Resources Contested: Can you divide the points by
giving 4 points to one and zero points to the other?
A: At least one point must be allocated to each Methuselah chosen.
Q: If you take an action, no one blocks, and you play an
action modifier to make it nastier, can they then decide
to block after all?
A: No. The decision to block or not is final.
Q: If Pulse of the Canaille is played on a Vampire that
has Gangrel De-Evolution played on it, what is the
vampires Bleed?
A: Their bleed is 2.
ACTION MODIFIERS
Q: When exactly can and can't Action Modifiers be played?
A: They can be used both before and after an action is blocked, so
you can wait until after they decide to not block to play
Conditioning.
Q: In Stealth and Intercept (section 13.3.2), it says that
if the intercept of the minion attempting to block is less
than the the stealth of the acting minion, the blocking
minion is left untapped, and another minion may attempt to
block. Please confirm that the acting minion would still
enjoy any increased stealth, and the second attempt to
block would have to match that increased stealth.
A: The acting minion would still enjoy all benefits derived from
the action modifiers played earlier.
Q: Can Mask of a Thousand Faces be used if the Masking
vampire couldn't legally perform the current action? For
example, can I attack a vampire with my Muddled Vampire
Hunter and then take over with another vampire using the
Mask? Part of me says that it shouldn't be able to, but I
think that's just the how this all works in "reality",
and I think the card would allow the vampire to Mask an
"illegal" action in this manner.
A: You can use the Mask of 1000 Faces to make a minion perform an
action that they normally couldn't.
Q: Also, are action modifiers applied to the acting
vampire, or to the action itself? For example, suppose a
vampire used Earth Control to increase its stealth, then a
vampire takes over with the Mask. Does it still enjoy the
increased stealth? Does it matter whether the new vampire
has Protean? (I don't think whether it has Protean should
be relevant, but am unsure about whether the stealth would
still apply.) I can really see arguments for both sides
on this one.
A: Modifiers are applied to the action itself.
Q: Cloak the Gathering: The rules, in section 7.2.2., say
"The same action modifier card type cannot be used twice
by a minion during the same action."
Cloak the Gathering is an odd action modifier which can be
used either by the acting minion on itself, or (with
superior Obfuscate) can be used by a non-acting minion on
the acting minion. I believe that it is legal for two
different minions to use Cloak the Gathering during the
same action, but not for the same minion to use it twice.
Is this correct?
A: Two different minions can use Cloak of the Gathering to modify
the same action.
Q: Cryptic Mission: Can you play Cryptic Mission on a
vampire that has no blood?
A: Yes.
Q: If I use the Mask of 1,000 Faces and the original
Vampire had a Laptop or a Bomb, can the new vampire use
them?
A: No.
REACTIONS
Q: When can I play a reaction card?
A: A reaction card can only be played in response to the actions
of another Methuselah’s minion. You cannot play reaction cards
during your turn.
Q: Can any minion play a reaction card? What if she’s
tapped?
A: A tapped minion cannot react (bring a reaction card into play).
The untapped minion that plays a reaction, however, does not
become tapped.
Q: If the Superior version of Form of Mist is used, then
the action resumes with another +1 stealth stacked on top
of it, right? So any previous stealth would be in effect,
Dawn Operation would still apply if the action is blocked
a second time, and so on?
A: This is correct. All previous stealth bonuses still apply.
Q: If Obedience is used, then the vampire which was
blocked cannot perform the same action again that turn. Is
each type of Bleed considered a different action? For
example, if a vampire was blocked from Computer Hacking
and Obedience was then used, would it be able to use
Social Charm later that turn?
A: Each type of Bleed is a different action.
Q: Suppose the blocked vampire was trying to rescue a
vampire from torpor. I assume the actual action here was
"encounter a vampire in torpor", not "rescue a vampire
from torpor" or "rescue Ricki from torpor", and thus it
couldn't try to rescue or diablerize anything else that
turn?
A: You can try to rescue a different vampire. Each action is very
specific: ie, rescue "Ricki" from torpor.
Q: Pulled Fangs: Must the two actions be taken in the
same turn, or can they be done on two separate turns? Can
they be done by two different vampires, or must they be
both done by the same vampire?
A: It takes two actions, which can be undertaken by different
vampires on different turns.
Q: Just how pervasive is Eagle's Sight? I'm assuming the
vampire using it would still have to raise its intercept
to match the acting minion's stealth, but would it allow
the reacting vampire to block "unblockable" actions such
as anything modified by Day Operation? Would it allow the
vampire to block after all other vampires have decided
whether to block, a la Anneke?
A: You must still have intercept equal to the stealth value of the
acting minion, but you cannot block a Day Operation.
Q: If I want to use Telepathic Counter against my
opponent's bleed and he wants to use Spying Mission, who
wins?
A: Telepathic Counter would win, because the card reduces the
bleed to 0, therefore Spying Mission would have no effect.
Q: Can you play a Reaction after your opponent plays an
Action Modifier, or only directly after they play the
Action? (Specific situation: Rob bleeds Roy. Roy
declines to block, but plays the reaction Telepathic
Counter. Rob plays the action modifier Conditioning. Roy
plays the reaction Telepathic Misdirection. Rob claims
that this is illegal, that Roy passed his chance to play
additional Reactions and so can't play one now.)
A: It is legal to play reaction cards both before and after action
modifiers.
COMBAT
Q: What is the combat sequence?
A: (Sec. 15, “Combat”)
1. Choose Range: There are two ranges, close and long. Range
starts at close and can only be changed by maneuvering. Any number
of maneuvers may occur until range has been determined; however,
each maneuver after the first must be played only to cancel
another maneuver. (I cannot just throw out five maneuvers to allow
myself to draw five new cards, for instance.) I can play a
maneuver to make combat long range, my opponent can then play a
maneuver to cancel mine and make the combat short, and I can then
play one to cancel hers and make it long again — we play maneuvers
back and forth until one of us stops.
2. Choose Strike: The second phase is to choose strike. A strike
can be by hand, by weapon, or by a combat card specifically
stating “strike.” After each minion has declared its strike,
damage is determined and combat ends unless one or the other
minion “presses,” which begins the whole round again.
Q: What does “press to end” mean?
A: Press to end allows you to counteract your opponent’s press to
continue combat, but does not allow you to press to continue
combat. Presses can continue to be played until the final press
played determines the outcome.
Q: I played “Strike: Combat Ends” and my opponent played
“strike: dodge.” It says that dodge negates opponent’s
strike. What happens?
A: (Sec. 15.3, “Special Combat Effects”) Well, "Combat Ends" takes
place before any other strike can take effect: Combat Ends beats
any other card out there. (Note that the acting minion must
declare its strike first.)
Q: If the acting minion plays a Combat Ends strike card,
does the combat end instantly, or does it end in the
"resolve strike" step?
A: Combat ends instantly, so you cannot play a strike card
afterward.
Q: How do additional strikes work?
A: An additional strike allows the minion to strike two or more
times in a single round. If the other minion does not have
additional strikes, it cannot do damage back during strikes after
the first. Range is not changed in the additional strikes.
Q:What exactly does “once per combat” mean?
A: Once per combat means once during the entire confrontation,
including any additional rounds due to presses that may prolong
the combat. If you get one maneuver per combat, and you maneuver
in the first round, you’ve used your manuevers from that card and
must find another card source if you want to maneuver again.
Q: My Gun says "3R" on it. What's the "R" mean?
A: It means that it delivers 3 points of damage either at long
range or short range. Some cards with the "R" on it (eg, Thrown
Sewer Lid) can only be effective from long range, but "R" does not
mean that it must be at long range to work.
Q: How does aggravated damage work?
A: Aggravated damage automatically sends your vampire to torpor.
The first point of Aggravated Damage doesn't cause the vampire to
spend a point of blood to heal, but every point after that does.
If Aggravated Damage totals at least two more than your vampire
has blood to heal, your vampire is burned. This does not count as
Diablerie.
Q: If a vampire with 1 blood is hit by a 3-point (or
greater) aggravated damage strike, does the vampire go to
torpor and then to the ashheap, or does it just go
straight to the ashheap? (This is a critical difference
if the vampire has Fame...)
A: The vampire goes straight to the Ashheap.
Q: If a vampire receives both aggravated and normal damage
at the same time, which is applied first?
A: Regular damage is applied first.
Q: The rules say: "You may only use hand damage modifiers
on melee-type weapons (such as knives, clubs, etc.)."
Does "hand damage modifiers" refer only to +N Hand Damage
effects, or does it include other modifiers such as those
that make hand damage aggravated?
A: It only includes the +N Hand Damage. You cannot use Wolf Claws
to make the Bastard Sword's damage aggravated.
Q: Can you choose "no strike" as your strike, or must you
choose one of "normal hand attack, weapon, or strike
card"?
A: You cannot choose "no strike" as your strike.
Q: I have a “Strike: Steal Weapon” card. Can I take my
prey’s Hawg? It’s got that little gun on it, right?
A: Well, sure it’s got the picture, but for the card to qualify as
a weapon it must also state “weapon” in the card text. The symbol
stands for “equipment” only.
Q: Fast Hands: Can you attempt to steal equipment if your
opponent has none?
A: Yes.
Q: Dragon Breath Rounds in a Zip Gun: Do the rounds add +2
aggravated damage to just the strike, or do they also add
it to the damage done to the bearer of the zip gun?
A: Dragon Breath Round just add to the strike damage.
Q: Can Skin of Steel prevent previous damage in a round?
A: No, it can only prevent current and future damage.
RULES ERRATA
p. 20, Section12.3.1. Bleed: Bleeding is a directed action.
p. 21, Section12.3.1. Encounter vampire in torpor:
Encountering another Methuselah's vampire in torpor is a directed
action.
p. 29, Section14. Summary of the Course of an Action: In the
fourth step, the second sentence should read, “The Methuselah must
then pay any cost associated with the action.” Thus, if an action
is unsuccessful, no cost is paid.
p. 31 Section15.1. Choose Strike: In the fifth sentence it
reads, “If weapons were not used to maneuver, then, after range is
determined, the player with the acting minion first decides the
manner in which the minion is blocking.” It should read, “...in
which the minion is striking.”
p. 37, Section16.1 Going Into Torpor: Add, “Any retainers and
equipment stay with the vampire going into torpor.”
p. 38, Section16.3. Diablerie: Bloodhunts are voted upon with
the usual voting procedure, except the Methuselah calling the
bloodhunt does not receive an automatic vote.
CARD ERRATA
Anarch Troublemaker: Should say "During your untap phase..."
Cat Burglary: This card reads incorrectly. It will be fixed in
the next version.
Disputed Territory: This is a political card.
The Embrace: The vampire created is the same clan as its creator.
Fame: This should be considered a unique master.
The Fourth Tradition: The Accounting: This card should be an
action card, not a master card, but it has the gray master card
border.
Grenade: It should read: "If grenade is used at close range,
bearer suffers 1 damage." [Otherwise, it's a misplaced modifier.]
Malkavian Time Auction: Should say "person who played Time
Auction may not bid."
The Spawning Pool: This is a master card and as such should
have a gray background, but instead it has the minion card (ochre-
red) background.
The Third Tradition: Progeny: The vampire created is the same
clan as its creator.
Ventrue Justicar: If vote is successful, the vampire becomes the
Ventrue Justicar, not the Tremere Justicar.
The Blood Doll Edition is accurate as of April 18, 1995.
I don't think that apologies are in order. This is the fastest
you folks have reacted to us since the game came out. I'd almost say
congratulations are in order.
Overall, I'm very happy with the document. Here are my (very
minor) nit picks... (no objections to rules, I'll do that
elsewhere:-))
>Malkavian Madness Network: If a Malkavian takes an action on
For future reference: the name of the card is "Madness
Network". The word "Malkavian" does not appear in the card title.
>Retainers: When the vampire attacks, the retainer must take their
>action unless the card states otherwise.
Question: does the Ghoul Escort count as an "otherwise," or
must you use him on the first combat you get into after placing him? If
you must, why does he have 4 life?
***NOTE: This rule is a reversal of previous rulings. ***
>Q: If I have a vampire that has no blood on it, do I have
>to hunt with it right away?
>A: If you start the minion phase with any vampires with no blood,
>then those vampires must all hunt before any other actions can be
>taken. Vampires with no blood can take no action other than
>hunting, but they are only forced to hunt at the start of the
>minion phase. For example, if your vampire that has no blood on
>it is rescued from torpor, it can be left available to block until
>your next minion phase.
>Q: Another "slap" situation. One player has Elysium, and
>another has the vampire Mariel. Each of these must be
>used at the beginning of combat, before range is
>determined, and each of them ends the combat immediately.
>So using one makes using the other illegal. What if both
>players try to use them simultaneously -- who gets
>priority?
Can Elysium be used by someone not in the combat? If not (which
is what I believe the current ruling is), then this example is
misleading and should probably be reworked.
| If you've got a hot lead on a new | *--Joe--*
| PC game, call the announce line at | js...@vt.edu
| ** csi...@discus.ise.vt.edu ** |
+-------------------------------------+----------------------------------
"Carnivores, oy!" -- Timon, TLK
> /*
> ** Apologies for the quick turnaround, but customers found various minor
> ** errors in the last FAQ, and we found a couple more while fixing those.
As everyone else has aid, we appreciate the quick turnaround. Thanks for
being so responsive .
> Malkavian Madness Network: If a Malkavian takes an action on
> your turn using Madness Network, you may not use reaction cards,
> since the rules state that reaction cards may not be used on your
> turn. If a Malkavian takes an action during someone else's turn,
> that player may not use action cards, but must use the standard
> actions (such as hunting), or actions provided by cards in play
> (such as burning Army of Rats). Note that equipment cards are not
> action cards, so equip actions can be taken normally.
I do have a problem with the last sentence. In both the corrected and the
original rules in 12.3.1 under Equip Minions the first sentence reads:
"Equipment cards are action cards that give minions special abilities."
This seems pretty clear to me, so my interpretation would be that you
cannot equip with the MNN when it is not your turn.
(Note that this is also the reasoning I have given for not being able to
equip with more than one piece of equipment at a time. If the equipment
card is not an action card, then an equip minion action should allow a
minion to equip with as many pieces of equipment as it desires.)
Is this DT a reversal of the basic rule?
stephen
: /*
: ** Apologies for the quick turnaround, but customers found various minor
: ** errors in the last FAQ, and we found a couple more while fixing those.
: */
On the contrary - I would like ot add my voice to those already thanking
you and praising you for this quick turnaround. Sort of nice to see that
the input we gave was listened to and acted on quickly.
Shane Travis | Natives who beat drums to drive off evil spirits
sht...@duke.usask.ca | are objects of scorn to Americans who blow horns
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan | to break up traffic jams.
| -- Mary Ellen Kelly
>In article <3n1gco$7...@darkstar.UCSC.EDU>, aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R
>Wylie) wrote:
>> Malkavian Madness Network: If a Malkavian takes an action on
[...]
>> (such as burning Army of Rats). Note that equipment cards are not
>> action cards, so equip actions can be taken normally.
>I do have a problem with the last sentence. In both the corrected and the
>original rules in 12.3.1 under Equip Minions the first sentence reads:
>"Equipment cards are action cards that give minions special abilities."
>This seems pretty clear to me, so my interpretation would be that you
>cannot equip with the MNN when it is not your turn.
>(Note that this is also the reasoning I have given for not being able to
>equip with more than one piece of equipment at a time. If the equipment
>card is not an action card, then an equip minion action should allow a
>minion to equip with as many pieces of equipment as it desires.)
>Is this DT a reversal of the basic rule?
[7.2.2] "Minion Cards" differentiates between the types of cards:
o. Action cards
o. Action modifier cards
o. Ally, equipment, and retainer cards
o. Combat cards
o. Reaction cards
So there is a good case for not including Equipment cards with Action cards.
L. Scott
Peace Thomas,
I want to say "Thank you" for the quick turnaround. This shows that you
_are_ responding to the customers' needs and gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling
inside. 8^)
Nil carborundum illigitimi,
James R. McClure Jr.
The OS/2 Apostle
<insert disclaimer here>
>/*
>** Apologies for the quick turnaround, but customers found various minor
>** errors in the last FAQ, and we found a couple more while fixing those.
>*/
Thanks for the quick turn-around, the apology, and general good humor.
:-)
>Dread Gaze vs. Pulling Strings: Pulling Strings will cancel
>the Dread Gaze vote.
I assume this applies to Surprise Influence votes as well.
>Malkavian Dementia: If the player is ousted before their next
>untap the Malkavian returns to the original controller. If the
>Malkavian is under Dementia by one Methuselah and someone else
>plays Dementia, when they both wear off the Malkavian returns to
>the original controller, however if someone else takes permanent
>control before they wear off, than it stays with the new
>controller.
Why does the DT read more into some cards to make them make sense, but not
others? A demented Malk whose temporary controller is ousted is placed in
his owners ash heap [9]:
"Any of your opponent's cards you may have are returned to the respective
owners and placed in their *ash heaps*."
(Note that I agree with the FAQ in this respect, but not in the haphazard
way the DT chooses when to implement common sense - see next rule.
They should've said "Malk Dementia is simply an awesome card and we meant
for it to work that way" to be consistent).
>Malkavian Madness Network: If a Malkavian takes an action on
>your turn using Madness Network, you may not use reaction cards,
>since the rules state that reaction cards may not be used on your
>turn. If a Malkavian takes an action during someone else's turn,
>that player may not use action cards, but must use the standard
>actions (such as hunting), or actions provided by cards in play
>(such as burning Army of Rats). Note that equipment cards are not
>action cards, so equip actions can be taken normally.
Similarly: Ally and Retainer cards are not action cards.
>Ousting: If you manage to oust your prey and your prey's prey at
>the same time (with a Conservative Agitation vote for example) you
>only get the six blood and one victory point. Your prey dies, but
>also gets a victory point.
She who gets the victory point also gets the Ante, to be clear.
>Rštschreck: This card affects the vampire doing the damage.
Bleh.
>UNTAP: At the beginning of each turn you must untap any cards
>that are tapped, including any vampires in torpor.
Except paralyzed vampires.
>Q: Who do you bleed? And if I have a card with the D in
>the circle, who then? And wasnÕt bleeding a direct action
>anyway?
>A: Usually the only one you bleed is your prey. That action is
>direct Ñ that is, it can only be blocked by your prey. If,
>however, a card allows you to bleed as a directed action, then you
>can bleed any Methuselah you like. ItÕs still a direct action, so
>only the target of the bleed can attempt to block.
In other words:
Any minion (except hell hound) can take a bleed as a directed action.
If you have a card, the card mystically tranforms the directed action to
be directable at any methuselah.
>Q: My vampire went into torpor tapped but he had enough
>blood to get himself out. How can he get himself out if
>heÕs tapped?
>A: Even vampires in torpor untap during the untap phase.
Except paralyzed vampires.
>Q: I have a unique location master card, and someone else
>just played one. How does this work?
>A: (Sec. 8, ÒContested CardsÓ) Just like contested vampires: they
>go face down and each owner loses one blood each untap until he
>yields his card, or until his card is the only one remaining, at
>which point it is put into play on his side.
Again:
At which point it will be put into play during his next untap phase.
>Q: OK, so it's been established that I could use Govern
>the Unaligned, or a similar action, to put blood on
>someone else' uncontrolled vampire. Would that vampire pop
>out at the end of my influence phase, or at the end of the
>other player's influence phase?
>A: The vamp would pop out at the end of its Methuselah's
>influence.
Could someone explain the consequences of attempting a GtU or EK on
a uncontroller vampire who is *not* younger, since this action is
illegal, but taken blind?
>Q: How does aggravated damage work?
>A: Aggravated damage automatically sends your vampire to torpor.
>The first point of Aggravated Damage doesn't cause the vampire to
>spend a point of blood to heal, but every point after that does.
>If Aggravated Damage totals at least two more than your vampire
>has blood to heal, your vampire is burned. This does not count as
>Diablerie.
Again:
The two agg must come from the same effect or strike, yes?
>Q: Fast Hands: Can you attempt to steal equipment if your
>opponent has none?
>A: Yes.
Again:
No. But you may attempt to steal a *Weapon*, even if your
opponent has none. (Card Text).
>p. 38, Section16.3. Diablerie: Bloodhunts are voted upon with
>the usual voting procedure, except the Methuselah calling the
>bloodhunt does not receive an automatic vote.
Which is true of any vote not called by playing a Political Action card
(burning the Elysium or Rumors of Gehenna, e.g.)
It is still non-cumulative, as the card text would suggest.
-----
L. Scott Johnson (sjoh...@math.scarolina.edu)
Graphics Specialist and Jyhad Rules Monger.
This wasn't a collection of all DT rulings to date, it was just
the latest copy of the FAQ to date. The Army of Rats erratum still
stands as noted before in other rulings summaries.
And so on, yes.
>>Malkavian Dementia: If the player is ousted before their next
>>untap the Malkavian returns to the original controller...
>Why does the DT read more into some cards to make them make sense, but not
>others? A demented Malk whose temporary controller is ousted is placed in
>his owners ash heap [9]:
>"Any of your opponent's cards you may have are returned to the respective
>owners and placed in their *ash heaps*."
I have no idea, will find out.
>>Malkavian Madness Network... Note that equipment cards are not
>>action cards, so equip actions can be taken normally.
>Similarly: Ally and Retainer cards are not action cards.
Sounds right, but I'll double check.
>In other words:
>Any minion (except hell hound) can take a bleed as a directed action.
>If you have a card, the card mystically tranforms the directed action to
>be directable at any methuselah.
If you have a D-bleed card, which all of the current bleed cards happen
to be, then you can bleed anyone else, yes.
>Could someone explain the consequences of attempting a GtU or EK on
>a uncontroller vampire who is *not* younger, since this action is
>illegal, but taken blind?
That's on the list.
>>If Aggravated Damage totals at least two more than your vampire
>>has blood to heal, your vampire is burned. This does not count as
>>Diablerie.
>The two agg must come from the same effect or strike, yes?
Yes.
>>Q: Fast Hands: Can you attempt to steal equipment if your
>>opponent has none?
>>A: Yes.
>Again:
>No. But you may attempt to steal a *Weapon*, even if your
>opponent has none. (Card Text).
Doh! I had that in my notes but couldn't figure out what the
note meant :-\
Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.
Ghoul Escort clearly gives you an option ("can choose").
>***NOTE: This rule is a reversal of previous rulings. ***
>>Q: If I have a vampire that has no blood on it, do I have
>>to hunt with it right away?
A miscommunication from last August that didn't get cleared up for me
until I was revising the FAQ.
>>Q: Another "slap" situation. One player has Elysium, and
>>another has the vampire Mariel. Each of these must be
>>used at the beginning of combat, before range is
>>determined, and each of them ends the combat immediately.
>>So using one makes using the other illegal. What if both
>>players try to use them simultaneously -- who gets
>>priority?
> Can Elysium be used by someone not in the combat?...
Yes.
Yeah, I noticed that after the new FAQ was released, but I had been
explicitly told that they are not considered action cards. This may
be a(nother) place where the rulebook is incorrect. I'll see how we
want to handle this.
Doh. Yes, they have errata to not be cumulative, and yes, this should
be in the FAQ.
No, the list says what happens when the uncontroller vampire *is*
younger - making the GtU a legal action.
I have no way of knowing - since I cannot look at others' uncontrolled
region. I could ask - but that would be granting me more power.
"Is this one older than my 5?" "My 7?" "How about this one?" etc.
What happens when I attempt to GtU and the vampire turns out to be older
(or the same age)?
1) back it up, return GtU to my hand, untap acting V.
2) back it up, burn GtU, untap V
3) tough, burn GtU, leave V tapped, action fizzles.
I suspect the answer should be 1), except that that goes against every other
rule. You only back up mistakes.
The best thing would be to dissallow this, as it is against the concept
of the card. (A vampire who has been Governed or Enchanted would be
inclined to follow the Enchanter or Governer, not whoever owns his
uncontrolled region).
--
-----
L. Scott Johnson (lsc...@crl.com)
Graphics Specialist and Jyhad Rules' Monger
Woah!
Could we get the ruling again on using cards in combats one isn't involved
in?
I have it down as:
From: aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie)
Subject: JYHAD: Design Team Rulings 02/09/95
Date: 14 Feb 1995 21:18:15 GMT
Message-ID: <3hr6mn$r...@darkstar.UCSC.EDU>
>20) Could I use Mob Connections to force a combat I'm not involved
>in to continue, or use Elysium to end a combat I'm not involved in?
> These cards can only be used in a combat that one of your vampires is
>participating in. Cards that can be used in any combat will say so, such as
>Nosferatu Putrescence.
If this has changed, I'd like to know the official take on:
Frenzy
Mob Connections
Trap
: No, the list says what happens when the uncontroller vampire *is*
: younger - making the GtU a legal action.
[rest of scott's post deleted]
Scott? I think the list Tom was referring to was the list of 'good
questions' that he is sending to the DT for consideration. He made
mention of it earlier in the post.
At least that's the way _I_ read it...
Oh. Last I heard, things couldn't be used when you didn't have
minions in combat unless it said "can be used even if you don't have
minions in combat." When was this changed, and what cards are usable
when you are not in the combat?
I believe the ruling came up when someone asked about Mob
Connections, if that helps...
>What happens when I attempt to GtU and the vampire turns out to be older
>(or the same age)?
>The best thing would be to dissallow this, as it is against the concept
>of the card. (A vampire who has been Governed or Enchanted would be
>inclined to follow the Enchanter or Governer, not whoever owns his
>uncontrolled region).
I'll just say what I /feel/ in here. The first time I saw
EK and GtU, my impression is that those cards had been designed
and playtested under the assumption that they are useable
only on friendly uncontrolled vampires. I'd bet that the
designers/playtesters all overlooked the fact that the card
wordings didn't preclude their use on other's vampires.
It never came up in their minds.
To retroactively come up with a ruling based on literal interpretations
of the text, which had been written while overlooking the question,
is IMO not a good way to maintain a game.
The interpretation that the card is useable only on friendly
uncontrolled vampires is quite natural, as they are undirected
actions. If there is a free choice as to target, the action
should be sometimes directed and sometimes not (and at +1
stealth), like visiting torpor.
If we were to base `official' rulings based solely on what
has been written, then a bounced (or cross-table) bleed of X points
should do 1 pool loss to the new target, and X-1 pool loss to your
prey, as written clearly in the rules. The fact that it's quite
obvious that the rules were written while `forgetting' about
bleed bounce (and IMO when CTB of >1 were impossible) should
be of no significance, according to `officiality' logic.
--
"Live Life with Heart."
Alan Kwan kw...@cs.cornell.edu
>L. Scott Johnson (lsc...@crl.com) wrote:
>: In article <3n70hf$b...@darkstar.ucsc.edu>,
>: Thomas R Wylie <aa...@cats.ucsc.edu> wrote:
>: >
>: >L. Scott Johnson <sjoh...@math.scarolina.edu> wrote:
>: >
>: >>Could someone explain the consequences of attempting a GtU or EK on
>: >>a uncontroller vampire who is *not* younger, since this action is
>: >>illegal, but taken blind?
>: >
>: >That's on the list.
>: No, the list says what happens when the uncontroller vampire *is*
>: younger - making the GtU a legal action.
>[rest of scott's post deleted]
>Scott? I think the list Tom was referring to was the list of 'good
>questions' that he is sending to the DT for consideration. He made
>mention of it earlier in the post.
>At least that's the way _I_ read it...
Ahh! Sorry, Tom. I thought the list was the list of FAQs.
Humble apologies. By all means, help the DT Find the Light!
--
L. Scott Johnson (sjoh...@math.scarolina.edu)
Graphics Specialist and Jyhad Rules' Monger.
Frenzy doesn't provide a strike, either, yet you say it cannot be used.
You used to say Elysium Couldn;t be used.
What about cards like Trap? they aren't strikes.
A rule of thumb would be nice, like:
You can't use a card to affect a combat that you are not involved
in.
(The old ruling).
--
-----
L. Scott Johnson (lsc...@crl.com)
Peace,
I agree, Scott.
> You can't use a card to affect a combat that you are not involved
> in.
> (The old ruling).
You're Ventrue, aren't you? 8^)
I'm not sure if you're aware that this is a reversal of your
previous rulings. The current rule from you is that you can't use a
card in a combat you're not involved in unles that card specifies that
you can (like Nosferatu Putrescence). When and how was this rule
reversed, and what master cards can and cannot be used in a combat that
you are not in?
Peace Joe,
PMJI, Tom, I have to second Joe's request for a consice (sp) list of cards
which may be played 'on' a combat in which you are involved.
>In article <3nmgo7$e...@darkstar.ucsc.edu>,
>Thomas R Wylie <aa...@cats.ucsc.edu> wrote:
>
>>The thing about Elysium is that it doesn't provide a "strike: combat
ends".
>>You simply use it to end a combat. Therefore it doesn't matter whether
>>you're involved in the combat or not.
>Frenzy doesn't provide a strike, either, yet you say it cannot be used.
>You used to say Elysium Couldn;t be used.
>What about cards like Trap? they aren't strikes.
>A rule of thumb would be nice, like:
>You can't use a card to affect a combat that you are not involved
>in.
>(The old ruling).
I think it's on a card-by-card basis.
Trap: No. You can't play a combat card unless you're in the combat.
Mob Connections/Police Department: No. Tap to gain a press, not grant a
press. You've got a press but nobody to use it.
Frenzy: Yes. Oot Master, says "ROUND has a press"
Elysium: Yes. Tap to end combat. Not combat card, not press, etc.
Nosferatu Putresence: Yes. Text on card override usual rules for play of
combat cards.
Curt Adams (curt...@aol.com)
Trap is a combat card, so clearly cannot be used on a combat you're not
involved in. Elysium can be used on a combat you're not involved in.
There was some question about how Frenzy was supposed to work, though, yes.
>You can't use a card to affect a combat that you are not involved in.
>(The old ruling).
As far as I know we're happy with "You can't use combat cards if you're
not involved in the combat", and "you can't use presses if you're not
involved the combat".