Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Projectile question

4 views
Skip to first unread message

dome

unread,
Oct 1, 2006, 8:12:31 AM10/1/06
to
Minion A uses the maneuver from his .44 magnum.

The range is set for long.

Can he use Projectile as his strike

Projectile
Type: Combat
Requires: Celerity
[cel] Strike: 1R damage or make a ranged weapon strike. This strike
cannot be dodged.
[CEL] As above, with an additional strike.

the rulebook states this :

If a minion has used a maneuver from a strike (either a strike card or a
weapon) this round, then he cannot choose any other strike for his
initial strike of the round.


So, the question is, is a minion COMMITED to using .44 magnum as a
weapon, by maneuvering, or as a strike, because projectile states STRIKE:.

Thanks

Morgan Vening

unread,
Oct 1, 2006, 9:19:58 AM10/1/06
to
On Sun, 01 Oct 2006 14:12:31 +0200, dome <le...@email.htnet.hr> wrote:

>Minion A uses the maneuver from his .44 magnum.
>
>The range is set for long.
>
>Can he use Projectile as his strike
>
>Projectile
>Type: Combat
>Requires: Celerity

>[cel] Strike: 1R damage ***OR*** make a ranged weapon strike. This strike

>cannot be dodged.
>[CEL] As above, with an additional strike.
>
>the rulebook states this :
>
>If a minion has used a maneuver from a strike (either a strike card or a
>weapon) this round, then he cannot choose any other strike for his
>initial strike of the round.
>
>So, the question is, is a minion COMMITED to using .44 magnum as a
>weapon, by maneuvering, or as a strike, because projectile states STRIKE:.

And as emphasized, it also says OR. If you use the .44's maneuver,
then you can't play projectile for it's 1R damage. That doesn't mean
you can't play additional combat cards that allow use of that same
weapon.

Morgan Vening

Hardy Range

unread,
Oct 1, 2006, 10:33:35 AM10/1/06
to

dome wrote:
> Minion A uses the maneuver from his .44 magnum.
>
> The range is set for long.
>
> Can he use Projectile as his strike
>
> Projectile
> Type: Combat
> Requires: Celerity
> [cel] Strike: 1R damage or make a ranged weapon strike. This strike
> cannot be dodged.
> [CEL] As above, with an additional strike.

The answer depends, as always, on what it is exactly you are asking
here... :-)

No, the minion cannot use Projectile as a strike (the 1R variant).
But he is allowed to play Projectile, to add a special effect to his
Magnum's strike.

>
>
> the rulebook states this :
>
> If a minion has used a maneuver from a strike (either a strike card or a
> weapon) this round, then he cannot choose any other strike for his
> initial strike of the round.
>
>
> So, the question is, is a minion COMMITED to using .44 magnum as a
> weapon, by maneuvering, or as a strike, because projectile states STRIKE:.
>

I am not clear what the question here exactly is.
The minion is committed to use the Magnum as his initial strike, as per
the rule you cite.

Regards,

Hardy Range

dome

unread,
Oct 1, 2006, 11:07:51 AM10/1/06
to

> I am not clear what the question here exactly is.
> The minion is committed to use the Magnum as his initial strike, as per
> the rule you cite.
>
> Regards,
>
> Hardy Range

it's quite a stupid one. it came up yesterday.

using a gun's maneuver, I am not sure, are you commited to using the
gun, or forbidden to use any other strike cards. Saying that, the latter
would forbid me to use the projectile while using a gun's built-in
maneuver, because projectile is a STRIKE: card. Even if it is using that
gun.

It's a logical thingie.

tobinator

unread,
Oct 1, 2006, 11:15:07 AM10/1/06
to

dome wrote:
> Minion A uses the maneuver from his .44 magnum.
>
> The range is set for long.
>
> Can he use Projectile as his strike
>
> Projectile
> Type: Combat
> Requires: Celerity
> [cel] Strike: 1R damage or make a ranged weapon strike. This strike
> cannot be dodged.
> [CEL] As above, with an additional strike.
>

If you use the gun's maneuver you may NOT use the 1R option but you may
use the "make a ranged weapon strike" option. If of course you would
like to blur in addition then use it only at cel and not CEL (no duh).

Great card. I think in the top three of KMW cards. Making a gun strike
not dodgeable has been great for me.

-tpl

Fabio 'Sooner' Macedo

unread,
Oct 1, 2006, 11:15:21 AM10/1/06
to
Hardy Range escreveu:

> I am not clear what the question here exactly is.
> The minion is committed to use the Magnum as his initial strike, as per
> the rule you cite.

I think what dome's is actually asking is if the "make a ranged weapon
strike" part of Projectile actually is a different strike from just
using the gun's built-in strike. And for "must use the weapon"
purposes, it is not - you're still striking with the weapon.

Fabio "Sooner" Macedo

LSJ

unread,
Oct 2, 2006, 8:14:07 AM10/2/06
to
Morgan Vening wrote:
> dome <le...@email.htnet.hr> wrote:
> >Minion A uses the maneuver from his .44 magnum.
> >Can he use Projectile as his strike

> >So, the question is, is a minion COMMITED to using .44 magnum as a


> >weapon, by maneuvering, or as a strike, because projectile states STRIKE:.
>
> And as emphasized, it also says OR. If you use the .44's maneuver,
> then you can't play projectile for it's 1R damage. That doesn't mean
> you can't play additional combat cards that allow use of that same
> weapon.

Correct.

Using Projectile to make your strike with the .44 is still a .44 strike
(and permitted if you are compelled to strike with the .44), just as
using Lucky Blow to make your hand strike is still a hand strike (and
permitted if you are compelled to strike with hands).

0 new messages