With that Corruption card (who's name I can't completely remember), the one
that makes you spend 1 (2 at superior, add one if you are a Follower of Set)
extra blood for every action, what happens if you have no blood, or not enough
blood to pay for whatever action you are attempting _and_ the bonus cost?
A) Unable to act, as you can't spend the extra blood to do anything, so a
Corrupted vamp with zero blood couldn't hunt and would be frozen into inaction
B) Capable of acting, as you are only required to spend the extra blood if you
are able to, so a Corrupted vampire with zero blood could hunt and get up to
one blood, and the same vamp could Govern the Unaligned with only one blood,
spending it all to perform the action.
Peter D Bakija
"You just don't like him because of that time
he beat you up every day for five years."
> the one
> that makes you spend 1 (2 at superior, add one if you are a Follower of Set)
> extra blood for every action, what happens if you have no blood, or not
> blood to pay for whatever action you are attempting _and_ the bonus cost?
You don't "spend" - you "burn" blood. In addition to the cost. After the
When performing an action (when you tap and announce an action), you must
have enough blood to pay the cost (or you cannot attempt the action at
all). But then, before you check for blocks (and long before the action
resolves and you pay the cost of the action), you burn blood as described
on Seeds of Corruption. This could leave you with insufficient blood to
pay for the action. In which case (if the action remains unblocked), then
the action merely "fizzles" with no effect.
> Are you:
> A) Unable to act, as you can't spend the extra blood to do anything, so a
> Corrupted vamp with zero blood couldn't hunt and would be frozen into
Subject: Re: Questions
From: "LSJ (VtES Rep)" <vte...@regency.wizards.com>
Seeds of Corruption doesn't require payment, it makes the vampire burn
blood for performing an action. An empty vampire hunting will have to
burn blood for performing the hunting action (burned blood in excess
of capacity is ignored) and gain for during the resolution of that
action. So the vampire ends with one blood.
> B) Capable of acting, as you are only required to spend the extra blood if you
> are able to, so a Corrupted vampire with zero blood could hunt and get up to
> one blood, and the same vamp could Govern the Unaligned with only one blood,
> spending it all to perform the action.
With one blood, the vampire could attempt GtU. But then he would burn
blood as required by Seeds of Corruption. Then, when it comes time to
resolve the action (and it remained unblocked), the action fizzles since
the acting vampire cannot pay the cost of the action.
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com)
Official VtES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
(*) - Subject to review by Rules Team
-------------------==== Posted via Deja News ====-----------------------
http://www.dejanews.com/ Search, Read, Post to Usenet
thanks in advance..
So you burn the blood for Seeds of Corruption _before_ you attempt the action,
and then pay for the action, and if you are without enough blood to burn (for
Seeds of Corruptiuon penalty), you just don't burn it. Thus, a vamp with zero
blood could hunt while Seeds of Corrupted, and a vamp with one blood could
attempt any zero blood cost action while Superiorly Seeds of Corrupted,
burning his one blood to attempt the action, ignoring the excess, and then
continuing with the action, correct?
No. As I said: you burn blood for Seeds of Corruption when you attempt
the action, not before. If you burn it before the attempt, and that loss
of blood leaves you with insufficient blood to pay for the cost of the
action, then you would be prohibited from attempting the action.
You do burn blood for the Seeds before paying for the action (which
doesn't happen until the action resolves successfully), and even before
you can pay for any action modifiers.
An empty vampire can hunt while having Seeds of Curruption, as I said in
the post which you followed up to.
A vampire with 1 blood can attempt a zero-cost or a 1-blood-cost action.
Once the attempt is made, blood is burned for the Seeds, leaving the
vampire empty. And the action continues. When it resolves (if unblocked),
then it will fizzle if the cost cannot be paid. For a zero-cost action,
this means that the action resolves as normal. For a 1-blood-cost action,
this means that the action fizzles.
I read "performs" as "takes", so the vampire burns blood for taking the
action - when the action is taken. If blocked, the action was still taken
and the blood still burned (before block-combat begins).
Ok, I think I fully understand. Just need to clear up one last thing. If I
(being a vampire and all...) have one blood on me, and I am superiorly Seeds
of Corrupted (meaning that I have to burn 2 extra blood when ever I attempt to
take an action), can I then Bum's Rush someone (a zero cost action), burning
one blood for the SoC, ignoring the excess SoC cost, at which point I will be
Bum's Rushing someone with zero blood, and the action may go on (to be blocked
or not or whatever.)
Yes. That example follows directly from the ruling you quoted.