Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Jack of Both Sides, Gift of Bellona & NRA questions

4 views
Skip to first unread message

Fredrik Appelberg

unread,
Sep 5, 2004, 12:11:56 PM9/5/04
to
Hi there, I have some questions about Jack of Both Sides and how it
interacts with Gift of Bellona and the NRA rule:

1. Cock Robin employs a Raptor (successfully), then untaps as per his
special. Can he then play JoBS to employ a second Raptor on the same
turn? My guess is yes.

2. Adonai plays JoBS to equip Talbot's Chainsaw, but gets blocked
despite having +2 stealth. Can he play Gift of Bellona at superior in
order to get the Chainsaw anyway? My guess is no, as GoB says "equip
this vampire with the weapon instead of placing it in the ash heap", and
the Chainsaw wouldn't have gone to the ash heap anyway.

3. Same as 2, but Adonai is unblocked. Can he play GoB at inferior to
untap? My guess is yes.

Thanks,
-- Fredrik

Colin McGuigan

unread,
Sep 5, 2004, 10:05:58 PM9/5/04
to
Fredrik Appelberg wrote:

> Hi there, I have some questions about Jack of Both Sides and how it
> interacts with Gift of Bellona and the NRA rule:
>
> 1. Cock Robin employs a Raptor (successfully), then untaps as per his
> special. Can he then play JoBS to employ a second Raptor on the same
> turn? My guess is yes.

Yes.

See also: The Summoning + recruiting a retainer.

http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=3EFC61C6.9050302%40white-wolf.com&output=gplain

> 2. Adonai plays JoBS to equip Talbot's Chainsaw, but gets blocked
> despite having +2 stealth. Can he play Gift of Bellona at superior in
> order to get the Chainsaw anyway? My guess is no, as GoB says "equip
> this vampire with the weapon instead of placing it in the ash heap", and
> the Chainsaw wouldn't have gone to the ash heap anyway.

Unsure. I would think the "instead of placing it in the ash heap" was
intended to be reminder text, but that may not mean much.

> 3. Same as 2, but Adonai is unblocked. Can he play GoB at inferior to
> untap? My guess is yes.

Yes. The JoBS action is still an equip action (eg, Black Cat pays less
while using it, too)

--Colin McGuigan

LSJ

unread,
Sep 7, 2004, 8:48:51 AM9/7/04
to
"Colin McGuigan" <magu...@BGONEspeakeasy.net> wrote in message
news:Gbadna9fG4J...@speakeasy.net...

> Fredrik Appelberg wrote:
> > Hi there, I have some questions about Jack of Both Sides and how it
> > interacts with Gift of Bellona and the NRA rule:
> >
> > 1. Cock Robin employs a Raptor (successfully), then untaps as per his
> > special. Can he then play JoBS to employ a second Raptor on the same
> > turn? My guess is yes.
>
> Yes.
>
> See also: The Summoning + recruiting a retainer.
>
http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=3EFC61C6.9050302%40white-wolf.com&output=gplain

Correct.

> > 2. Adonai plays JoBS to equip Talbot's Chainsaw, but gets blocked
> > despite having +2 stealth. Can he play Gift of Bellona at superior in
> > order to get the Chainsaw anyway? My guess is no, as GoB says "equip
> > this vampire with the weapon instead of placing it in the ash heap",
and
> > the Chainsaw wouldn't have gone to the ash heap anyway.
>
> Unsure. I would think the "instead of placing it in the ash heap" was
> intended to be reminder text, but that may not mean much.

Yes. The action to equip a weapon from hand was blocked, so he can use
Gift of Bellona to equip that weapon.

> > 3. Same as 2, but Adonai is unblocked. Can he play GoB at inferior to
> > untap? My guess is yes.
>
> Yes. The JoBS action is still an equip action (eg, Black Cat pays less
> while using it, too)

Correct.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu

Fredrik Appelberg

unread,
Sep 7, 2004, 11:09:22 AM9/7/04
to

Cool. Thanks, guys.

-- Fredrik

0 new messages