Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Contagion question

20 views
Skip to first unread message

Jozxyqk

unread,
Jan 29, 2004, 5:53:52 PM1/29/04
to
Contagion's superior text:
As above, and once per combat, this vampire can put a corruption counter on
the opposing minion as a strike. If the number of your corruption counters
on the minion equals or exceeds the capacity of that vampire or the cost of
that ally, you may burn all your corruption counters on that minion to gain
control of him or her after strike resolution (ending combat).
***

Can I use the second sentence, even if I did not use this strike?
If, for example, Nefertiti (who does not have the "take control" clause) had
put the "final" corruption counter on the minion in question, and then one
of my Baali enters combat with the other minion, can my Baali just strike
hands and take control of the minion anyway?

If this is possible, what if one of the minions strikes "Combat Ends"? Is
there still a strike resolution phase in which to steal the minion?


Timlagor

unread,
Jan 29, 2004, 6:48:48 PM1/29/04
to
Jozxyqk expounded:

> Contagion's superior text:
> As above, and once per combat, this vampire can put a corruption counter on
> the opposing minion as a strike. If the number of your corruption counters
> on the minion equals or exceeds the capacity of that vampire or the cost of
> that ally, you may burn all your corruption counters on that minion to gain
> control of him or her after strike resolution (ending combat).
> ***
>
> Can I use the second sentence, even if I did not use this strike?
> If, for example, Nefertiti (who does not have the "take control" clause) had
> put the "final" corruption counter on the minion in question, and then one
> of my Baali enters combat with the other minion, can my Baali just strike
> hands and take control of the minion anyway?

Yes (no requirement that you make such a strike in the card text.

> If this is possible, what if one of the minions strikes "Combat Ends"? Is
> there still a strike resolution phase in which to steal the minion?

Yes (the SCE is a strike and must resolve after all)

IANLSJ :-)

LSJ

unread,
Jan 29, 2004, 7:29:47 PM1/29/04
to
Jozxyqk wrote:
> Contagion's superior text:
> As above, and once per combat, this vampire can put a corruption counter on
> the opposing minion as a strike. If the number of your corruption counters
> on the minion equals or exceeds the capacity of that vampire or the cost of
> that ally, you may burn all your corruption counters on that minion to gain
> control of him or her after strike resolution (ending combat).
> ***
>
> Can I use the second sentence, even if I did not use this strike?

No. Card text involves strike resolution.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Timlagor

unread,
Jan 30, 2004, 6:13:45 AM1/30/04
to
LSJ expounded:

> Jozxyqk wrote:
> > Contagion's superior text:
> > As above, and once per combat, this vampire can put a corruption counter on
> > the opposing minion as a strike. If the number of your corruption counters
> > on the minion equals or exceeds the capacity of that vampire or the cost of
> > that ally, you may burn all your corruption counters on that minion to gain
> > control of him or her after strike resolution (ending combat).
> > ***
> >
> > Can I use the second sentence, even if I did not use this strike?
>
> No. Card text involves strike resolution.

ho hum. If it means you have to use that strike it should say so. There
shoudl be a "this" or something in there somewhere -it's not even the
same sentence.

Darky

unread,
Jan 30, 2004, 12:44:35 PM1/30/04
to
Timlagor <Timlagor...@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message news:<MPG.1a844cc83...@news.freeserve.com>...

I would agree with Tim on this one, The card doesn't mention the
strike having to be used. The second sentence mentions 'strike
resolution' seperately, there is no reference to the strike mentioned
in the first sentence as far as I can see.

-Bram Vink

0 new messages