OK, I think I found the answer in the rules: "The diabolist may take any
equipment on the victim." So, does "may" mean "may"? Or does the
diabolist have to take Shackles of Enkindu?
It means "may".
LSJ (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
If they chose to take the Shackles of Inky-Doo, which state would they
be in? Shackling, or equipped waiting for you to use them?
James Coupe (Prince of Mercia, England)
Vampire: Elder Kindred Network
Shackled. Once placed "on" a minion, the shackles will harm the
minion they are on.